We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Bembo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Bembo to your Saves list
Palazzo Bembo
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Riva del Carbon, 4793 - 4785, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #49 of 436 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not quite ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This authentic Venetian palazzo has all the trimmings but it doesn't quite come together. It features traditional furnishings, fabric covered walls, and spacious rooms. However, it doesn't quite deliver that quaint, authentic, or luxurious feel that you would expect from this kind of bed and breakfast. It's on the third floor and there is no real reception or welcoming area, just a man sitting behind a counter. On the ground floor there is a sign next to a rubbish bin and a totally undecorated entry area. They were restoring some of the building when we arrived (not part of the hotel) so there was noise in the morning and scaffolding on the building. I was hoping to feel like I was stating in a real Venetian palazzo and while this place came very close, it felt more like a tired B&B. My advice would be to pay a little more and get the full experience.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
67
96
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

This historic hotel has a great location just by the Rialto bridge. The building is very old and the all the floors are very skewed, and the bathrooms a bit worn, but being in Venice its on the charming side. Very helpful and friendly staff that recommended restaurants more off the beaten track. It was a bit confusing to find as there is no sign or reception before you reach the 4th floor. Elevator that takes you there is up the stairs and to the right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

In January 2015 we spent 4 nights at the Palazzo Bembo, which only steps away from the famous Rialto Bridge is in a central location and within walking distance to pretty much anything you must see in Venice. We've enjoyed our stay in this old building and it felt more like being a guest at someone's house. Well there are only 5 rooms and we had booked 4 of them! The most negative I will share with you is that the bed was one of the hardest things I've ever slept in and didn't make for much relaxation and the wifi was very hard to stay connected to while sitting on the bed (having to go back to the door to catch it is annoying in this day and age!). The entrance from the "street/canal" is not your typical hotel entrance and you might miss it or if you don't, find yourself in a dark staircase not really knowing where to go...But all of this adds to the charm of a historical palazzo build on the canale grande I'd say and we did have everything we needed, a clean room and a decent breakfast... and a fantastic spot from where to start exploring one of Europe's most amazing cities by foot!!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose the suite with room onto the Rialto Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Location location location. We stayed in a junior suite with view over the Rialto bridge ...amazing!! The only disappointing thing was that the bathroom came with shower rather than a bath tub...we were looking forward to have a nice bath! Never the less we had a great experience. Apparently only one of the room comes with bath! The bed was super comfortable and the floor was sloping wich add caracter to the room. We were glad for taking the front room since the side of the building had a scaffolding on.
The breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of food served by a lovely lady.
Also the package we booked had included a bottle of Italian sparkling wine that we had to ask for since no provided on arrival. So be aware of that! The only reason why I am giving a 4 star rather than 5 stars is becouse we were asked to do the checkout and pay 24 hours before we actually left and considering we only stayed 2 days I thought that it wasnt appropriate. I do work in hotel my self and I found it very strange this early check out procedure.we had to leave the day after only around 9 am so there was no reasons why we couldn't pay then. This didnt spoil our stay however I am not sure I would like to comeback in a place where I am treated like somebody that would run without paying!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We didn't fancy the water taxis in Venice so we walked around everywhere and my only real downside to this hotel is that, by foot, it was a little hard to find, but once you spot it, you're golden. It's in a good location and nothing is too far away.

The building is incredibly old so don't expect modern furnishings; it's old school and charming with uneven floors and kind of 'padded walls'. But it looks really nice and you kind of get in the right 'feel' for Venice! The entrance worried us a bit as it looks like an abandoned building site but I guess they are doing the place up- there was just an A4 print out with the hotel name on! But go to the hotel section and all becomes clear.

There was a heated aircon for those colder nights, a comfortable bed, a sofa type thing, loads of wardrobe space and a tv. There was scaffolding right outside our window, so the view was pretty much obscured and there will be some noise from the building works. We arrived on Friday afternoon and only heard banging (although it was quite loud) for a few hours, then it stopped for the weekend. We left on Sunday, so I'm not sure what time it might start in the mornings- if you're a light sleeper, definitely something to check before booking, but otherwise the rooms were very nice.

We found the breakfast a little lack lustre but as it's such a small place, they can't really cater hugely, in case no one turns up! They had cereals, bread, jams and a few pastries though, so you'd definitely find something to fill you up.

The internet in the room was free and of a good speed so we were able to stream videos and work as normal.

The staff at this hotel were outstanding, incredibly friendly, helpful and warm. Cannot speak more highly of them. This is definitely a hotel I would recommend to anyone staying in Venice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Step off water taxi straight into Palazzo Bembo and five hundred years of history. It has a wonderful atmosphere and is one of the most characterfull hotels I have every stayed in. You don't miss out on modern conveniences ether with wifi, TV, and minibar in your room. The staff are very helpful happy to arrange resturant bookings etc. I will remember my stay for a very long time.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms all good but one has view of grand canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This hotel was perfectly located on the Grand Canal at the water taxi. So centrally located. When you arrive you are greeted by Italian staff that are so welcoming and accommodating and know the ins and outs of Venice. It was wonderful staying in a place so full of history. The staff had fantastic recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The room was really lovely and we loved the architectural details of the palazzo. It was really lovely having breakfast and drinks in the lounge area withe the view of the Grand Canal. Great photo spot! Cannot image staying anywhere else in Venice. Sometimes you could hear even the singer on a gondolier as they passed by.

Room Tip: While the rooms in front overlook the Grand Canal, you lose privacy with the lounge being outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Bembo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bembo

Address: Riva del Carbon, 4793 - 4785, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Bembo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Bembo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bembo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Bembo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.