We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri to your Saves list
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Larga San Marco 381, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Found this lovely little hotel at the lastminute after our flight out of Venice was cancelled. We wanted something close to San Marco as we had to catch the ferry to the airport early in the morning. We got a really good price for a suite which overlooked the street. It was a beautiful, big room with lovely antique furniture and chandeliers. The room was a bit noisy with the street below, but it was still such a treat and we had an excellent night's sleep. The bathroom looked a bit tired though, and could do with a revamp. The staff were friendly and efficient, but we were disappointed when we checked out early and they had forgotten to pack us a packed breakfast as they had suggested we do the night before, due to our early departure for the airport. All in all this was a lovely location and you really felt a part of the 'old Venice'.

Room Tip: It would probably be better to choose a room on the canal rather than the street as the street rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your nice review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri! We were particularly happy to read you enjoyed our very central location (we are literally less than 5 minutes walk from San Marco Square) and the bedroom 18th Century furnishing and the Murano glass chandelier. We were also pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and efficient. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    74
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
30
173
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

location is very good. paid very high price for the room. view was great from the room. for the amount of money paid the room was just ok but the wash room was very bad. the shower - small cubicle - have to watch every angle otherwise will hit your arm or head or just any part of the body. not for anyone more then 6' and 75kg or 40'' in waist. had to go to sister hotel for breakfast - nothing much.

Room Tip: dont no about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Mamager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you for leaving a review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri through Tripadvisor and for the time you took to write it. Guest's comments are vital, for us, since they are often a good feedback or a challenge to improve what we love to offer. We were particularly happy to read that you enjoyed our very central location. With reference to your bedroom, please note that if you are not happy, nor satisfied our Reception staff is at your full disposal and very happy to help you: perhaps another room would have been better, for you. Also, regarding breakfast you forgot to mention that we offer two choices: room service breakfast (at no extra cost!) or the buffet style breakfast on the second floor of our sister hotel, which is just in front of the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri. The choice, of course, is up to the guest. We remain at your total disposal and will be delighted to meet you again at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the hotel in the BA holidays sale. We were more than pleased when we arrived. Its in a fantastic location, just behind San Marco, and travellers will be pleased to know there are no bridges from the alilaguna stop to the hotel - so you can take wheeled suitcases and pushchairs with no problem. We usually stay in boutique hotels, so when we saw some of the reviews on here we were a bit worried. The hotel was really good - its decor is in a traditional style, so may look a bit dated to some. We had a lovely big room, which is great with a 3 year old. It was clean and the bathroom was large and clean. The only problem we had was with getting the water temperature to stay consistent. Occasionally it would go very hot, which isn't great with a little one, but we worked around it.
The staff were fantastic, and great with our daughter. The breakfasts in the sister hotel a few metres away were really good - again the staff were great.
All in all we had a fabulous time exploring, from a really good central base.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, I think they may be a bit bigger. We didn't have a view from our room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your nice review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri. And thank you that you took time to leave it on Tripadvisor! Gladly we read you appreciated our very central location (San Marco's Square is just at the end of the street, a very short 2 minutes walk!). We are happy you enjoyed the hotel typical venetina decor, the spaciousness of your bedroom and the cleanliness (we go very proud about it!). If setting the right temperature in your bedroom is difficult, our reception desk stays at your disposal to help you by sending a porter or our maintenance to your bedroom. Our staff and I are very much looking forward to welcoming you again, perhaps soon, at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked the hotel through a package and therefore we were a little concerned as to what we would get.
However, we were very impressed and satisfied. The location of the hotel is flawless - Piazza San Marco is less than 1' away - any closer and you'd be living in the actual Basilica! Ponte di Rialto and Canal Grande are not more than 10' away. Plenty of local restaurants on its doorstep but also very close to more low-key (and less expensive) restaurants as well as take-away shops, if you head towards Cannaregio.
The room was beautiful, very spacious, rather lush and very clean. It overlooked one of the canals, offering some excellent views of the gondolas passing by as well as the building around, without feeling claustrophobic.

