We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca del Dose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ca del Dose to your Saves list
Ca del Dose
Castello, 3801 | Calle del Dose, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The street is small and the hotel/b&b/motel/whatever is unassuming, so it's easy to miss. The rooms we were given were actually around the corner from the hotel's reception. I think there are also residential apartments in the same building. When we arrived, the woman was very nice and showed us to our rooms (her English was limiting but so was our Italian so we evened out with gestures) which was in a quiet square. Our "room" was on the 3rd floor of the building. It can be pretty creepy climbing the dark narrow stairs in the building. Our "room" was actually an apartment - it had two bedrooms, a living room, a dining room with a full kitchen and a bathroom with a shower. It was great! (Unfortunately for our friends, they had a room on the first floor that was really just one room.) Our place was still cleaned daily. The square we were situated in can get creepy at night because it's so dark and quiet but it's very close to the water buses and Piazza San Marco and the major sites. One major issue was that the a/c didn't work. I didn't leave the windows open because I didn't want mosquitoes to bite me but I still got bit. Also, the reception area isn't open 24 hours and it was very difficult to get help from the front desk. I'm not sure what time they open or close. We couldn't check out before 11am because the reception was closed. I think it's still a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    59
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
65
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful small hotel with location, location, location.
Easy access from train station on regular taxi-boat service.
Located 1/2 block down alley from Grand Canal and 2 bridges from Doge's Palace. Easy walking distance to same.
In fact, good walking distance to all of main part of Venice.
Good-natured, helpful owner-manager. Good restaurant recommendations.
He also has apartments if you are staying longer.
Our room, while up three flights, made up for it by having a deck outdoors with a view of the GC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is so close to everything that matters in Venice! A few minutes walk from San Marco square and even less from the Arsenale water taxi stop. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the shower and bathroom are well equipped with all the essentials. There is a small refrigerator and TV in the room and wifi is available. We came in the winter, the hotel is warm through out and the room always warm and welcoming. I adored having shutters to close out the night air and a nearby light and then, experiencing the delight of opening them in the morning to welcome the the warm bright Venetian sunshine pouring into our room. Lorenzo the owner was more than helpful with his advice about airport transport and how to get around in Venice. Pack light because there is no elevator and you will have to carry your cases up the stairs to the room and most importantly... You MUST have room to pack all the beautiful Venetian souvenirs!
Enjoy this hotel, its hospitality and the surrounds... Venice is pure magic.

Room Tip: Couldn't unclick fitness center, walking around Venice for hours will get you fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I came to Venice to visit my daughter who is studying there for a semester and was extremely pleased with my choice of this hotel, which I highly recommend in every respect, but first and foremost for the considerate hospitality of the owners who were as helpful as can be. As for the room, I was very pleased with its lovely decor, which the internet pictures don't even fully reflect. It was also quiet, cozy and warm, with plenty of space for a solo traveler. I was also very pleased with the great room-darkening shutters in the room. The location is also fantastic, being only 5 minutes away by foot from Piazza San Marco. An added bonus was the great little Italian restaurant right next door, where we had very tasty pasta meals. All in all, I had a great stay there.

Room Tip: Just wanted to mention the morning church bells that are probably unavoidable in all parts of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just 10 minute walk from st marks square. Very welcoming although desk is not manned 24 hour, however they were kind enough to let us leave the bags and give us a front door key after we'd checked out as our flight wasn't until later on. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, yes they are small and theres no lift but but this is a 16 century building in Venice - most of the hotels are small and almost none of them have lifts!! Very comfortable - would recommend this to anyone whether budget or not.

Room Tip: If you stay here get the water bus from the airport and get off at Arsenale stop, it's closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having read the mixed reviews on TA, I realised that people staying in the hotel itself were generally satisfied, while those booking the hotel but who were put in rooms "round the corner" had a number of complaints. With this in mind I contacted the owner directly, and asked for hotel availability. Lorenzo confirmed my dates, but it wasn't until his second email that he told me that I was going to be in a "dependance" round the corner from the hotel. Based on others' comments I wrote back, told him I wasn't happy as some of the reviews were very negative, and asked for further information about the room I'd be in. I quote from his reply. " Thank you for the email. The depandance of the bad reviews, there isn't now, this is new, trust in me is beautiful." Well, I trusted him, and my advice to ALL Trip Advisor readers is DON'T! Look for another hotel and a more trustworthy hotel owner in Venice, as there are plenty.

