We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonvecchiati Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bonvecchiati Hotel to your Saves list
Bonvecchiati Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, Calle Goldoni 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 384 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A room with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is a very well looked after and maintained hotel.
Friendly service. I had a minor issue with the room safe (my fault). The lady came up personally from reception and sorted it straight away.

The room was a good size with a reasonable size bathroom.
The view was stunning. Looking over the narrow lanes.

On arrival to the room, I expected by evening, it would be noisy outside as we were in the heart of it all.

Turns out that things tend to quieten down by about 2230-2300.

St Marks Square is a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 405 is the on the top floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    326
    114
    75
    36
See reviews for
117
435
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Perfectly acceptable hotel in a good location.

We stayed for three nights in an upgraded superior room. No view, but tastfully decorated and clean. The room was plenty big enough for three of us and had a large bathroom. Okay, only one of the two sinks drained, and the TV reception was unstable, but please don't visit Venice to stay in a hotel room and watch TV.

The staff were helpful in their typically dismissive way and a few were genuine friendly personalities. English was universally spoken and the hotel seemed popular with American guests.

Claustrophobic visitors will need take the stairs as this hotel features the smallest public elevator I've ever been in!

The restaurant / breakfast room is an elegant partially open terrace and a pleasant place to be although the odd bird raider will enliven you breakfast. It is a shame that the hotel lacks a proper bar area other than a few tables at one end of the terrace, but there are plenty of other places nearby.

This hotel is in an excellent location once you learn to navigate around Venice’s maze of streets. Do not count on arriving by water taxi just next to the hotel, whilst we were there access and water problems meant everyone had to arrive and depart via the Grand Canal - it's not far.

A clean, comfortable hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed out stay at this hotel. The staff were helpful, attentive and concerned with your well being. All of the flavor of Venice was apparent in this location with the main entry being on a busy corridor an the dining room on a canal, very picturesque. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

hi anna we miss your mojito and amaretto sours, even though we had a bad experience with the hotel, you were amazing with us, we spent a wonderful evening with you .
you've been very kind and gracious with us and you are very good barlady .. we miss you a lot. please come visit us

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just spent 4 disappointing nights in Venice at the Bonvecchiati Hotel. Four years ago I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and I had a wonderful experience. Based on this I booked again expecting the same quality of accommodation and service. Unfortunately this did not happen.
First of all we were shown to a room 5 minutes up the street away from the hotel. The room had none of the Venetian decor that I had seen in the hotel. I refused this room and was tehn shown another in the attic, once again we refused. The third room was nicely decorated but it did not have a functional shower. The next day they moved us to a room the size of a shoebox and after complaining again we spent the last two nights in a bigger room with a handshower and a tub. Another negative was the apalling breakfast. Tasteless food and you have to pay for wifi. So I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask well in advance for the kind of room you want but quite honestly I wouldnt bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Location great - only a few minutes walk from St Mark's Square. Also clean. However, room maintenance was unfortunately not good. We paid for an upgraded room, and the maintenance in the room was not good - especially for an upgraded room. We did speak to the front desk about it (they were nice), but it was never fixed properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went for the €10 buffet breakfast. Inedible. Juice should be cool but was warm. Bacon should be hot but was cold. Bread was hard. Unfortunately I could go on. . For our €40 we were a very disappointed family. We did not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonvecchiati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonvecchiati Hotel

Address: San Marco, Calle Goldoni 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#144 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonvecchiati Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Bonvecchiati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonvecchiati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.