We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Marco 1107 | Calle del Cavalletto, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 383 Hotels in Venice
blackpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading a few negative reviews on trip advisor I was a little concerned that we may have booked the wrong hotel, but I couldn't have been more wrong!
The location just couldn't have been any better , seconds away from St Marks Square, minutes from the Grand Canal and balconies overlooking the gondola stop. Yes the rooms were a bit dated but they were big, clean and the air con kept them cool even when it hit 37degrees. The breakfast was good, with great views over the canal, the bar was comfortable and Paulo the barman was really friendly and efficient and he makes the very best Bellinis.
Venice is expensive, we spent more on a water taxi one way to the airport than we did on a night b&b here, unless you want to spend a lot of money you won't find a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    249
    164
    89
    64
See reviews for
121
333
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

i just came back two days ago from this hotel, it was a trebbile staying the room was very small " boxy" and old and the AC was also not well-functioning in such bad wethear in venice , the only advatege thing is the location but however movement is not a big hassle in venice i donot advise to choose it as doesnot worth a single cent to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We didn’t actually stay in this hotel so I can't comment on the size of the rooms or quality of service. However, what I did notice is its great location just beside Piazza San Marco (we came upon it as we were on our way back to San Marco after walking tour).

Besides being only less than 50m from Piazza San Marco, it is opposite the Hard Rock Cafe but the best thing about the location of this hotel is that it overlooks the Basin Orseolo and faces the nearby gondola rank. You can watch the fascinating spectacle of the gondolas coming and going from the comfort of your room.

Room prices at this hotel seem to vary greatly according to which hotel booking web-site you use, so double- and triple-check the different web-sites before you make your booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. Location was great. Water taxi was right outside. Rooms were spacious. Air conditioning system could not keep up with the heat. We had to request a room change because the room would not cool down despite keeping the ac running for hours. breakfast was awesome. I wish they would invest in some ceiling fans considering the hot humid climate. Would keep both the heat and mosquitos at bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster,co
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I just finished a 40 day European trip and one of our stops was Venice. I stayed in 10 different hotels and 5 were Best Westerns. Out of all the hotels this was the worst and out of all the BW this was the worst. I mean absolute worst experience all around.
First of all they screwed up my credit by trying to authorize my cards weeks before our stay. Second they weren't any help for us trying to get to the hotel from train station. They told me personally that they had a dock for boats and they do but what they didn't tell me that it cost 90 euro to stop on it. We ended up paying almost 100$ to take a taxi boat and then had to walk cause we couldn't dock at our hotel. Third there are two BW in that same square right near each other. We ended up going to wrong one of course and had to walk even further. Fourth and the best part once we finally showed up our greeting was exact quote "Hello do you have your credit card" no "how was the trip, did you find it ok", nothing remotely resembling customer service. Finally , after we got to our room it was tiny and boxy, the bed was terrible like most of Europe, A/C didn't work very well and the WIFI which I called about only worked in the very tiny lobby, where there were about 20 people all huddled over a tiny WIFI spot. The next morning was even less customer service than the night before.
If you go online you will find very nice pictures of the hotel and it is a very nice hotel run by very Bad people in my personal opinion. BW should ashamed to do business with those people, I was ashamed it was called BW. It is very convenient to the main square but that's about it. They showed me nothing that remotely interest me going back to Venice or that hotel. I'm sure many people love it, good for them, but have they stayed in 5 different BW on one trip on one vacation or ten hotels in 40 days, I have and I believe I have the travel experience to make these claims. Customer should always be number one in any country at any hotel wanting to be successful. I'm sure the staff are friendly and may even care but they definitely didn't show us any. I'm going to give some advise in every review from here on out till I see changes in the hotel industry.

Everyone should listen to this. First I don't care how much marble in the lobby you have or how many pieces of art hanging on the wall when travel people travel great distances usually. What people want business or pleasure is somewhere nice to sleep. Rest is a key element to any trip business or pleasure. So let's be smart and start with the bed. If they bed sucks then most likely the person won't get much sleep. Then there cranky then there day goes down hill. If the bed is awesome they'll wake up refreshed and probably in a good mood mostly likely to have good day. After that everything else is a bonus. My biggest complaint at most hotels are the beds are terrible. But most places put all the money into art or marble or stuff that the customer really doesn't even notice or care about. So if your reading this then please read carefully. Beds are the most important part of the room PERIOD. I know most won't agree and that's ok, most have never left there little world so it's ok.I do travel a lot though more than the average person. Thanks for taking time out to read my thoughts it means alot to me whether you agree or not.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

You will forgive any faults of the hotel if you are sleeping in Venice literally 25 steps away from San Marco square. The rooms in this hotel are very very small. bathrooms are also very small, lift is temperamental and slow.
Breakfast is good, WiFi is free but very slow. However, nothing beats walking out of the hotel late at night or early in the morning when the crowds of tourist have not arrived yet and having San Marco to yourself. It's worth it. Stay there if you can. You can enjoy big bedroom at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel early July. Check in was quick and efficient. Staff was polite but not too friendly.

We had two rooms which were both very small. In the one room the wifi worked but not in the other room.

Not a 4 star in my opinion and not worth using.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo

Address: Piazza San Marco 1107 | Calle del Cavalletto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.