We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Palace Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Marco Palace Suites to your Saves list
San Marco Palace Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponte dei Dai 875 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great location and a wonderful suite. We were a family of 5 with teen and adult children so having two deluxe bathrooms (fantastic towels!) was great. The master bedroom bed was quite comfortable, not so much for the sofa bed though. Strong wi-fi signal in our room and very welcoming /helpful staff. We did get the hard sell from three different staff members to take advantage of the "complimentary" boat trip across the lagoon to watch glass blowing. Having been given a heads up on this, we were aware that this 'free trip' was designed to SELL SELL SELL glass objects.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    34
    19
    16
See reviews for
60
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I arrived on October 3-6 and had just finished a fabulous cruise. We have stayed in Bauer Hotel and Regina/Europa Hotels before so we thought why not try something that we thought would be comparable. NO WAY. The staff doesn't communicate with one another. We asked on 2 different occasions for a wake up call and both times we never received. There wasn't a clock in the room for us to set either. This is a maze hotel. They have 3 different reception desks that aren't always manned at three different locations??? We walked in the original one that is by their restaurant and had to walk across the alley way to another door that we had to take the elevator up 1 flight and exit to then walk down 3 flights of stairs into another reception area (sometimes manned) to then be lead to the 3 different directions to the 3rd building (reception is never manned) and walk up 1 flight to our room. They didn't give any instructions as to the functions of the room. If you do not leave the keycard (some had heavy keyrings others had church keys) in the wall everything in the room is turned off AND it takes about 10 minutes to get the water to run after that. The security safe always locks but sometimes doesn't unlock. I have the code memorized how they unlock it...doesn't make a person feel real safe about their possessions. The staff said one thing but didn't deliver on promises. They'd say we'll have a porter take your bags down and that never happened. So we had to take down ourselves. That's not right.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Unfortunately this hotel was very disappointing - I guess I should have realized when they claimed I had booked at van 80% discount to the usual rate - what a load of rubbish! it was worth no more than what we paid. In short great location, reasonable rooms but the service was non existent - the in room phone did not even connect to reception.

To summarize, we saw much better hotels in the same vicinity for around the same price. Won't be back - all because of staff - isnt that what hospitality is supposed to be about?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The location of this hotel is great, not noisy but close to the San Marco Square. The room was large - it was a deluxe suite. Separate bedroom for us, with a rollaway and a bed/lounge both in the lounge area with still plenty of space. We did have a few airconditioners outside our bedroom window though, and you could hear the room next door so I slept with ear plugs in. I had requested the room with the terrace but was told this was given to another client. The staff were not very friendly nor helpful. However the manager was quite welcoming. There is a small canal outside the hotel and gondolas do pull up there however water taxi's do not fit its too narrow.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the terrace, otherwise the rooms seem to be large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

A very good hotel for families - big and clean rooms , very comfortable .
but the showers need a renovation immediatly !!!
The breakfast poor and expensive (15 euros per person) .
The service was nice .
This is the best place in Venice - 10 meters from Piazza S.Marco !
In the check-in they told us that we have a sail trip in a boat in Venice for free what they didn't told us that it was a trip to murano .
in the way back the boat stopped in the other side of the main island of Venice - it's take to us a hour in that very hot day to find our way to the hotel and we were very angry - stay away from that "trip" .
For conclusion (without that "trip") - it is very good hotel for families !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lech, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were travelling through Italy with our 2 children and spent 1 night in Venice. We parked in the Parkhouse and then took a ferry to San marco. The hotel was only a short walk away. The room was big and very italian but all we needed was there. We also had a balcony which was a bonus.
We left our things and headed for the shops. We did a Gondel ride which was expensive but worth it €100,00. Back in the hotel we were happy it had airconditioning. The next day we checked out and were told they had a complementry trip to Murano. We left our bags in the hotel and went in a priviate taxi to a massive glass shop. it was really interesting and we were glad we went.

Room Tip: Dont expect to much, it is Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Hotel is not helpful when making booking changings. They charged the first night, regardless if the booking had to be postponed to an other date.
Seems to me, they want the money and no service.

Eventually we canceled the booking an they got snappy on the phone and hung up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Marco Palace Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Palace Suites

Address: Ponte dei Dai 875 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marco Palace Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your San Marco Palace Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Palace Hotel Venice
San Marco Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco Palace Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.