We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Formenta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' Formenta to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Formenta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 1650 | Via Garibaldi, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE 10%
Ranked #95 of 383 Hotels in Venice
North yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ca' Formenta for our silver wedding anniversary. We had one of the larger lagoon view rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom small but adequate. Ideally located, just 10 minutes walk from St Mark's Square.
The best bit was in the evenings when all the day trippers went back to their hotels over the lagoon and Venice was quiet and felt like it was all ours!
Well placed for local restaurants, some off the beaten track.
June was a lovely time to visit ( I have been 3 times before) Good weather but not too hot.
Take comfortable shoes - lots and lots of walking!
If you have not been - Venice is so magical. Its like stepping back 500 years the moment you get off the boat.
Things you should do while in Venice:
1.have lunch by the rialto bridge and watch the world go by.
2.coffee and Florians - yes its expensive, but do it anyway.
3.visit the Doges palace early in the morning to avoid the crowds
.

  • Liked — perfect location
  • Disliked — havinf to leave
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    183
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
200
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Ca Formenta is in an excellent location away from the real hustle & bustle of Venice and in a very traditional area of the island close to lots of eateries. It is also close to Vaporetto stop Arsenale which is on the route from the airport.

Our room was the best we had in our stay in Europe in this price range.

However we were very disappointed that the hotel did not honour the price we had been given by our travel agent and made us pay more.
So check the price very carefully and dont believe what your agent tells you. My advice is get the price in writing from the hotel! To be charged an extra 30 Euros per night and be paying in Australian dollars is an amount to be upset about and did leave a bad taste about the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Charging us more than we were quoted
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcsimon, Manager at Hotel Ca' Formenta, responded to this review, November 5, 2008
Dear Madam,

we have read your review on TripAdvisor; we do thank you for the nice words about our Hotel, and are also very happy that you have enjoyed the Via Garibaldi and the Sestiere di Castello; this is really a nice and quiet neighbourhood, away from the crowds, but only a few minutes' walk from the major tourist sites; actually, we should try to keep this a ‘secret’ … just for ‘connoisseurs’ …

Regarding your complaint about the price, we are really sad to read that you think we have not honoured the price given you by the travel agent … and we try to explain you what happened: your Travel Agent has booked in date August 12th, 2008 through GDS Sabre, a room for you with arrival Tuesday, Sept. 23rd, and departure Friday, Sept. 26th at a daily rate of 220.00 Euro; then, on August 18th, 2008 your T/A has changed your reservation to different dates, now with arrival Friday, Sept. 26th and departure Monday, September 29th, well, this is the reason why the price is different, this new reservation involves a week-end and the daily rate for both Friday and Saturday night is 250.00 Euro, and here we have the 60.00 Euro difference … Unfortunately, as you can surely understand, it is not our fault if your Travel Agent didn’t advise you of the higher rates for week-end, we believe is not the Hotel Cà Formenta to blame, but someone else in place …
Anyway, we do thank you once again for the preference given to our Property, and we sincerely hope that we could have in the future the opportunity of having you as a welcome Guest in our Hotel again, and we will for sure do some nice gesture to compensate your disappointment … and help you enjoy our beautiful Venice once again!

We remain, in the meantime,
with warmest regards,

Marco Simonetto, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

just returned from a three night stay and it was faultless. We have been to Venice several times and without a doubt the Ca`Formenta was our best hotel yet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, all the staff are friendly and helpful and the inclusive breakfast is tasy and plentifull, It was especially nice after a long tiring day in Venice to sit outside the hotel with a cold beer and watch the world go by. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — tiny shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed at the Ca' Formenta with my parents for a weekend, and I have to say that the location of the hotel is really nice. Just far enough away from the tourist zones to feel more relaxed, yet still really easy to walk to most sites. And quite easy to get to from the train or bus stations.

We had a triple room (junior suite) that had a lovely view over the water. It was not a huge room, but seeing that it is Venice, the room was a decent size. It was clean and comfortable. It was NOT cheap though, and if you are looking to save money I would recommend staying on the Lido.

We were given a bottle of Proseco at check in (possibly as it was a special occasion). The staff were very friendly and had lots of info on sites and restaurants. Breakfast was adequate, but not as good as other places we stayed in Europe.

Overall a really nice stay, but given the cost at high season I would likely stay farther out if I went to Venice again, as it is really quite easy to get to the Lido and other areas.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

3 adults traveling together and managed to get a front room over looking the water, even if it's across the walk way. The room was huge with a decent size bath. The only thing is the lobby is small so having breakfast, which was included, in the lobby was tight so we always went out front. Who wouldn't want to be outside in Venice anyway? The walk to the hotel from one of the water bus stops wasn't very far either, maybe 2 blocks, but 2 bridges. This means hauling rolling luggage over them. But why complain, it's VENICE!

The beds were very comfortable and the staff VERY helpful, they all spoke very good English and were great for suggestions for meals that weren't huge tourist hang outs.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed here for a weekend whilst in Venice for a friend's wedding. It was perfect. Good value, clean, well appointed, helpful and efficient staff, well located with a nice view out over the canal, we were very happy with our choice and would thoroughly recommend it for a stay in Venice.

  • Liked — Great value for money.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We loved this hotel, they were very friendly and helped with my requests before I arrived, ie flowers in the room for our anniversary. Very friendly staff, and very helpful. The locatiion was fabulous, we payed a small extra to overlook the lagoon. The location is just out of the busiest part, with a 5 minute walk. Being of the tourist trail means you have some local restaurants, and some lovely wine bars that the locals frequesnt, with the choice to opt for the expensive places if you choose. All in all a fabulous place. be sure to visit the beach at Lido if your feet get tired, and have at least one night locally in Via Garibaldi, the wine bar and restaurants are excellent value, thats where you'll find the locals

  • Liked — Room with a view
  • Disliked — Shower was average
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Formenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Formenta

Address: Castello 1650 | Via Garibaldi, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#104 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Formenta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cà Formenta is located in the lively Via Garibaldi, only 10 minute walk to San Marco Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Formenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Formenta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Formenta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.