We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Ca' Arco Antico - you won't reget it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arco Antico Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arco Antico Guest House to your Saves list
Arco Antico Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   San Polo 1451 | Calle del Forno, 30100 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stay at Ca' Arco Antico - you won't reget it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful short holiday in Venice. What a fantastic city. We stayed at the Ca' Arco Antico guest house in the district of San Polo and can't praise it highly enough. Our room was called "Casanova" and had a separate bathroom. Bedroom and bathroom were spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate. The guest house is in a very convenient, central location, very close to a vaporetto stop and is a perfect place from which to explore Venice. Our stay was during Carnival and even on the last night of it, when there's a lot going on outside, we enjoyed peace and quiet. Altogether, we can't praise this place highly enough and at around £80 per night for our room, we had excellent value for money too. We highly recommend Ca' Arco Antico.

  • Liked — Comfort and value for money
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    73
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
82
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

It might have just been because we were in Venice but from the moment we arrived at Arco Antico we loved it. Our room & bathroom was adequate, the breakfast area was very small and didn't offer a huge choice, but apart from this there was a terrific feel about the hotel. The location was wonderful, it's not far from the Rialto bridge which is a gateway to the other side of the canal. When you walk to St Marks Square, try to follow the signs, you feel like you're going the wrong way, but somehow they got us there! For all that it lacked, i.e. space, big brekkie, internet, this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. There's something special about this place - or maybe it really is just Venice. The directions provided by the hotel were fine. Just remember to head towards San Polo. This first small sqaure you come to isn't San Polo so you need to continue along the main 'street'. Just follow the people.

  • Liked — Location & ambience of hotel
  • Disliked — Not a huge choice for breakfast but still adequate
  • Tips/Secrets — Follow their directions provided on website.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

This small and friendly b&b has a fantastic, albeit difficult to find, location. Once discovered, it is marvellous and easy to find again.
The owners are helpful and courteous. We have stayed here twice and are heading back for our third visit in Feb 2007.
The first year, we stayed in the main hotel, then this year, we stayed in the adjoining annex - yes, it's more noisy as the room faces the main alleyway but the character of the room more than made up for it. It's Venice! It's a noisy location due to noise travelling up through the narrow alleyways. We have also stayed in a much more expensive hotel on a very busy street in Venice and also found that noisy.
We LOVE this hotel and recommend it to our friends and family as a reasonably priced beautifully presented friendly establishment well placed for food, drinks and amenities.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

A lovely Venetian home converted into a small inn. Immaculately clean, charming owners and employees. Very helpful in making restaurant reservations and booking tickets to performances and in offering assistance in any other way. Breakfast is very good and filling. Because of the marble floors and proximity in hallway outside bedrooms, the breakfast service is a little noisy in early morning. Although guests and hotel employees alike try hard to keep quite, I couldn't recommend this inn for light sleepers who wish to sleep later than 7:00 am. However, all else makes it a most charming spot to stay while in Venice.

  • Liked — The Venetian glass lighting
  • Disliked — Breakfast served right outside bedrooms was noisy enough to wake us up every morning.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

A great find. We were pleasantly surprised at the spacious rooms and updated bathrooms. Marco and Franco have a beautiful B&B. The location is great too. Very near the Rialto Bridge and situated between 2 water taxi stops. Good breakfast too!

  • Liked — Rooms and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — great place to stay
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Stayed there for 4 days in July 2006. We are very happy with our choice. Here are the details:
- good location (2 min from the vaporato stop; 4 min from the main bridge, all sort of stores/restaurants nearby).
- very quiet (it's a block away from a major alley)
- very clean with nice remodeled bathroom
- ok breakfast
- satelite TV with way too many choices...
- very reasonably priced

The people that run it are extremely helpful. We particularly appreciate them for providing an umbrella on a rainy evening. Overall, their advice and recommendation is very useful and very accurate.

Yes, it would be nice if it was overlooking a channel or the sea, but we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

loved this clean and superbly located place until we checked out.
Sadly, I discovered that my wallet, and all cash and credit cards were missing. One of the four owners (the other three were very nice) just sat at the desk while my husband struggled to get an outside phone line. He did not help and then, while we were panicking, scolded my husband for placing his foot on the couch. with all of the warm caring people in Italy you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arco Antico Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Antico Guest House

Address: San Polo 1451 | Calle del Forno, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arco Antico Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Arco Antico Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Antico Guest House Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arco Antico Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.