We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - good coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apostoli Palace

Save Saved
You added Apostoli Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Apostoli Palace
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 417 Venice B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay - good coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of March 2013 in a superior room. We received a warm welcome and great service throughout our stay. The room (and bathroom) was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is located in a lovely area, quiet but not too far from the Alilaguna from Marco Polo airport or the centre of Venice.

Breakfasts were delicious. Cereals, yoghurt, homemade(?) cake and good coffee! Waking up to the smell of warm croissants was lovely!

Recommended restaurants:

- Trattoria
Misericordia (beautiful resonably priced food, complimentary bruschetta starter. Wonderful tiramisu!)
- Suso (for gelato)
- Hosteria Al Vecio Bragosso

Room Tip: Superior room, looked out onto the road below which had a market on but was not loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    77
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
141
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Few problems finding the hotel, you really need the number 4702, just the street name is not enough! The hotel itself is small with beautiful interior design with high heavy beamed ceilings and exquisite light fittings. It was immaculately clean, breakfast was ample and saw us through to mid afternoon. Ideally located a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and easy access to water taxis and the water buses. The morning reception gentleman looks like Jose Mourinho ... a nice added bonus for the ladies!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Apostoli Palace for 2 nights in April and really enjoyed it. It felt like the only place in Venice that wasn't a rip-off. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, breakfast was included and excellent value. The hotel is very small and sweet with only a few rooms. The location is perfect - outside the main horrible tourist areas of Venice and surrounded by 'real' Venetian people, authentic shops and cafes. It is only a few minutes walk to Fondamente Nove boat pier, which has direct boats to the airport.
Only downside is that you have to pay for internet which is very expensive and you can only buy it when the staff are present, so if your credit runs out after 8pm you won't have access to the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for 4 nights from Sunday 14th April. The owner of the hotel was extremely welcoming and although we were early for check-in, we were able to leave our bags.

From the airport, we got the bus and then the water taxi which came to 15 euros each, much cheaper than a private water taxi which was around 110 euros. The hotel was pretty easy to find if you had a map. On the return to the airport, we just got the water taxi (Alilaguna) from the Ft Nuove stop, which although is over a few bridges, is much quicker.

The location is good as it is not too far to walk to the main attractions but is far enough out to get some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The room and bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast included hot fresh rolls, croissants, yoghurts, fruit, cake, biscuits, crackers etc and was of a good standard. The only criticism i would make is that the drinks (tea and coffee) weren't always very hot.

Remember to save some money for the City Tax which is payable at the end of your stay and is 2 euros pppn.

Very pleasant stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do thank you are too kind we do hope to see you very soon
regards
Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Apostoli Palace in Venice. We found it a little difficult to find on arrival purely because we forgot to take our directions! However we managed to find it after asking a few locals!
The rooms are typically Venetian with beamed ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. The bathroom was very large, spotlessly clean and filled daily with toiletries.
Breakfast is served each day and consists of warm Italian rolls and croissants.. Yoghurts, cheese and fruit. There was also Italian cake each day.
Guiseppi the owner is charming and very helpful - and almost persuaded us to stay another night!! Unfortunately we had to return to Scotland!!

We would highly recommend to anyone visiting Venice in the future and will definitely return! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
dear
we do thank you to come and stay with us in Venice
we are waiting for you back as soon as possible you smile make me a better day
grazie
giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Be very careful if you stay here. Any genuine misunderstanding on your part will be entirely your fault and met with a display of arrogance and petulance worthy of Basil Fawlty. We had such an episode on April 6th. On checking out on a tight schedule we were told by the manager/owner that our 630Euros bill had to be paid in cash which we didn't have and with an imperious wave of the hand we were directed to the local ATM. The hotel communication on this cash only policy is ambiguous, to say the least, the signage on the front desk small and easily missed and you are not told on check in. Where else in the world would this happen? My disbelief was met with an astonishingly childish and antagonistic verbal attack that I was making all kinds of personal accusations about him which, of course, I wasn’t. When he said he didn’t want to pay the card commission I offered to pay it. He then rewrote the bill and added back in 4 small bottles of water and 2 hours of WiFi which he said he had previously ‘gifted’ us. This was small mindedness almost beyond belief. His final act was to present us with a credit card receipt made out in Euros and Pounds but payable in Pounds and when I queried it he said we had no option but to sign for it in Pounds. Any regular traveler will know that this is a way for the hotel to squeeze more out of you on the exchange rate conversion but we had a boat to catch so I signed and we left, never to return there. You have to ask yourself if things aren’t exactly as you want or expect would you really want to deal with this person, my advice would be don’t risk it. See also TA report July 4th 2010.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
dear
this is my opportunity to give you more information if it's not clear in your confirmation voucher or tripadvisor additional information web page:
we do not accept you pay city tourist taxes ( 2 euro per per person per night ) by credit card
but we remind you credit card payment (visa, mastercard and amex)are wellcome,
94% of our guest pay by credit card, we do not manage debit, electron card,
you can choise to fix the currency conversion at the daily competitive exchange and it's a big deal
thanks
2994 people stay with us since TA report 4th 2010. Report made from an Indian family travelling with disable, they booked us by travel agency, they booked our economy double room even if it made for two people only in and short sojour. We do not have the room for the disabled as we are too small hotel and no lift, so we help them to find and move to an appropiate hotel, we inform travel agency that didn't know about the third disable people travelling with. We don't know about travel agency reservation policy and we cannot manage it. We did not get any money for that reservation too.
ps to the next travellers do not hesitate to contact me for more information and I do appriciate any help to update our information (payment, location, service and special offer)
kind regards
Giuseppe
ps to the next travellers do not hesitate to contact me for more information and I do appriciate any help to update our information (payment, location, service and special offer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Apostoli for 2 nights and would highly recommend it. The staff are very friendly and the hotel itself is very charming, clean and ideally located to get into Venice. You are also very close to the water boats, which is very handy when hopping from island to island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apostoli_Palace, Owner at Apostoli Palace, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
dear
we wish all the best for you see you very soon
regards
Giuseppe Rizzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apostoli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostoli Palace

Also Known As:
Apostoli Palace Hotel
Apostoli Palace Hotel Venice
Address: Cannaregio 4702, Calle del Padiglion, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apostoli Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Information valid for direct booking only: Your credit card is required as a guarantee for the booking and will be charged only in case of late cancellation or no-show. We reserve the right to cancel the booking if the data given are incorrect. We always check your credit card of the amount of one night per room in order to guarantee your reservation. In case You decide to cancel or to change Your booking, please inform us at least till 06.00 p.m. of 3 days before Your arrival only by fax or by e-mail, otherwise we don’t refund you of first night fee (No show). In case of late arrival or of earlier departure, the guest has to pay the total amount for the whole days he booked and confirmed. No cancellation accepted by phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Apostoli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostoli Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.