We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small, clean, noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alle Guglie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alle Guglie to your Saves list
Hotel Alle Guglie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 383 Hotels in Venice
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, small, clean, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The room was really really small. The bathroom had only room for a shower. And this we were told was the biggest, most expensive room. It was not fancy. But it was clean and nice.

The location was very central, right on a main tourist route, close to the train station, bus stop, and vaporetto. However, this meant significant street noise waking us up early in the morning. Also, the walls are really, thin, I could hear everything though them (and probably vice versa), which also meant waking up early to breakfast being set up or other people leaving their rooms. I suggest bringing ear plugs.

The breakfast they served was really yummy. I usually find hotel breakfasts bad, dry muffins and such, but I really liked the croissants and calzone-like things.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    176
    69
    21
    23
See reviews for
44
231
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located and easily accessible from the airport. Just around the corner from the boat stop you don't need to carry your luggage all through Venice.

The hotel is typically Venetian - small rooms but equipped with everything you need. The bed is comfortable and there was enough room for our suitcases. As we were not staying long hours in the hotel anyways it was just great. The bathroom was newly renovated and very clean.

The free WiFi was also perfect to immediately share the pictures we have taken throughout the day.

The breakfast was truly Italian...espresso and sweet, but perfect to start the day.

I will definitely choose this hotel again when I come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This small boutique hotel is in a great locationfor all you need in Venice. To reach it from the airport you take the water bus (15 Euros) and you get off at the Guglie Bridge.Then it is just a two minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel is on a street that is a main walk way and the railway station is only minutes away. Yo can walk to the ferry station quite easily or if you have time take the walk to Saint Marks Square.

The breakfast is good and there is a market just outside the door. Fresh fruit available.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor on the same level as the breakfast room. This was good as the stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If someone at the hotel is listening please tell me how on earth do u expect ur guests to take a shower in a place u can hardly even turn ? I am a tiny person and this is my view and the rest you can imagine!
Getting to the most important element and I have to mention this to warn the tourists of the behaviour of the manager (male receptionist ). The rudest person , probably need learn some skills on how to talk to the guests visiting their premises!
We had gone to give him advance notice about vacating the rooms and to keep the bills ready , this manager was chatting with another gentlemen in his local dialect which ofcourse we could not understand, he turned us and yelled stating to get back. We apologised and told him we did not notice he was having a conversation and we would wait, this guy now wants us to move to a corner and stay there till he finishes his chit o chat! His gesture was so rude that made us think it wasn't worth spending 200 EUR for a day at this very average place and get infuriated by some arrogant stranger!
The only consoling factor was that it is close to the station and the
lady receptionist was helpful.

Terrible mostly due to the Manager mentioned above and bathrooms are made for dolls and not humans!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Two of us stayed here on our first trip to Venice - easy to walk to (about 5 minutes tops) from the train station - easy enough to maneuver and find the hotel. Lovely area to be in, felt safe and also nice room with views of market on the street below. Bed was comfortable, shower and bathroom clean. We enjoyed our trip to Venice very much - walked or ferried everywhere from this hotel. The breakfast area was just outside the room but did not bother us at all (breakfast included). Don't be surprised by the city tax fee at check-out though -all hotels have it in venezia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an excellent experience to stay at this hotel. Red-coloured walls charmed me from the very first moment. Besides, country style vintage furnitures also impressed me. The room was clean, comfortable, romantic and nostalgic. The staff was very kind and respectfull. On the other hand, the breakfast has been the best one that I have ever seen in my Italy trip. Also, there was no problem with the wi-fi connection. The location was also excellent. It is quite close to train station and it is in the middle of a very popular street. Furthermore, it was a pleasant to have the fruit sellers in front of the hotel. They were open until late hours, so we would have been able to buy some fruits whenever we want.

I can not find any disadvantage about the hotel. It would be better if it was closer to San Marco Piazza. However, it was also a great pleasure to walk around the city until finding San Marco.

The price of the hotel was also reasonable, so there is no reason to stay in another hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited Venice in march 2013 and it was an adventure. We stayed in a room at the front, it was basic but small and clean and I loved the tiny balcony where I could open the doors and have the vendors wake me up in the mornings as they set up or watch people as they walk by and hear the conversations/noise below. Complimentary breakfast was ok however we chose to utilize the nearby cafes in the mornings. Front desk staff was informative and helpful in guiding our vacation. It was a short walk from the water taxi when we arrived and a short walk to the bus station when we were leaving. Luv it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alle Guglie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alle Guglie

Address: Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alle Guglie 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alle Guglie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Guglie Hotel
Alle Guglie Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alle Guglie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.