We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central hotel! Perfect for a trip to Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Conti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' dei Conti to your Saves list
Ca' dei Conti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel! Perfect for a trip to Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package and it was very good. Excellent location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square and not much further to Rialto Bridge.

Adjacent to small squares with excellent eateries and bars.

The hotel itself was clean and very comfortable. We had booked a superior room which unfortunately was not ready due to repairs required but we were offered prose co on the terrace as an apology and were given another room (502). The room was excellent! We had a very comfortable bed, snail kitchen, lovely bathroom and a private garden terrace. The room was in the building adjacent but very quite.

The breakfast was a continental breakfast with cheese, hams, pastries, tea, coffee all of which was self service and typically European but enough to set you up for the day.

The staff were very helpful too.

All in all a great stay and we wouldn't hesitate in returning!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do come of the area set out for breakfast which is not ideal but don't see thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    289
    95
    64
    26
See reviews for
137
375
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We traveled to Venice for three nights as part of a longer trip to Italy in early July 2014, which is the high season for travel to Rome. We stayed at this hotel.

The hotel location is very good, close to San Marco Sq and all the attractions, yet away from the beaten path and hustle and bustle. The room was nice and clean and well appointed. The bathroom was clean, but the sink and shower had a little bit of mold. The beds were comfy and large. Our two kids shared the pull out couch in the living room and it was not great but OK.

The hotel staff were a mix of helpful and aloof. Some of the front desk staff were eager to help you out and answer your questions, others were not so.

The free breakfast is OK, but not great. The breakfast space is in the lobby of the second floor of the hotel and not very large. If you get there around 8 AM, you will likely have to wait for a table to open up. I found rotten fruit in their fruit basket and they had canned fruits on the buffet. The cream cheese was too old and had liquid in the packages. There is a sign next to the scrambled eggs container saying if you serve youself eggs and bacon there is an extra charge of 2.50 Euroes per person. At the prices that they charge for the rooms, this is down right insulting to guests.

At check in you will be given a username and password for Wifi connection which is good for 30 minutes total. After that you need to reach for your wallet. 2 Euros for each additional 15 min of wifi connection, with price breaks all the way up to 24 hours. This constant nickel and diming from this hotel was very annoying. If I stayed at a cheap hotel, I can understand this. But this is far from a cheap hotel.

We paid an average of over four hundred Euros a night for our stay at this hotel. For these prices, having to pay 2.5 euros for eggs at breakfast and extra Euros for Wifi connection is unreasonable.

I would have given this place a four star review, but for the reasons above, I am giving them 3 starts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcadeiconti, General Manager at Ca' dei Conti, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guests, thanks for your opinion. First of all I really like to explain you that the services include or not do not depend from the hotel but from the web site or travel agent that sold our room. They also decide about the price. For example, in our web site reservation we includes american breakfast (no extra charge for eggs and bacon) and wifi.

Refer to the quality of breakfast products we use only first choise foods. The type of cheese you mentioned has water and it is normal (i.e.Mozzarella must to have water otherwise is not fresh).
I hope to clarify some doubts.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a lovely holiday in venice which was a few days in our three weeks in Italy. The hotel location is quite good, being close to the centre of action in st marks square, albeit it does take some map navigation to find ones way here. The room we stayed in was nice, tidy and clean. As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel has a certain old world elegance which is charming.

Nevertheless, the service was very poor and unfortunately consistently so. The was reinforced several times during our stay. The air conditioning in our room did not function correctly and we requested it to be at least looked at on several occasions but to no avail. No one ever turned up.

Breakfasts were generally quite poor in terms of quality. For example, the standard of fruit provided was very poor. One does not come to venice for the breakfasts however the service standards for the breakfast staff was generally very poor to a bit surly. For example ; it became a bit of a mission to order a cappuccino in the morning. Anything beyond the filter coffee provided was greeted with sighs and rolling eyes even though an industrial scale Italian offer machine was on proud display in the kitchen. Native Italian speakers seem to get access to this with ease...foreigners had a less frictionless experience when ordering something of better quality. Difficult when coming from Melbourne and strange for an obvious Italian passion!

