We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonvecchiati Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bonvecchiati Hotel to your Saves list
Bonvecchiati Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, Calle Goldoni 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 383 Hotels in Venice
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from the Venice Carnivale having stayed at the Hotel Bonvecchiati - a wonderful hotel, very welcoming and the staff couldn't do enough for us - will definitely stay there again. A very generous breakfast, elegant rooms, and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    290
    103
    74
    35
See reviews for
111
389
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner booked a break for us for my birthday as surprise so for once I didn't get to pick where we were going. Having found out we were going to Venice I was extremely excited as its always been somewhere I have wanted to go. We had an afternoon flight landed at 6pm and it was already dark so couldn't really see a lot. Luckily we had some help from a fellow traveller on how to book the water taxi, we had a 7 min walk from the airport to find our ride and then it took 1hr15mins to get to our hotel which was in the hussle and bustle part of San Marco, it was really easy to find out hotel once we got dropped off and took about 5mins you literally walk thru side streets which have shops bars restaurants and its like a maze I've never actually enjoyed getting lost but this I didn't mid at all ..... All I can say about the hotel was it was decorated how you would expect with a bit of renaissance the problem wasn't how it looked but how small the room we had was, you had to turn on your side to get down the side of the bed and it was hot all the time but the only way to cool the room was to open the shutters and this just made the room too cold, the bathroom was exactly the same and if you we're on the large side you wouldn't be able to get in it never mind get out of it We've been to a few hotels and have got to say this is the smallest one we have stayed in, but on the plus side breakfast was ok enough choice but if you got there at the wrong time then there was not enough tables to accommodate smaller parties, the staff well some of them were friendly others just miserable both my partner and I work in retail and love working with people maybe a few of these workers at this hotel could do a course in the English way of dealing with the customers,
Venice is the most amazing beautiful city that I've ever seen we had the best break an its truly a very romantic place to be with the one that you love, would I return to this hotel prob not, to be fair I would try their sister hotel looked a little more like our style, We definitely will at some point return to Venice it's now my no 1 destination...... Tip ... Haggle for your gondola but whatever you pay it's worth every penny ....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was worried about having a room in the annex; no need. It was large with two balconies overlooking a canal. Nothing but the sounds of the gondolas passing and every amenity one could want in a well-appointed room.
The dining room is remarkable with Murano chandeliers, food is notably good. The precision of the staff at breakfast left no serving dish unfilled, no table marred with even one errant crumb. Their work was impressive, as was all the staff courteous, professional and personable. Front desk personnel were impeccable.
Bonvecchiati is not to be missed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I lead tours to Europe. This tour we took 15 guests to this fantastic hotel. It couldn't have been better placed. Situated on the main route - this brilliant hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Rialto and in the other direction - only a few minutes walk to St Marks Square.
Because we were with a group - we were able to see many of the rooms. Every one was beautifully appointed. The room size is excellent as are the fittings and bathrooms. Ours had an office facility in the room. Two wardrobes, comfortable chairs and a table. The breakfast room is very elegant and an experience. As is the breakfast itself. There are several stations offering numerous breakfast styles. The choice was endless and the service was always impeccable. There is a wet door in this hotel which means you can take a water taxi ride to the hotel door if you wish. This is a wonderful way of finishing a magical evening out. We took our group (all in venetian masks) across the lagoon in private water taxis to Burano where our restaurant Gato Nero awaited us. What a fantastic evening and a highlight as we crossed the lagoon just as the sun was going down. The restaurant is a must. This is the second time we have taken a group there. The our water taxi dropped us right in front of the restaurant. cocktails awaited us and to follow we had several courses of local cuisine. 5 stars to this restaurant too. The evening ended with out private water taxi ride home (organized by the helpful restaurant) - after a beautiful ride along the Grand Canale in the magical light of the Venice evening. We of course were delivered to the Bonvecchiati Hotel 'wet door"! Superb!
I would recommend this hotel and restaurant wholeheartedly. Our entire group of 15 voted this to be the best hotel of the tour.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were initially given room 201, which was located directly next to the cleaners closet and the closest room to the lifts and stairs. That morning, instead of being woken up by the charms of Venice, we were woken by clatter and banter between the cleaning staff which obviously wasn't the greatest start to the day.

Once we reported this to the manager, we were given another room further away from the "action" within minutes. The hotel is in a wonderful location and the comfort of the hotel is great value. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel, just don't put up with staying next to the cleaners closet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Bonvecchiati Hotel. We were 2 couples celebrating my Sister and her Husbands 40th Wedding Anniversary and on our first evening in the hotel was greeted with a delivery to our rooms of a bottle of Prosecco each on ice with champagne flutes. This was a lovely touch and greatly appreciated. The hotel was very clean, nice sized rooms with well appointed bathrooms. The weather was not the best on one evening and we were offered large umbrellas when going out for our evening meal, this was a god send. The staff were very smart and very helpful at all times. They assisted my Sister when she changed some money at the local outlet and was overcharged. The staff worked out the exchange rate and told them to go back which they did and everything was sorted out. We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it highly. The location is fabulous as you are literally 3 minutes away from St Marks Square and 5 mins from the Rialto Bridge. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel and we will see you next time we are in Venice.

Room Tip: We were in 104 and sister is 106, both standard rooms on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonvecchiati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonvecchiati Hotel

Address: San Marco, Calle Goldoni 4488, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonvecchiati Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bonvecchiati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonvecchiati Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonvecchiati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.