We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography

Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography
Cannaregio 2086/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
+39 339 4588166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 125 Activities in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combine exploring Venice on and off the beaten path with getting a private photography workshop tailored to your interests. Guided by a professional travel photographer you will learn to capture pro-like images, from postcard shots to daily life, as well as how to get most out of your camera. Take your photography skills to the next level while discovering the beauty of Venice through the lens, visit hot-spots as well as remote Venice of Venetians, learn about history as well as about modern life in town.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

About 12 hours before heading to the airport for Italy, I discovered that I had an open day in Venice and thought about booking a photo tour. Despite the time difference, I was able to quickly make arrangements with Arved and finalize the details via e-mail.

Our tour was supposed to start at St. Mark's but we got their late. Big mistake to take Vaporetto! Talk about the slow boat to San Marco. Anyways, we were able to meet up later in the morning and were off on our adventure. Arved took us on a walking tour throughout Venice. Along our journey, he offered some exercises and tips on how to best capture the beauty and character of Venice. For example, he had us shoot directly into the sun, which I would never ordinarily do. But, by adjusting the exposure compensation, we got some nice silhouettes. After each exercise, Arved would review and critique our photos (thanks for digital photography!) as well as let us see how he captured the scene. It's not snap a pic and I'm done, but a constant iterative process to see if we could adjust the aperture, point of view, or exposure to take an even better photo.

Our tour ended at San Marco, where the sunset was absolutely glorious. For a guided tour of Venice with valuable photography instruction, Arved was awesome. An enthusiastic A+ experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A must do if you want to improve your photography and see the sights of Venice from angles you would never find yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Arved is charming and a good teacher by the end of the morning I was using manual settings and thinking about exposure you also get to see and photograph venice from some great locations a fantastic morning

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ARVED - BEST PHOTO TOUR EVER !!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are from the US and we recently went to Venice. We decided to book a photo tour to get the most out of our 3 day stay...If you go to Venice and you are looking to book a photo tour. You absolutely must book Arved. He is so very nice - incredibly knowledgeable about Venice and an amazing photographer. He takes his time with you - he offers you pointers (we learned so much) and he takes you places that are off the beaten path so that you can really see and know Venice. And all along the way he shares all of his knowledge about Venice with you. Arved is one amazing guy - one amazing tour guide and now one amazing friend! Out of 10 stars - we give Arved's Tour 12 stars! Kathy & James

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come rain, shine or flood, it is a definite must-do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My cousin and I were in Venice late Oct and we ran right smack into aqua alta – the high tide flash floods that occurs regularly during this season. During our 3-hour photo walk on 28th morning with Arved, it was water almost everywhere. It was extremely helpful of Arved to inform us the day before through email about the weather conditions as we reached town, and he advised us to go buy a pair of high rubber boots for the walk, for which we were extremely thankful. Wading through flood waters in Venice in rubber boots was incredibly fun! Besides pointing out angles to shoot the flooding scenes of the moment, Arved led us through alleyways, revealing quiet corners and pointing out interesting decorative details for us to capture. It was a wholly enjoyable and rewarding experience, though we were just using point and shoot cameras. Photography tips he shared were very much appreciated and got us thinking more about what goes into a picture. Thanks Arved.
--hsiangyu, Singapore

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvedGintenreiter, Owner at Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Can give that right back: thank YOU!! Arved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved our afternoon with Arved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

So glad we signed up for an afternoon of wandering Venice with Arved. He was very friendly and we could tell he enjoyed sharing his city with us. He made sure we were getting what we wanted out of the tour - even his favorite gelato place, giving us photography pointers, and sharing his knowledge about Venice. He even emailed us an answer to a question we had about a gondola within a day. I would highly recommend going on Arved's tour and can't wait to return again one day!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvedGintenreiter, Owner at Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! You are very welcome to return anytime, let me know :) Yours, Arved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Photo Tours with Arved Gintenreiter Photography, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.