The height of poor service however came when we asked the reception staff to look into booking a standard available tour of the cathedral and palace for us in the afternoon from one of their brochures displayed in the foyer. After we returned from our lunch nothing had been booked, a hasty telephone call made and we were told that that tour had been booked out for three days. Pretty poor to let us build our days activity around this, obviously not attend to it while away and then try and get out of it!

Still for a family of four with two small children the facilities met our needs. I think however given the reasonable price a certain level of care and service is expected. We were not particularly demanding but did have the sense that everything was an effort by the staff, and it all didn't matter given the sea of tourists that flow through this city in summer.

Venice is a lovely city dispite the crowds. Magical. Ca dei monte is probably best avoided if you have other options.

Room Tip: Ask for the quad room 303 if you have kids under 10. Easily sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Centrally located...........just off saint marks square and very close to vaporetto station,the hotel has an old world charm to it. Restored from an old palace the hotel has kept some of the old antiques likes huge old mirrors in every room and the original doors etc. Although getting to the hotel involves climbing up and down stairs over bridges on the grand canal, the location is very good considering the fact that the dodges palaceand other attractions are very closeby (10minutes walking dsitance)......................breakfast is basic.....................beds are big.........................the hotel is expensive and worth it at the same time..........................would like to add that there are some very good murano shops in and around the bylanes of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A great base from which to explore Venice. Only a short walk to the nearest vaporetto stop or to St Marks Square. A water taxi delivered and collected us to and from the hotel, which was in the venetian style. Very comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, and good breakfast selection. We very much enjoyed the oasis of the second floor balcony area, where we sipped our Prosecco after a tiring day of exploration. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, DO NOT miss out eating dinner at CoVino, Calle del Pestrin, Castello! There are two sittings, so booking is essential. We loved the food, the ambience, and all three of the staff!

Room Tip: We were in the annexe in a very comfortable, quiet room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Expensive for what we paid & room only available in the annexe on the top floor. Not a room with a view, except an inner courtyard, small room with mirrors that although antique looking made the room seem musty & drab. A bathroom door that would not shut without brute force & a hairdryer that was faulty. Had some of these issues sorted, but a room swap meant we had to wait in the following morning after our arrival to change, which was precious time to us, as we wanted to be out sightseeing. I understand on these short breaks a room is just a place to lay your head, but it would have been nice to have had the "wow" feeling from us when we arrived. Staff were a bit miserable on the reception desk also when we booked in & whether it was the torrential rain outside, I do not know. Breakfast was a floor below us in the annexe, which seemed strange here as well, as 4 or 5 guest bedrooms came straight out into the dining area where everyone ate - not appropriate at all I felt. Continental in it's basic form poor quality, along with self service - not a great choice The one staff member, that did make an appearance now & then, I felt should have been on hand all the time, serving tea & coffee to the guests, as the tables were too close together & it was so easy to knock against a fellow guest whilst they were dining - an accident waiting to happen.
Loved Venice, but not this hotel.
Booked as one of the hotels Thomson's offered, so can only say - do some research on sites first before making a booking & don't take Hotel pictures as law.

Room Tip: Not top floor - annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcadeiconti, General Manager at Ca' dei Conti, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for your reviews. We w consider it to improve our service.
Anyway I would like to explain that room with canal view has to be reserved in advance becuase we have only few rooms with view. The rooms faced on the breakfast room are suite and deluxe and are absolutely unsonorizated.
Breakfast is not self service, but we served our guests at the table. Also in your review you note that was a staff member working for the guests...
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Well situated centrally in Venice this hotel was ideal for our weekend stay. The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was first class. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed, but the 'canal view' is limited because the canal is so small. We would saty again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Conti

Address: Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#130 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' dei Conti 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' dei Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Conti Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Conti Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Conti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.