We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Peace At the Top of the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Bembo

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Bembo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Bembo
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Riva del Carbon, 4793 - 4785, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 420 Venice B&B and Inns
woodstock new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Luxury and Peace At the Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while my wife exhibited her work at the Palazzo Bembo Galleries below. Beautiful, large room, charming breakfast room/lounge, excellent views below, lovely breakfast, and best of all attentive, caring reception, Matteo, Marco, and Luca. A memorable stay at a really nice place. Quiet, peaceful, and luxurious. You get your own key to the front gate, the hotel entrance on the 3rd floor, and the door of your room, because from 10 PM until 8 the next morning, there is no one at the reception. A five star stay at a great place.

Room Tip: Rooms on Grand Canal are probably the best, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    43
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
61
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you want to stay in Venice and have a great view of the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from your room and not pay your whole life's savings, then this is definitly the place !!! I loved staying here. It is a great location with the Rialto Line stops just outside of the door (water taxi stations). The service is fantastic ! The host was so professional, helpfull and polite. The breakfast was one of the best of our entire trip. The room is WOW WOW WOW, The decor and furniture is typically styled Venetian. You can actually see in the room and in the dining room how skew everything is with the water levels - it's amazing ! We stayed in the Grand Canal Room for 3 adults.

Room Tip: Choose the Grand Canal Room - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is perfect - just a few steps away from the Rialto Bridge. I'm sure that others will comment on the great location of this hotel, the complimentary breakfast (complete with cappucino, espresso, etc. made to order) but I'd like to compliment the staff on their above-and-beyond service.

Our bags were lost in transit, so we arrived at Palazzo Bembo with nothing but the clothes on our backs and a few items from our carry-ons. The gentlemen staffing the front desk were extremely helpful, calling the airport and checking on our bags, texting/emailing us while we were out and about in Venice to give us updates, even staying late into their scheduled off time to wait for a call from the airline to confirm the status of our luggage.

We'd like to especially commend Mr. Marco and Mr. Matteo for their exceptional service. They helped to rescue our Italian vacation.

You owe it to yourself to book a room at Palazzo Bembo if you are going to be staying in Venice.

Room Tip: We had room 105 - more affordable than a room overlooking the grand canal, but still quiet and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just book it ... you will not be disappointed. Splash out for the Grand Canal view room its worth it.

Staff were very helpful with showing us where to go and not to go ... based on what kind of Venice experience you are after.
They also booked us our 3am morning water taxi transfer to the airport.

Recommend this place to anyone who is after a truely Venice Hotel experience cant beat the Grand Canal location. I wish id come here for my honeymoon.

Room Tip: grand canel view - only here once
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was not disappointed in my expectations that this would be a memorable place to stay on a recent trip to Venice. This bed and breakfast is discreetly hidden away on the top floor of an iconic palazzo on the Grand Canal, just a stone's throw from the Rialto bridge and a short walk to the Piazza San Marco. I booked for 2 nights, and was offered an upgrade to a junior suite for the second night, so can tell you that both of the rooms I stayed in were well appointed with beautiful furniture and walls upholstered in traditional brocade fabrics, as well as murano glass chandeliers. The reception was warm, and everyone we met who works at the hotel was friendly and more than helpful. The breakfast consisted of fresh pastries, coffee, choice of juices, yoghurts, sliced meats and cheeses, etc. .... what one would expect in Europe. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and modern. Wi-fi is free -- an added bonus. Our room also had a flat screen TV (but really, who comes to Venice to watch TV?), safe and fridge. A nice bottle of prosecco was waiting in our room on our arrival, which was a nice touch.

The hotel does have a few quirks, which we found charming and that added to my appreciation of this cool old palace. However, if your tolerance to travel is low and you really wish you were back on familiar ground, you should be aware of a few things before booking. When you enter the palazzo, you find yourself in an empty lobby and have to traverse it and go up a few stairs before you find the elevator. If you arrive by gondola, there is a water entrance, but you have to climb stairs once inside. The elevator is adequate but small (after all, they didn't exist when this place was built) and brings you to the floor below the hotel entrance. So either way, you have a short flight of stairs. The floors are not level, but are original, which I adored. If you have trouble with your balance, this might be a factor. There is no sign on the outer door to indicate that there is a hotel inside...so know what the building looks like before setting out (although it's just 2 buildings down from the vaporetto stop, so it's hard to miss)

On the other hand, the location, just a 5-minute walk from St Mark's square and 100 metres from the Rialto bridge, can't be beat. Combined with the excellent staff, I think this one's a winner.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the Grand Canal are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

hi I have just returned from Venice stayed in the palazzo bembo for seven night great little hotel staff were lovely and very pleasant room was spotless clean the heating in the hotel was fantastic loads of hot water for the shower have stayed in many hotels were the water was just Luke warm breakfast in the morning was also good cheese ham lovely bread and lovely cake I know we don't eat a lot of cake for breakfast in Ireland but when your on holiday it is nice to enjoy another way of life if I go back to Venice this is the hotel I will be booking

Room Tip: we had room 102 and I was very happy with this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent romantic hotel located just past the Rialto bridge. Location is excellent as you are right on the Grand Canal with excellent views from the breakfast room. Also, you are 10 meters from the water bus stop, which is very convenient as you do not have to go up and down steps as is common with many hotels. You do need to carry your bags up half a flight of stairs to get to the elevator. The hotel was a short walk to San Marco - we recommend using the western signed route as it is less busy and more interesting than the main route between Rialto and San Marco. The continental breakfast was of good quality. This hotel delivers the experience promised on its website.

Room Tip: We booked a double room with a side canal view. You could see a small section of the Grand Canal bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Bembo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bembo

Address: Riva del Carbon, 4793 - 4785, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 420 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Bembo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Bembo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bembo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Bembo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.