We ended up in a two bedroomed apartment, with damp patches on the bedroom walls, ugly dirty grouting on the shower cubicle, and shower cubicle doors that were impossible to close and needed two people to manouver them. The cupboards in the living area were full of someone's junk - and in the kitchen area contained half empty food packets. The hotel reception was very rarely staffed unless new arrivals were expected, so we couldn't have accessed the wifi even if we wanted to. When I eventually raised my concerns with Lorenzo he told me that he had no control over the dependances - he just rented them from other owners. He claimed that the owner had told him all the problems had been sorted out - but these problems are so obvious that he can see them for himself when he shows people round. If he wants to protect his reputation he should set higher standards for those he works with, otherwise these negative comments reflect very badly on him and his hotel. As I didn't see any of the hotel rooms, I have no way of knowing whether his lack of attention to detail applies there as well.

I'm not sure what "scrumptious basket of treats" means in daisylind's review, but we got nothing. Even though we had a kitchen area there was no kettle or pan to boil water, and we felt the need to carefully clean two glasses before using them. The settee and chair in the living area were covered with slightly grubby throws, and I chose not to look at the state of the upholstery beneath. The cleaners cleaned well, but they couldn't do much to improve the state of the flat itself. Luckily the bed was comfortable! The very sad part of this is that it wouldn't take a great deal of money or effort to upgrade this grubby flat into a stylish apartment - but I would discourage anyone reading this from booking with Ca del Dose. Venice is a beautiful city, and a stay there deserves better than this sort of accommodation. The location of Ca del Dose is good - but so is everywhere in this compact city.

Room Tip: Just don't accept a room outside the hotel itself (though I can't speak for the hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Long overdue review! Stayed here for our honeymoon; FANTASTIC!! Superb location, just lovely little place with a scrumptious basket of treats and an adorable view. Nothing but wonderful memories!!! : D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca del Dose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca del Dose

Address: Castello, 3801 | Calle del Dose, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic center of Venice, the Cà del Dose inn offers welcoming, well-kept rooms, just steps from St. Mark's and the San Zaccaria vaporetto (water taxi) stop. With the attention of the brilliant and accessible family management, you will discover the charm of Venice, its quiet corners, the splendid Lagoon islands and the charm of the Film Festival and the Biennale d'Arte.Cà del Dose, the most cordial welcome to VeniceLocated in Venice, the family management of the Cà del Dose inn welcomes you into its warm atmosphere with carefully restored rooms in a typical Venetian palace.Perfect for a vacation in the historic center of the most fascinating city in the world, the Cà del Dose inn sets itself apart with efficient service, total soundproofing and the attention to detail in its rooms.The elegant reception area and hall, with exposed ceiling beams,decorated with wrought iron and Murano glass, invite every traveler to fully experience the irresistible flavor of ancient Venice.At the Cà del Dose inn, the staff - managed by the cordial Lorenzo and Valentina – is completely available to provide tourist information and book excursions and guided tours.The Cà del Dose inn is located in the old neighborhood of Castello, near the walkway on Riva degli Schiavoni which brings you to St. Mark, along the "Bacino" of the same name, one of the most extraordinary areas in Venice.Less than three minutes from the property is the San Zaccaria landing, from which you can take a direct boat to the charming Lagoon islands - Murano, Burano and Torcello - and the Lido, home of the prestigious Film Festival.St. Mark's Square is a few minutes away on foot with its extraordinary basilica, offering an enchanting panoramic view of the city from its bell tower, as well as the Procuratie and the gothic profile of the Doge's Palace.In the immediate vicinity of the square, the commercial artery known as the mercerie is the perfect opportunity for a unique and rewarding shopping experience, just before reaching the Rialto Bridge to admire its fascinating architecture and the colorful city market.See Venice's nightlife awaken at the clubs in the Rialto Erbaria! Here, moods grow cheerful with a spritz, a glass of wine and a cicheto, the tasty and unique appetizer of Venetian cuisine!If you visit our city you certainly won't forget the Arsenale, the Biennale organized in the Gardens, the romantic Zattere and the extraordinary museums and churches that make Venice an unforgettable city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ca del Dose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Dose Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca del Dose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.