We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Conti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' dei Conti to your Saves list
Ca' dei Conti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Menifee, California
1 review
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed two nights following a cruise. Expected our water taxi to take us directly to the hotel, but we were told they don't fit the canal. We had to walk the narrow streets with our luggage in the rain. It is a nice clean hotel in a good location. Our room was large and nicely decorated with an adequate bathroom, but our mattress was very hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was good with a variety of meats, cheeses, rolls, scrambles eggs, juices and cereal. Our biggest complaint was having to wait so long before we were given a room, 10:30 am - 2:15 pm. We realized it takes time to clean rooms but we didn't understand why others checking in after us were given rooms. We were only told our room was not ready yet. It really was not a good start to our first time in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    289
    94
    64
    26
See reviews for
137
375
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Ca' dei Conti for part of our trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Hotel Ca' dei Conti. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here with a group. Like most Venetian hotels, the rooms vary quite a lot so just hold out for what you want. We here given the Casanova suite which had the bed upstairs. Breakfast room quite small and couldn't cope with us all at once ( 30 pax ). Some breakfast staff rather unfriendly and one refused to get fresh items when they ran out ( " finito " ). Reception staff lovely and very helpful. Location 5 minutes from S Marco ( eastern end ) so very handy if you like to be near all that. For me, I will go back to Dorsoduro area next time with a group or by myself, away from the madding crowd but only a short vaporetto away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l'Etang-la-Ville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Elegant little hotel on a canal in the midst of animated narrow streets in the heart of Venice, a stone throw from St. Marc if you figure out the shortest route through the maze of alleys.

We wanted twin beds so were given a room in the attic, which was too narrow to fit a double bed. We found a charming "L" shaped room full of character, very tastefully decorated with cloth wall coverings and faux antique furniture. Congratulations to the management for their sense of aesthetics and attention to detail, obviously they are proud of their property.  Very stylish renovated shower bath and quality fittings. Plentiful supplies of all kinds of toiletries. Good to see a reasonably priced hotel where high standard took precedence over cost. Breakfast was also very good with ample choice, including excellent croissants.

Some quirks, nonetheless. The attic rooms had no numbers and the emergency evacuation instructions corresponded to a room with a number different from that on the room key. The hotel was overheated in November, even after turning off the heaters we had to open windows, a waste of energy.

My observations only apply to the main building where we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It took a little effort but we finally found the Ca dei Conti after a few wrong turns and a dropped bottle of wine. Once we made it we were pleased to find a large, ornately decorated room with a comfortable bed, a couch and a view over an adjacent alley. By the end of the day we had the surrounding alleys and bridges committed to memory.

The hotel is located only a few minutes from St. Mark's Square, but in a quiet area free of heavy tourist traffic. Walking up from the canal, you pass through a stretch of cafes, shops and restaurants before arriving at what looks like a dead end, but another alley leads to the hotel's doorstep. Inside, there's a small lobby leading to the elevator and breakfast room.

The only negative about the room is the small bathroom, most notably the tiny shower. Everything else was fine. Breakfast was decent, though you did have to pay for some of the hot prepared selections. Not sure if this is standard for Venice hotels, but when you leave the premises, you have to turn in your key at the front desk, then ask for it back when you return. I assume this is so that people don't lose their key in the canals.

Proximity to St. Mark's Square means you're also close to the water taxis. Also nearby -- about two minutes and one footbridge away -- is Campo Santa Maria Formosa, an underrated square with a couple of cafes and restaurants ideal for people-watching.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with our two children in early November. From previous experience of Venice Hotels I expected the room to be small and pokey but when we checked in we were shown to a suite with huge rooms.Location is great, ten minutes from St Marks and the water taxi stop. There is a variety of good places to eat close to the hotel and all priced better than those on the Grand canal or St Marks square.
After a busy day of sightseeing I asked the front desk for a little milk so I could make a coffee in our room, five minutes later a tray arrived with a china tea set, both hot and cold milk and hot italian coffee already made. A very welcome treat with compliments of the hotel.
We got lost on the way to the hotel from the Water taxi but found it after a few wrong turns.
The staff spoke good english and were very helpful. Breakfast was good, a variety of cereals and cold meats and an extra 2.50 euro for the hot buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We thought the hotel was charming. It is well situated for visiting the island. The breakfast was good. We liked our room. The bathroom was small but not usual for European hotels. The staff was very helpful. We were asked to pay our city tax in Euros instead of a cred card. Luckily we had enough cash at the end of our trip. Prior notice of the need to pay cash would have been helpful. We would stay in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Conti

Address: Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#130 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' dei Conti 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, Splendia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ca' dei Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Conti Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Conti Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Conti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.