We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Ghetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda del Ghetto to your Saves list
Locanda del Ghetto
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cannaregio 2892-2893, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
new york, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stayed at Locando del Ghetto over a weekend. It is located in the courtyard of what was the Jewish ghetto. The neighborhood itself is quiet and residential, unlike most of Venice which seems to have become a Disneyland shopping mall. (Don't get me wrong--Venice is still one of the most beautiful cities in the world). Although a bit off the beaten track, the hotel is a short walk to all the main attractions and is about a 5 minute walk from the train station. There is also a water taxi stop about 2 minutes away. The hotel itself is small, but lovely. Our room was clean, well appointed, and overlooked a canal, and the bathroom was very large by European standards. The breakfast was adequate. By Venice standards, the rate was reasonable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I loved staying at this small hotel. It was a little hard to find at first but that is part of its charm. The room was a good size and very clean. The breakfast is very, very basic but ok for us. The staff was very friendly. It is not very central but it is very quiet. The vaporetto is not very far, just a short walk. The good thing is that it is not far from the train station which is what we were looking for. We are going back in March of next year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Wonderful Room
  • Disliked — Bit hard to find
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed at the Locanda del Ghetto for 2 nights Dec 31st 2006. It isn't quite as central as I thought - but being away from the main tourist attractions ( only about 20 mins walk though - or a quick trip on the waterbus) makes you explore the quieter corners of Venice. We had the junior suite with its dear little terrace overlooking the square. Room was lovely, service was good. Breakfast was ok, crosissant, rolls & fantastic coffee!
If you stay here please try the restaurant Antica Mola. 5 mins from the hotel - just over the bridge. Fantastic food - great atmosphere & it won't break the bank. 3 courses, 2 bottles of red wine & coffee - All for 66 euros!
Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Room was lovely
  • Disliked — Check out was a little early
  • Tips/Secrets — Restaurant nearby
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

Stayed here for two nights in December. A wonderful hotel- very centrally located- about a 2 minute walk to the vaparetto stop- and from there you can go anywhere. 20 minute walk to St. Marks. Room was very nice and good size. Bathroom was great. Internet available for a charge. They serve a small continental breakfast- but it was satisfying. Gentleman at the desk during the day (I think he was the owner) was very friendly and helpful. Night guy was ok- he did not speak English. All in all- I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel on October of 2006. We booked the suite and our friends booked a superior room. I had stayed in Venice before at a much more expensive hotel and it was horrid. When I found Locanda del Ghetto I was impressed. First and foremost it is extremely close to the train station so you do not have to lug your luggage all over Venice. Second it is located in a very quite neighborhood and it makes for a very peaceful night. Finally the hotel and the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean. The bathrooms are large and it reminded me of a great hotel room in the states. We highly recommend for you to stay there. The difference between the suite and a deluxe room is just 5 Euros, but you get a very cute balcony with the suite, definitely worth the 5 Euros. Great for having breakfast or drinking wine there. I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there. The staff is kind of dry, but friendly enough.

  • Liked — The rooms were the best I have seen in Venice, for the price.
  • Disliked — The reception staff. They were not that friendly.
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay the 5 Euro difference for the suite, the balcony is well worth it.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

We stayed at the Locanda del Ghetto in early November of 05 for a couple nights and had a great time. Rooms are good sized (for Europe standards) and spotlessly clean. Bathroom larger than most hotels we stayed at and like the room, extremely clean. Small TV, small mini-fridge and safe are in the rooms for guest use. The hotel has rooms that either looks out over the courtyard in the front, or over look a small canal on the backside. We chose the canal because, well.............it's Venice! Not much to see besides the canal, but relaxing and peaceful. They have a nice breakfast that consists of bread, rolls and juices/coffee. If you need anything else, just ask and they will try to help you as best they can. The staff was nice and helpful. Before we arrived, we asked for directions to the hotel from the train station and via e-mail they gave very specific and easy to follow directions. While there they also assisted us with lots of local information and helped us with train information for our continued journey down to Florence.

The location is out of the high traffic touristy areas, but still only a very short walk from everything. Small streets, canals and bridges surround this area and there are many places to enjoy a quiet meal or drinks off of the main streets.

As my review states, we had a great time at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet Venice area hotel that is close to everything! The price and location are perfect for what the hotel and staff provide.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

We have just returned from a 4-day stay at the Locanda Del Ghetto. The hotel is lovely and very comfortable, excellent in every way. We had reserved the junior suite which looks out in the courtyard. This hotel is located in a peacefull square, away from the hustle. Breakfast is served in a bright room and consists of fresh croissants, jam and coffee (very good). I recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Ghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Ghetto

Address: Cannaregio 2892-2893, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Ghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda del Ghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Ghetto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Ghetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.