We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in non-touristy area of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apostoli Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apostoli Palace to your Saves list
Apostoli Palace
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quiet stay in non-touristy area of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on recommendation of a friend who had a great experience. We are frequent visitors to Venice and found the hotel and the staff to be quite lovely and nice. The room we had booked was priced well for the area and the time of year. We had a pre-paid double superior which was very comfortable and had a nice clean bathroom with a shower. The room had a wonderful beamed ceiling and a stone floor which is preferred over a carpeted one. The bed was comfortable and the view out the window was a wall and a small street below which is the entrance to the hotel - very quiet which was great. The breakfasts were for the 3 star hotel: coffee/tea, croissants, rolls, yogurt, jams, sliced pound cake etc. The service was professional and with a smile. The staff seemed genuinely willing to assist with any help.
Previous posters have indicated concern over payments. Note, these small hotels get charged a huge amount of service fees for credit card use - so paying in cash is preferred. We noticed a sign saying the POS system was down for local charges (internet, minibar etc). My preference is to pay cash for hotel services so this was not an issue for us. But note that there is a 2 Euro Venice Hotel tax per person per room which is not part of any pre-paid charge.
The hotel only has 8 rooms and is situated in a quiet residential non-touristy area of the city. Ultra convenient for visitors heading to/from Marco Polo Airport via the Alilaguna blue line which stops at the Fondamenta Novo which is much closer than the Ca'Doro vaporetto stop (only 2.5 small bridges to cross).

One note to know: Some visitors may notice a rather odd smell in the bathroom. It's nothing to worry about. Many old buildings & hotels in Venice have old pipes and certain smells may come up through the pipes. Simply closing the sink will alleviate the smell. This has nothing to so with the hotel - common in Venice.

Would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Manager at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
grazie grazie grazie
we do hope to Improve for a better stay of all our beautifull guest like you. It is significant to know all about your stay in Venice
see you soon
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    96
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
160
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location is good if u would like to visit Burano and Murano island, it's 8 mins walk from Ft Nove which u can take water bus to airport and island easily. Hotel not hard to find. Walking distance to St Marco Square abt 15-20 mins. Front desk off at 8pm and not always see them even during working hours, total 8 rooms only, very small room but large bed, clean toilet. It's expensive for a 2-3 star standard like that, but may be the whole Venice is expensive tho.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Manager at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do hope you come back very soon and next time i hope you book our superior room for a better sojour we do hope you enjoy Venice we wish to know about Museum, trattoria's expierence
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of March 2013 in a superior room. We received a warm welcome and great service throughout our stay. The room (and bathroom) was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located in a lovely area, quiet but not too far from the Alilaguna from Marco Polo airport or the centre of Venice.

Breakfasts were delicious. Cereals, yoghurt, homemade(?) cake and good coffee! Waking up to the smell of warm croissants was lovely!

Recommended restaurants:

- Trattoria Misericordia (beautiful resonably priced food, complimentary bruschetta starter. Wonderful tiramisu!)
- Suso (for gelato)
- Hosteria Al Vecio Bragosso

Room Tip: Superior room, looked out onto the road below which had a market on but was not loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Few problems finding the hotel, you really need the number 4702, just the street name is not enough! The hotel itself is small with beautiful interior design with high heavy beamed ceilings and exquisite light fittings. It was immaculately clean, breakfast was ample and saw us through to mid afternoon. Ideally located a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and easy access to water taxis and the water buses. The morning reception gentleman looks like Jose Mourinho ... a nice added bonus for the ladies!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Apostoli Palace for 2 nights in April and really enjoyed it. It felt like the only place in Venice that wasn't a rip-off. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, breakfast was included and excellent value. The hotel is very small and sweet with only a few rooms. The location is perfect - outside the main horrible tourist areas of Venice and surrounded by 'real' Venetian people, authentic shops and cafes. It is only a few minutes walk to Fondamente Nove boat pier, which has direct boats to the airport.
Only downside is that you have to pay for internet which is very expensive and you can only buy it when the staff are present, so if your credit runs out after 8pm you won't have access to the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for 4 nights from Sunday 14th April. The owner of the hotel was extremely welcoming and although we were early for check-in, we were able to leave our bags.

From the airport, we got the bus and then the water taxi which came to 15 euros each, much cheaper than a private water taxi which was around 110 euros. The hotel was pretty easy to find if you had a map. On the return to the airport, we just got the water taxi (Alilaguna) from the Ft Nuove stop, which although is over a few bridges, is much quicker.

The location is good as it is not too far to walk to the main attractions but is far enough out to get some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast included hot fresh rolls, croissants, yoghurts, fruit, cake, biscuits, crackers etc and was of a good standard. The only criticism i would make is that the drinks (tea and coffee) weren't always very hot.

Remember to save some money for the City Tax which is payable at the end of your stay and is 2 euros pppn.

Very pleasant stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do thank you are too kind we do hope to see you very soon
regards
Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Apostoli Palace in Venice. We found it a little difficult to find on arrival purely because we forgot to take our directions! However we managed to find it after asking a few locals!
The rooms are typically Venetian with beamed ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. The bathroom was very large, spotlessly clean and filled daily with toiletries.
Breakfast is served each day and consists of warm Italian rolls and croissants.. Yoghurts, cheese and fruit. There was also Italian cake each day.
Guiseppi the owner is charming and very helpful - and almost persuaded us to stay another night!! Unfortunately we had to return to Scotland!!

We would highly recommend to anyone visiting Venice in the future and will definitely return! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do thank you to come and stay with us in Venice
we are waiting for you back as soon as possible you smile make me a better day
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apostoli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostoli Palace

Address: Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apostoli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Information valid for direct booking only: Your credit card is required as a guarantee for the booking and will be charged only in case of late cancellation or no-show. We reserve the right to cancel the booking if the data given are incorrect. We always check your credit card of the amount of one night per room in order to guarantee your reservation. In case You decide to cancel or to change Your booking, please inform us at least till 06.00 p.m. of 3 days before Your arrival only by fax or by e-mail, otherwise we don’t refund you of first night fee (No show). In case of late arrival or of earlier departure, the guest has to pay the total amount for the whole days he booked and confirmed. No cancellation accepted by phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Apostoli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apostoli Palace Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostoli Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.