We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lux to your Saves list
Hotel Lux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 383 Hotels in Venice
1 review
“Not the best place to stay for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights but did not enjoy much. The hotel was very small, no elevator and narrow corridors. The receptionist was quite nice but the waitress had some attitude. Breakfast was served (one small croissant each). The Filipino receptionist on night shift was very nice and accommodating.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    94
    88
    51
    61
See reviews for
63
149
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friend and I were delighted when we entered our room - it was luxuriantly decorated in what we came to understand as the Venetian style, with brocade fabric on the walls, and it had bedside lights bright enough to read by; there was, joy of joys, an actual bath, not just a shower; also a fridge and a safe. It was not cramped, everything was perfectly clean and the room was mercifully warm after the cold and damp outside. The breakfast was also good, my only slight disappointment being the tinned fruit salad. Each morning there were fresh pastry 'croissants' and a wide range of other items.

We enjoyed our stay there in all respects.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, it has an excellent location, very close to piazza san marco just 2 mins away, the staff are friendly.

Our bedroom was basic but ok & it was kept clean & the towels were changed daily, it is a very simple room but comfortable. The breakfast was basic & I mean basic.

Other than that If you are in Venice for a couple of nights then it's worth the money to be in the thrust of things, but not good for a long stay, Very close to great food the fish restaurant next door is a must Luca is a great host.

And one other thing this hotel is easy to find.

Room Tip: Very easy to get around and get back this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel was in a very good location, But, that was about it. All the rooms are starting on 2nd floor, which they call 1st floor. I think this is due to flooding. There is No elevator or a bell man to haul the suitcases. The room and bed was clean, but has some age on it. You do get first two hours of free wifi, and mini fridge prices are good. If you are in Venice for a night or two it's worth the money to be in the midst of things, but not great for much longer. Could use a over haul. Very close to great food and sites, though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel, it has a excellent location, very close to piazza san marco, the staff is very friendly! Our bedroom had a lovely balcony, it is a very comfortable bedroom, all we needed! Hotels in Venice are very expensive, so the price quality was very good! The breakfast was far from good, but enough!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at The Lux hotel for two nights on 26th October. After reading the reviews I was worried about staying here. Although it was only a few minutes walk from the water taxi, we walked straight passed the street where the hotel was located and it took us an hour to locate it!
We arrived at the hotel and were told we had to pay a city tax of 3 euros per person, per night. The holiday company failed to mention this! We were told our room was in another building and the receptionist showed us to our room, on the third floor. Yes, there were many steps but not as many as I expected after reading various reviews. The room was small and very Venitian! To be honest it was a bit "Shabby Chic" but on the plus side, it was clean, the beds were very comfy and there was plenty of hot water. The location of the Hotel Lux is perfect, a few minutes walk to St Marks square and amenities. A down side of our stay was that the room was very warm and we slept with the windows open. Unfortunately this meant we were eaten alive by Mosquitos! We didn't expect to be bitten at this time of year so make sure you take repellent on your travels.We didnt have breakfast as we didnt want to waste any time in Venice but the couple in the next room said it was ok.
We had an amazing time in Venice, visitng Doges Palace, the prison and the Leonardo de Vinci exhibition. We celebrated our Anniversary with a coffee in St Marks square with the Orchestra playing in the background. There was a charge of 6 euros per person with the first order to listen to the music. A Coffee was 9.50 Euros and a beer around 11 euro. Even off the beaten track the food and drink were still expensive. It is probably a better idea to eat well at Lunch time when its cheaper rather than in the evening. We found lots of snack bars which sold large pieces of pizza for 2 euros and 3 euro for a soft drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We Stay in Hotel Lux one terrible night on 10/26/2013. The room was extremely hot, they disconnected the A/C on October 1st; and extremely dirty (bathroom with molding in all tiles, heater damper with dust, extremely dirty carpet, bad service, we asked for a portable fan few times, when arrived we used the only tower to clean it, worst Hotel in our live

Room Tip: ask for clean and temperature, is impossible to sleep without A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.