We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and personal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Matir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Matir to your Saves list
Locanda Matir
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dorsoduro 3677 | Santa Margherita Square, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
“Good location and personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is very clean, location very good, in the center of historic town. Our room was nice with small but nice bathroom. After check-out we left our luggage there and picked them up befere leaving Venezia.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this B&B place for anyone looking for a comfort but not expensive B&B in Venice. We staied two nights (augustus 2014) in this hotel and we were very satisfied about price/quality. It's also neerby the garage where we left our car and we could walk to the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were staying one night in Venice and for that purpose Locanda Matir is perfect! Any longer might have been a problem.

We discovered that Locanda Matir was hidden in a court-yard, down an alley that had a sign only if you were approaching it from the canal and not from the square! We checked in semi-smoothly – the receptionist didn’t speak English and there was some miscommunication regarding dates of birth and passport numbers.

The rooms were up a steep flight of stairs, and ours was small and cramped. However, we weren’t planning on spending much time in it, so that was ok. The window looked out onto the street, but the neighboring building was very close so there was not much light coming in.

The room was clean, but the shower head didn't stay in place in its holder. The water was at least hot.

The bed was soft and not very comfortable.

Breakfast was extremely basic – and very sweet.

The one advantage for Locanda Matir was that they allowed us to check-in around 09h00, which was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Locanda Matir is a pretty decent choice if you're on a budget. Stayed only 1 night in January 2013 and it was just fine for spending the night: room was tiny but very clean, and once we figured out how the heating system worked, it was warm as well. Bonus points for the fridge and tea/coffee maker. Breakfast was included in the price and it was very very basic. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful but beware, they're only there a couple of hours a day, this is more of a self-service hotel. We could leave our luggage in the hall after checking out and the staff gave us a code to the door so we could come back for the bags later on - really appreciated that we didn't have to drag the luggage around but at the same time, leaving it out in the hallway didn't feel that safe though ... Would prefer it if someone from the staff was available throughout the day. Location is great - Campo Santa Margerita in Dorsoduro sestiere is fabulous but I suppose I'm a bit biased because I adore this part of Venice (10 min to Piazzale Roma or Piazza San Marco, lots of cafes around, great starting point for exploring the city ...).

Also, two very important things: this hotel has VERY steep stairs (and I mean very; I don't have problems with stairs in general - this is Venice, after all - but these were quite ... interesting) and it can be quite noisy.

All in all, this is a decent hotel though I prefer hotel Tivoli which is near by and offers better value for money (or at least it did back in 2011).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Horrible dirty small pokey rooms with dust and stains everywhere. A/c broken, fridge broken, shower broken, bed rubbish. Breakfast was a joke, toast and a drink, with a bowl of completely rotten fruit!

Worst of everything was the noise! Every night we were kept awake until 3 in the morning with drunk noises local student. Place is located right about busiest place in area and 100 plus people drunk in street etc. terrible. We had to change rooms three times Before giving up. Even with ear defenders in it was very bad. Ruined our trip and returned home exhausted. Owner did not really care about problem and gave priority to Italians. Stay awake from this place and don't male the same mistake we did. Very bad!! Feb 14

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We checked in on Feb. 3, and out at 6:45AM, Feb. 5.

Staff is off after 2PM, don't worry, she told you the code in order to open the door.

You have to be strong in order to climb the stairs.

I booked 2 triple rooms for whole 6 family members.

Nice bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Matir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Matir

Address: Dorsoduro 3677 | Santa Margherita Square, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Matir 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Matir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Matir Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Matir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.