We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca' Amadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ca' Amadi to your Saves list
Locanda Ca' Amadi
Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This little b&b truly captures the essence of Venice. The location is beyond ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge, and right in the centre of Venice. The decor is typical venetian, in an old building, yet the amenities are top notch.

The food is plain continental breakfast, nothing out of the ordinary. The front desk guy was more than pleasant, we took his recommendations for restaurants off the beaten tourist path and we were not disappointed. He spoke English well and was beyond helpful.

One remark about the canal view room, while gorgeous, it is adjacent to a bridge that is gets quite the pedestrian traffic at night, and noise may be an issue.

Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    32
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
161
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely hotel/ guest house in a great location. The room which could easily sleep 4 was huge. Everything was typically Venetian which added to the atmosphere of the whole trip. The room was very clean, well furnished and had great views of the canal. The staff were friendly, had good local knowledge and spoke English. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in July 2013 and were attracted to this hotel because of its historical significance - Marco Polo's birthplace. As a family of 4 with 2 boys ages 7 and 13, we prefer quad rooms over 2 separate rooms for practicality (and refereeing). The layout of this quad room was perfect with a built-in, painted cabinet and desk serving as a half partition topped with an exquisite chandelier as a divider. The kids had their "own space" yet we could interact easily. The decor was historical Venetian with modern amenities - decent-sized bathroom and shower stall. The walls were covered in damask fabric and our bed was topped with a crown with matching fabric. Both windows opened onto a canal where locals live. There was constant traffic and the boats honk and yell as standard navigation, which we found charming and not annoying. If you are a light sleeper, it may be an issue. My favorite was the original beam ceiling with stencils. It was obvious that great care was taken in restoring this magnificent building. Take the time to enjoy the main hall (look up at the ceiling) where an Italian, continental-plus breakfast is served daily and included in the rate. Stand on the balcony overlooking the canal and take photos.

The owners are rightfully proud of their gorgeous home and extremely accommodating. We arrived after hours and very clear instructions were emailed to us ahead of time so we could enter without disturbing them. They were happy to talk about the hotel and its history and made the extra effort to provide a unique description and walking tour of Venice written by a Venetian professor and historian. Also, their free map was even better than the one I bought. Our shower was slow to drain and was fixed immediately after notifying the owner. He was so apologetic, which wasn't necessary. How would he know if he wasn't told? And his partner was very helpful in shipping our purchases home so we didn't have to carry them.

Just a block away from a touristy square near the Rinalto Bridge, it has its own courtyard with the original well. It was a little difficult to find and Venice is known for getting lost. If arriving at night, ensure you have good directions. A waiter at the restaurant around the corner didn't know it was there. You walk through a short passageway that looks like it's under construction and turn right at an open, medieval-looking door to enter the quiet courtyard. There are about 10-15 steps that you must take to enter without a doorman or bellhop to assist with your luggage. I'm sure the owner would help if you arrive during open reception hours. It would be difficult for disabled guests.

Guests were from different countries, representing all ages with families from infants to teens and young to retired couples. Everyone was relaxed, kept cool with the air conditioning in the July heat and put at ease in a historical building revamped with modern amenities. It is not a 4 or 5-star hotel but it makes up for the missing pampering with attention to detail. I have stayed in 5-star hotels around the world and prefer this boutique-style with friendly owners and historical charm; although plush towels, high-end cleansing products and a mini bar do go a long way for a weary traveler - none of which you will get here. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ca'Amadi dates back to the 13th Century and belonged to Marco Polo's family. Its location is excellent- on a small canal just off off the Grand Canal and close to Rialto which means it is very central and handy for vaporetti. Our room was huge and well furnished-decorated in typical Venetian style and over looked the canal where you can hear the gondoliers telling tourists that this is Marco Polo's house. Both Valentina and Alberto are excellent hosts- nothing is too much trouble. Valentina booked trains for our onward journey when we were unable to do it from England and Alberto e-mailed our next hotel where the owner did not speak English to explain a difficulty that cropped up and resolved it all for us. The only minor complaint we had was that the hot water from the coffee machine at breakfast was not hot enough to make tea. When we explained this ( by my husband putting his hand under the water!) we were immediately provided with a kettle. I agree with the other reviews that the approach down the alley way to the hotel does not seem very salubrious- but do not let this put you off-it all feels very safe and you would miss the opportunity of staying in this lovely hotel. Every thing feels very relaxed and it is very beautiful. Try Barababao which is very close by for a very reasonably priced meal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you're looking for a 4 star hotel with all the amenities this is not the place. Very small and full of character, with a personal touch however and this is the place. Have to admit we got a little concerned as we went down the alley leading to the hotel, if this had been NYC or any other large city I would not have even gone down the alley. But once you arrive in the courtyard where the hotel is located it is fine. While the suite with the canal view was great, it was rather noisy in the evening with the gondola traffic. Very convenient location, we walked everywhere from the hotel. Lots of great restaurant choices nearby as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel when we visited Venice to celebrate our fist wedding anniversary last July 10 and we were delighted to have stayed here. Everything is excellent. I love our room it was so cute but romantic. The breakfast was superb. (It was nice meeting a fellow Filipino who works there too) Overall the friendliness and hospitality of this hotel was brilliant! Thank you to Alberto for being so friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to see and experience the romantic side of the world's famous 'floating city' It's very near to Rialto Bridge and other toursist spots! Excellent Locanda Ca' Amadi! Grazie mille!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from Rialto bridge. The rooms are typical Venetian style (you feel like in a palazzo!), everything is very clean and the beds are comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ca' Amadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Amadi

Address: Cannaregio 5815 | Corte Amadi - Calle Morosina, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Amadi is a small boutique hotel sited in the heart of Venice, a few steps from Rialto bridge and few minutes away from Saint Mark's square. Ca' Amadi is housed in the noble floor of a palace dated back 13th century, which was the house of Marco Polo. In the 15th century the Amadi palace hosted the Emperor Frederick III. The 6 rooms, all different from each other, are elegantly furnished in the typical venetian style and are equipped with all comforts (independend air conditioning/heating, minibar, LCD TV, safe, free wi-fi).Ca’ Amadi è una piccola locanda situata nel cuore di Venezia, a pochi passi dal Ponte di Rialto e a pochi minuti a piedi da Piazza San Marco.Casa di Marco Polo a cavallo tra il XIII e il XIV secolo, palazzo Amadi fu nel XV secolo residenza del mercante Francesco Amadi, nominato Conte dall’imperatore Federico III per averlo ospitato presso la sua dimora.Storia, cultura o semplicemente una pausa dalla frenesia quotidiana: a Ca’ Amadi ciascun viaggiatore può trovare ciò che cerca.I servizi della Locanda Ca' Amadi includono connessione internet wireless gratuita, aria condizionata in tutta la struttura e molto altro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Ca' Amadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Amadi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ca' Amadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.