We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with local character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercurio to your Saves list
Hotel Mercurio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel with local character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not sure why some reviews said it's difficult to find, but the map on their website is sufficient to locate the hotel. 5 mins away from San Marco and 10 mins away from Rialto Bridge. Front desk staff was friendly and offered us to show us another room with canal view to let us decide if we wanted to upgrade for another 20 Euros (absolutely no pressure). Guess it's not worth it if you're out and about the whole day. Room was small but clean. Only has soap bar and no shower gel. I guess my last 2 points is relative to the 3 star hotels in Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms with the canal view are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    220
    66
    27
    6
See reviews for
68
217
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in 2009 and enjoyed it mainly due to its great location 5 minutes from St Mark's Square. The hotel has been undated some and expanded. Our room was basically the same as before, serviceable and small. The breakfast area has been moved into another part of the hotel and much larger. The hotel seems better cared for. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

This is a reasonably priced place to stay close to the action but not overwhelmed by being directly in the tourist area where seemingly millions of people congregate every day. It is basic lodging that is safe, clean and reasonable - nothing fancy.

Room Tip: This hotel is located on a quiet narrow "street" so any room should OK for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The usual in venice,where the entrance is on the gorund floor and then it's like a tardis when you get upstairs.I have read some conflicting reports about this place and I can see why.When we arrived,4 of us,the receptionist,monica,was absoloutly brilliant.Speake 5 languages and a bit of many others and had a great sense of humour.The rooms,in the new part,were spacious,clean and very quiet and comfortable,but no lift.The breakfast area was a little small,but overall was good.We did meet some groups of people,and i have to say unfortunately younger people,in particular ,Americans who seemed to have a lack of manners and volume control,and can see why a receptionist can get a little tetchy with some of them.I would have no hesitation in recommending this gem of an hotel

Room Tip: probably the new area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I booked this hotel online and was a little hesitant as some reviews said it was difficult to find. However, with a map, we found it very easily. We were also given the main floor room we requested as my mom is 80 and there is no elevator at this hotel. The staff were most helpful and friendly with directions and local information. They also very kindly booked us a porter to take our bags down to the water bus when we were leaving. The only downside was the actual room which was dark and quite small. However, when in Venice you normally don`t really need to be spending too long in your room unless there happens to be a torrential downpour as there was while we were there. I`d like to be able to give this 3 1/2 stars simply because of the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I and two other couples stayed at Hotel Mercurio in May 2013. Upon check-in two of the couples learned that the suite they had booked online which slept 4 in reality was a double room with an extra bed. After some discussion with the manager, we were able to get two rooms for each couple although neither were canal view. The rating reflects the effort that the manager and his staff did to accommodate us and my first recommendation if booking on line and expecting to sleep more than 2 to a room is to make sure that you know the room type.

The management staff is very friendly and English is very good. They made restaurant and entertainment recommendations. They organized a water taxi for us and even took us down to the boat dock so that we'd know where to pick up the taxi.

The hotel is very conveniently located near San Marco square - easily accessible by water bus or taxi. Our canal-view room was nice.

Breakfast was included and the selection was very nice and fresh.

Rooms are on the average side, but considering the price relative to other hotel rooms in Venice, I thought that the Hotel Mercurio was a good bargain.

Room Tip: Make sure that when reserving a suite, especially if you intend to have more than 2 persons in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked this hotel after trawling through the choice of thousands for our first visit to Venice. We opted for a suite (room 63), as the cost was econmical against other prices we reviewed.
The hotel also included breakfast.
Venice is a labyrinth and this hotel, as it turned out, was quite straight forward. On arrival at the doorway you go up one flight of stairs for reception. The welcome was warm and helpful. Our room was at the top of the hotel, 2 more flights of stairs, but was well worth the climb.
We had a small balcony, with double doors overlooking a canal, opposite a house Mozart stayed in, and it was beautiful.
We had a seating area, which had a double sofa bed in, and in total had 5 windows/double doors in what was like a little apartment.
The bathroom could have been bigger and if I wanted to be very picky would say a little redesign it could be bigger and incorporate a bath, but that is idealistic.
The breakfast was a good start to the day and the staff were efficient.
So overall, don't come to this hotel with the expectation that you are staying in a 5 star location, it is clean and a perfect base for exploring this amazing city.

Room Tip: 63 is the way to go, perfect base, air conditioning, views and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in early July in this hotel and it was lovely. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Big room. Quiet part of town. Nice breakfast and a lovely roof top bar with a great view. I'll be back asap

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercurio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercurio is a family-run three stars Hotel located in the old town center of Venice at a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and La Fenice Theatre. Attention to guests and to rooms detail are a must for us, we guarantee a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very center of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercurio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.