The main advantage of the hotel for us was the service received. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. All reception staff were keen to answer any questions we had and help us plan everything we asked, from where to eat to what to visit. The only contrast appeared to be a lady at breakfast, who seemed annoyed at everyone being in the room and wanting to have breakfast! However, the politeness and courtesy of the other staff made that the exception, and a rather comical one at that.
Overall, we would certainly recommend the hotel, as it offered a great location, at reasonable price, very polite and helpful staff without any serious issues at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all we would like to thank you that you took time to write such a nice review about our estabilshment in Tripadvisor.it. Booking a package does not mean you get a second class service and treatment: we are a 4 star hotel and all of our rooms are very, very nice. For us all guests are very, very important and we like to welcome them the best way we can. We were quite happy to read that you enjoyed our very central location (yes, Piazza San Marco is one stone's throw from our hotel). Being the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri so central, plenty of restaurants and bars are within a very short walking distance. Uur Concierge can suggest you some very good places, off the beaten tracks and stays always at your full disposal for any request you may have. We sincerely hope to welcome you again to our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel has a very good location, near the Piaza San Marco, one of the main attractions in Venice, but the room seemed not to have been cleaned for days, was dusty and kind of dirty. The tub did not work, it was hard to have hot water. At the reception, they offered a free boat trip to Murano - ONE WAY! We figured out when we arrived there.. luckily, we had lunch at an awesome place at Murano (not so expensive like all the other places in Venice) and returned to Venice in a 40' trip by Vaporeto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
we would like to thank you for your review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri that you made through Tripadvisor.it. We are sorry that you did not like the room and found it dusty: we are actually quite amazed, since we clean all the rooms every day and you seem to be the first guest who complains about it. Of course we are going to report your comment to the Head Chambermaid. In any case, should you have any problem with your bedroom, do not forget to contact our Front Desk at once, so that we can show you a different room or sort the problem out the soonest (this, of course, goes for the bath-tub and the hot water as well!). If you are not happy with our service or our staff, our Front Desk Manager is at your full disposal and very glad to hear what you have to say, taking good notes about the guest's comments. We hope to have the great pleasure of welcoming you again to our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a magnificent hotel with a friendly and extremely helpful staff. We stayed here for two nights in December of 2012 for our honeymoon. We took the water bus from the airport to St. Marks Square and had a short walk to the hotel. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet (at close sister hotel) and the complimentary boat tour to Murano (you have to pay for transportation back, cost not too much). The hotel did double book us but they resolve it without being a big deal. We had a junior suite overlooking the shops below but it wasn't too noisy at night. The porter pointed out the Murano chandelier in our room and the period furnishings. The room was spacious and the hotel is right next to the canal and the Bridge of Sighs. If you are visiting Venice this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
it's a pleasure to read such a nice review which is an excellent feeback to our job.
Guest's satisfaction means a major priority to us and we trust to welcome you again in Venice.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights here during carnival. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is charming and in a brilliant location, central yet tucked away and quiet. The room was magnificent, the decor traditionally Venetian with a wonderful Murano glass chandelier, very impressive! We had breakfast served in our room and loved it, the food was fresh and tasty, and lots of it. Just as good as the location was the attitude of the staff, particularly the duty manager who went above and beyond the call of duty to help us with various issues, even organising the retrieval of a purchase that had been left in a shop on Murano island, and having it delivered to the hotel, at no extra cost! We loved having breakfast looking out at the Bridge of Sighs and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to visitors to Venice. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
first of all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a nice review about our Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri! We admit we like our venetian style bedrooms with the Murano glass chadelier as well: a very few of them overlook the canal of the Canonica, the Bridge of Sighs and the gondolas sailing by. The location, as you said, is very central: we are just one stone's throw from San Marco Square and the cathedral. We were mostly pleased to read that you appreciated our staff, who is always very helpful. And room-service breakfast at no extra charge, of course! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, soon in Venice. at the Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri

Address: Calle Larga San Marco 381, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Dei Sospiri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.