We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, reasonably priced and very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antigo Trovatore to your Saves list
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, reasonably priced and very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From our balcony (worth paying a bit more for that) we looked across the rooftops to the back of the Palazzo Ducale. 3 minutes' walk from San Marco; 2 minutes from the vaporetto (San Zaccharia); in the heart of the old city. Comfortable, very clean, unfussy and air-conditioned! A great place to stay: we had a very happy visit and would certainly use this hotel again. Breakfast monotonous and unimaginative.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony: really worth it for the air and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigotrovatore, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the nice words.

Hope to have you our guest again.

All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    216
    51
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
222
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my partner arrived 30th August for 3 nights. We have done a lot of travelling over the years and this is the first time I have left a review...this is a really fantastic hotel in a brilliant location. Our room was super clean and air conditioned and staff were very welcoming. We are not ones to visit the same place twice however we will be staying at this hotel again and we will be visiting beautiful Venice again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Venice, The master piece city crafted by the vinci.in february 2012. The hotel was located exactly where we wanted within a comfortable walking distance from the CENTRAL ATTARCTION of venice like Dogg s Palace and St Mark Square. The hotel rooms were cozy, neat and clean. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Another big advantage of this hotel was it was very near from the veporatto station.In this budget the room which we got was spacious and very nice. The lift was good, lobby and the other areas were also clean and there was a touch of warmth in the decore everywhere.The hotel is surrounded by many resturants serving mouthwatering sea food and other dishes. What any one can ask more to make travelling easy and memorable.We enjoyed our small stay.We will surely prefer to come back here again.If you have limited budget and less time to explore Venice then this is a perfect stay for a traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

While this was not a 4 star resort, it is walking distance from the boat ports. Very close to restaurants and shopping. While the room was nothing to write home about, it was clean and had all of the things we needed it was small. This European charmer is a place to sleep and shower. If you are staying in your room to much you are not enjoying the beautiful sites of Venice. I would for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: Location location location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel with our six years-old son. The location is excelent. Two blocks away from Piazza San Marco and less than one block away from the vaporetto stop. All facilities appeared to have been recently renovated. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and overlooked the surrounding rooftops. Breakfast was fine. Hotel personnel were attentive and specially warm with our son. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A perfectly placed hotel very close to Piazza San Marco,bridge of sighs Vaporetto's and the Basillica San Marco,there are lots of resteraunts and small bar/ cafe's within yards of the hotel,the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful,breakfast was continental croissants,bread rolls,jams,tea,coffee and fruit juices,the air conditioning in the hotel and rooms was very welcoming as When we visited it was very hot and humid.I would definitely stay there again and would agree with everything other reviewers had said,
the room we had number 02 was spotless with a good sized bathroom and good shower.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the room we had on the same floor as the reception,room number 2 the two window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The location was perfect for everything including the vaporetta stop at Zaccharia, my room was spotless and cleaned daily, it was small enough and I had no view but it didnt bother me as all I needed it for was to sleep and shower, the bed was really comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was a heatwave of 36 degrees so the air conditioning was very much appreciated and not at all noisy.Considering hotels a block away were asking over €200 per night you really couldn't get better value for your money.

Room Tip: If you will be spending a lot of time in the hotel you might want to choose a room with a terrace or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Venice
#140 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antigo Trovatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.