We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleaseant and accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alle Guglie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alle Guglie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alle Guglie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 382 hotels in Venice
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleaseant and accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited Venice in march 2013 and it was an adventure. We stayed in a room at the front, it was basic but small and clean and I loved the tiny balcony where I could open the doors and have the vendors wake me up in the mornings as they set up or watch people as they walk by and hear the conversations/noise below. Complimentary breakfast was ok however we chose to utilize the nearby cafes in the mornings. Front desk staff was informative and helpful in guiding our vacation. It was a short walk from the water taxi when we arrived and a short walk to the bus station when we were leaving. Luv it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    187
    70
    24
    22
See reviews for
41
212
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

For Venice, I'm told Hotel Alle Guglie is one of the best values around, and it may well be. The staff was A+, but the room would have been a total joke if we were staying anywhere else in the world. I thought the Hudson in New York was about as compact as a hotel room could come, but this place is even more compact.Just close your eyes and imagine that you had a communist uncle in Russia who died in 1972, our room could have been his idea of luxury. Everything here is clean and the beds are comfortable, just at the lowest rung on the luxury ladder.

At the end of the day, we actually enjoyed our stay as we reminded ourselves that Venice is about Venice and what you see, and not the room you sleep in.

If you're on a budget, well, a Venetian budget, then Hotel Alle Guglie may be your best bet for value, location, nice breakfast, great staff and an authentic experience. For 3 of us, mom, dad and a 4 year old, our tab ran approximately $220 a night—not cheep, but not top of the mark either.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front of the hotel. Otherwise, you view will be a 300 year old brick wall. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel is located in a 7-min. distance walk from the S. Lucia Railway Terminal. It is easy to find the hotel.

Th staff is very professional, greets you nicely, guides to your rooms and gives you all information you need.

Our room (#22) is not too big but it does n not matter since everything is in place, linen are clean, pillows are comfortable, bathroom is clean, AC works well.

Breakfast are server in a hall room on a first floor since 8 till 10 a.m. Nice smell of coffee will wake you up :-) and brings straight to the room. A nice lady will serve you a cap of your favorite coffee.

Room Tip: #22 - room with two windows on the backyard, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Location was ok but the rooms, quality of the public areas are at ver low standard. People having brought with them dinner just outside our room for instance. All except the bathroom is really worn down. For €190 I would expect a little more/better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Thoughly enjoyed our stay.
We did request a first floor room after reading hotel reviews before we went.
This proved to be very advantageous as the stairs were very steep and narrow especially when carrying heavy luggage.
Rooms are not huge but plenty big enough although our showerroom was tiny.
The shower cubicle was so small my husband could not turn round properly.
Although the hotel web site did state it had a hairdryer in the room I would take my own with me if I was to stay here again.
The hairdryer was in the bathroom and of a type I would describe as useless!!!
Having said all this I would definitely stay here again as the charm and the staff made up for any shortfalls that the rooms or bathrooms might have.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The room was the cheapest we could find but it is a really good choice because the room has a good size. It's a 10-minute walk from the station and 20 from Piazza San Marco. Good neighborhood.

There's also a good breakfast with breads, pies, yougurt, cereals and juice and hot chocolate.

The only bad thing is the shower. Tall people like me will suffer a little bit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location & value for money. Hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from St Lucia Train Station. From station walk to the left- all the way straight until 2nd bridge. Walk to the 2nd bridge and you will see fruit stalls -it means you already approaching the hotel. Save money because you do not have to spend on water taxi. The pizzaria, restaurant and gelato shop just nearby. For muslim traverler, the kebab pizzaria is less than 2 mins walk from the hotel. If you need basic things from supermarket there are 2 supermarket nearby - you can buy your mineral water at reasonable price example for 1.5 litre - can get it for less than 1.5 euro. My favorite is Billa- about 10 mins walk . You wont feel the distance because as you walk you will see a lot of interesting shoppes. You can buy the souvenirs at the shoppes nearby the hotel, very competitive price as compares to area at San Marco and Rialto. If you do like to walk around the island and prefer to take the water taxi, the water taxi station is less than 5 mins from the hotel - Ferrovia Station. Very convenient. If you wish to go to Casino - the Casino is walking distance- less than 5 mins. The breakfast selection was very good. Really value for money- you can have tea/coffee,juices,pastry etc. I strongly recommend family, couple or solo traveller to stay here. The hotel staff are very helpful and they can speak English. Will help you as much as possible. :-)

Room Tip: My room is on 2nd floor - internet is excellent and not noisy, however the bathroom a bit small. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alle Guglie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alle Guglie

Address: Rio Tera San Leonardo, 1523 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alle Guglie 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Alle Guglie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alle Guglie Hotel
Alle Guglie Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alle Guglie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.