We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great part of Venice to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannaregio

Cannaregio
Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 197 Attractions in Venice
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rival to Castello for bragging rights as the largest of Venice's six sestieri (boroughs).
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great part of Venice to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This area is only a short walk from the Rialto yet is quiet and friendly. We stayed in a B&B here and found it a perfect part to wander around at night, with several much more reasonable eateries filled with Venetians rather than tourists.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    374
    43
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our favorite area for local Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We walked around Venice quite a bit and really enjoyed the Cannaregio area. Even though its very had to entirely get away from tourists in Venice, we felt like this area was more local then the center.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Venice-First-Timers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our hotel was in this region ( Boscolo dei Dogi) and we consider ourselves very fortunate in having booked to stay in such a wonderful part of Venice.....totally unspoilt, quiet, relaxing and a great introduction to this marvellous city. We stayed just along the canal from the church called Maria del Orta, a beautiful church with some wonderful paintings bt Tintoretto. Just 2.5 euros to enter, and well worth the visit. The Jewish Ghetto is also very close to this, but in the opposite direction. We would return to this area and stay without a doubt, and if you are able to walk, it takes only about 30-40 minutes to find your way to St Marks Square or the Rialto area.Several nice little cafe,s for morning coffee or early evening prosecco are also to be found...give them a try!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

No tour groups here! A real surprise, great to wander the streets and mingle with the locals. Jewish Ghetto worth a visit. Many non touristy shops to browse

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Esacape the touristy bits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Cannaregio seems to be inhabited more by locals than tourists, our apartment was at the side of a small canal near a local co-op and wine shop perfect for shopping.We love having the chance to sit in a cafe and listen to people talking and going about their daily routine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannaregio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cannaregio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannaregio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.