We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere if possible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lux

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 382 hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere if possible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in early August in peak season. Price ok for Venice and i had read reviews so was not expecting much. Low expectations were met. Reasonably quiet in room considering the location and bed not uncomfortable but you just dont really want to spend any time in the room except to shower and sleep. Bathroom is tiny and shower had drainage issues so had to keep turning off the water so the it wouldnt go all over the floor. Made hair washing difficult and time consuming.
Carried luggage up steep stairs to reception on arrival only to be told that i was in the other building so climbed back down. Maybe this info could have been emailed earlier. Walked by staff to another building a short walk away in another lane. No signage on door, and identical green doors side by side in laneway so getting back after dark was a challenge. Main door from street is closed but does not lock, no lighting until you hit a switch which goes off half way up more steep stairs. Thats if you knew to look for the switch in the first place. Didnt really feel safe until i had made it from the laneway into the room. From a security perspective of a solo female traveller i wouldnt want to be in the annexe building. The whole experience may have been slightly better if i was in the main building. Hard to say.
Had read the bad reviews of breakfast so didnt even bother. Plenty of cafes nearby.
Next time i will look for accommodation closer to the train station. You can walk or catch the waterbuses everywhere in Venice very easily. No need to be staying at San Marco. Im sure there must be better offerings than Hotel Lux. I recommend to look for them first.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    110
    79
    44
    47
See reviews for
51
123
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was really a pity that we only had the one night in Venice at the Hotel Lux.
Located a couple of minutes stroll from St Marks Square it is a very comfortable hotel in an absolutely wonderful location. As with most hotels in Venice you are faced with some serious stair climbing and a seperate building for breakfast - but thats all part of the adventure on holiday.
The big question - would we choose to stay here again - yes we would

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was one disaster.they had reception in other building and rooms in other building.Bathrooms were pathetic and for breakfast we had to go to another building which just had 9 tables or say sitting of less than 20 people.Breakfast was horrible....plz save urself from this hotel.
Only location was good.that's it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Put in the annex, people should be aware not to be put in here as conditions are disgusting , cannot put a rating on this hotel the worst place we have stayed ,it was only over night and could not find vacancies any where else to move to.do not take any luggage as steep stairs and badly light ( never again )

Room Tip: Cannot rate this place and be aware of bedroom taxes
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited 19th July, Our room was in a separate building, no lift, up 48 stairs. The Air conditioner didn't keep the room cool.(I complained but nothing was done)
The shower/bath was tiny, the bracket to hold the shower rose was broken.
We had to go to yet another building for breakfast which was very cramped.
The location was the only good thing about this rundown dump.

Room Tip: Sorry no tips for this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was a little old and it was stairs only but at least it had two rooms, so four of us fit, just! With suitcases on ground, little room to walk around. View of courtyard was nice. Could hear bell of St Marks. Bathroom was quite small. Breakfast was inedible. Awful croissants made with shortening that stays glued to the roof of your mouth. Terrible, terrible coffee! Only good thing was packaged yogurt! Front desk was nice enough. Would chose another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambala, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this june 13. We had to pay for internet , no free connections even in the lobby. If u r having heavy luggages with u better not to stay here this hotel has no lifts. U had to carry ur own luggage on the small stairs. U r lucky, if u get ist floor. For breakfast adjoining building with small capacity of 10-12 perons at a time with a limited choice of meals in breakfast especially if u r indian. Room having stinking smells. My idea not to stay if u r with family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, HostelWorld, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.