We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Venetian. We hope to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apostoli Palace

Save Saved
You added Apostoli Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apostoli Palace
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 420 Venice B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming and Venetian. We hope to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first holiday together and it really made our holiday. We hope to return soon.

First contact was to email the hotel about transport there. We got a reply straight away to use the public transport boat from the airport to 2nd stop. A short walk straight direction from the stop and we arrived.

We were greeted by a very friendly charming gentleman who was expecting us and knew who we were because the hotel is that small. Maybe only 6 rooms. He took our biggest bag up for us as he showed us to our room and the breakfast area.
The room was small but very traditional Venetian style which was perfect for us. We were looking for a traditional hotel to give us the full experience. There is a small balcony to stand outside, fridge with water in it, tea/coffee with kettle etc. the room itself was immaculately clean and the bathroom modern and very clean and looked after.

Breakfast was a lovely experience. There are only 5 tables with 2 chairs set up. Breakfast is 8am-10am and is continental. Croissants, fresh bread, jams, nutella. Fresh fruit, yogurts, variety of cereals and caffe latte, tea, coffee made to order.

There is no reception on an evening. We were given a key to the front door to come and go as we pleased. The area is non-touristy.

A short 5 min walk to the Rialto bridge through lots of quirky shops. An 8 min walk to San Marco square. Venice is lovely in general but you have to be prepared for the tourism of such a nice place.

Check out was an easy affair. We had paid up front. Just the 2euro a day tourist tax to pay on departure. We did notice a sign that they do it accept credit cards so bare this in mind.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
150
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on recommendation of a friend who had a great experience. We are frequent visitors to Venice and found the hotel and the staff to be quite lovely and nice. The room we had booked was priced well for the area and the time of year. We had a pre-paid double superior which was very comfortable and had a nice clean bathroom with a shower. The room had a wonderful beamed ceiling and a stone floor which is preferred over a carpeted one. The bed was comfortable and the view out the window was a wall and a small street below which is the entrance to the hotel - very quiet which was great. The breakfasts were for the 3 star hotel: coffee/tea, croissants, rolls, yogurt, jams, sliced pound cake etc. The service was professional and with a smile. The staff seemed genuinely willing to assist with any help.
Previous posters have indicated concern over payments. Note, these small hotels get charged a huge amount of service fees for credit card use - so paying in cash is preferred. We noticed a sign saying the POS system was down for local charges (internet, minibar etc). My preference is to pay cash for hotel services so this was not an issue for us. But note that there is a 2 Euro Venice Hotel tax per person per room which is not part of any pre-paid charge.
The hotel only has 8 rooms and is situated in a quiet residential non-touristy area of the city. Ultra convenient for visitors heading to/from Marco Polo Airport via the Alilaguna blue line which stops at the Fondamenta Novo which is much closer than the Ca'Doro vaporetto stop (only 2.5 small bridges to cross).

One note to know: Some visitors may notice a rather odd smell in the bathroom. It's nothing to worry about. Many old buildings & hotels in Venice have old pipes and certain smells may come up through the pipes. Simply closing the sink will alleviate the smell. This has nothing to so with the hotel - common in Venice.

Would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Manager at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
grazie grazie grazie
we do hope to Improve for a better stay of all our beautifull guest like you. It is significant to know all about your stay in Venice
see you soon
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Location is good if u would like to visit Burano and Murano island, it's 8 mins walk from Ft Nove which u can take water bus to airport and island easily. Hotel not hard to find. Walking distance to St Marco Square abt 15-20 mins. Front desk off at 8pm and not always see them even during working hours, total 8 rooms only, very small room but large bed, clean toilet. It's expensive for a 2-3 star standard like that, but may be the whole Venice is expensive tho.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Manager at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do hope you come back very soon and next time i hope you book our superior room for a better sojour we do hope you enjoy Venice we wish to know about Museum, trattoria's expierence
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of March 2013 in a superior room. We received a warm welcome and great service throughout our stay. The room (and bathroom) was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located in a lovely area, quiet but not too far from the Alilaguna from Marco Polo airport or the centre of Venice.

Breakfasts were delicious. Cereals, yoghurt, homemade(?) cake and good coffee! Waking up to the smell of warm croissants was lovely!

Recommended restaurants:

- Trattoria Misericordia (beautiful resonably priced food, complimentary bruschetta starter. Wonderful tiramisu!)
- Suso (for gelato)
- Hosteria Al Vecio Bragosso

Room Tip: Superior room, looked out onto the road below which had a market on but was not loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Few problems finding the hotel, you really need the number 4702, just the street name is not enough! The hotel itself is small with beautiful interior design with high heavy beamed ceilings and exquisite light fittings. It was immaculately clean, breakfast was ample and saw us through to mid afternoon. Ideally located a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and easy access to water taxis and the water buses. The morning reception gentleman looks like Jose Mourinho ... a nice added bonus for the ladies!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Apostoli Palace for 2 nights in April and really enjoyed it. It felt like the only place in Venice that wasn't a rip-off. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, breakfast was included and excellent value. The hotel is very small and sweet with only a few rooms. The location is perfect - outside the main horrible tourist areas of Venice and surrounded by 'real' Venetian people, authentic shops and cafes. It is only a few minutes walk to Fondamente Nove boat pier, which has direct boats to the airport.
Only downside is that you have to pay for internet which is very expensive and you can only buy it when the staff are present, so if your credit runs out after 8pm you won't have access to the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for 4 nights from Sunday 14th April. The owner of the hotel was extremely welcoming and although we were early for check-in, we were able to leave our bags.

From the airport, we got the bus and then the water taxi which came to 15 euros each, much cheaper than a private water taxi which was around 110 euros. The hotel was pretty easy to find if you had a map. On the return to the airport, we just got the water taxi (Alilaguna) from the Ft Nuove stop, which although is over a few bridges, is much quicker.

The location is good as it is not too far to walk to the main attractions but is far enough out to get some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast included hot fresh rolls, croissants, yoghurts, fruit, cake, biscuits, crackers etc and was of a good standard. The only criticism i would make is that the drinks (tea and coffee) weren't always very hot.

Remember to save some money for the City Tax which is payable at the end of your stay and is 2 euros pppn.

Very pleasant stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do thank you are too kind we do hope to see you very soon
regards
Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apostoli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostoli Palace

Address: Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 420 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apostoli Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Information valid for direct booking only: Your credit card is required as a guarantee for the booking and will be charged only in case of late cancellation or no-show. We reserve the right to cancel the booking if the data given are incorrect. We always check your credit card of the amount of one night per room in order to guarantee your reservation. In case You decide to cancel or to change Your booking, please inform us at least till 06.00 p.m. of 3 days before Your arrival only by fax or by e-mail, otherwise we don’t refund you of first night fee (No show). In case of late arrival or of earlier departure, the guest has to pay the total amount for the whole days he booked and confirmed. No cancellation accepted by phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Apostoli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apostoli Palace Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostoli Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.