We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel thats great for its location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castello to your Saves list
Hotel Castello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo SS Filippo e Giacomo | Castello 4365, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel thats great for its location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Chose the hotel for its location mainly as was the next street/canal from St Marks Square. A bit hard to find at first ( hidden down a small alley way ) but once found the hotel it was fine. Upon arrival you were clearly in a typical venetian styled hotel with its decor and furniture. The reception staff were freindly and helpfull and we were shown to our room. Although a little on the small size it was ok, again traditonal decor & furniture. It was great to hear the bells of St Marks in a morning and even from the roof top terrace you could see St Marks bell tower towering over the venetian rooftops.

Breakfast was ok nothing special but continental breakfast never are, plenty to choose from but it was all cold buffet though nothing hot. No fruit was available though which was suprising just the juices to drink with your breakfast.

Room Tip: Google map the hotel for its location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    118
    62
    20
    14
See reviews for
63
125
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Castello for 5 nights at the end of May and found it to be a lovely hotel with friendly staff.
Our room was nicely furnished, with free air conditioning and tv. It had a new bathroom suite with loo, bidet, shower etc. It was cleaned daily and kept spotless.
Hotel is in great location, a few minutes from St Marks Square, and a few steps away from bars and restuarants.
Plenty of choice for breakfast, cereals, ham, cheeze, youghurts, juices, etc.
All the staff we met spoke english and put up with our attempts to speak italian.
We would certainly go back and stay here.
No real tips for Venioce itself, other than expect to pay over the odds for everything.
If you take a trip to Burano and want some food, try the Pizzeria Bar Sport, not a brillient name but sit outside in the sunshine and enjoy some excellent food. It is located at the end of the Via B. Galuppl, and to the right. We did have a pizza which was the best we had, but the treat for me was the scallops in brandy served in their shells, which were delicious, and served very decorativly on a bed of coloured salt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. The positives: great location, helpfull staff
very good breakfast. The negatives: the room was very small and the TV didn't work. I know i wasn't there to watch TV but after a full day of sightseeing I just wanted to come back to the room and see what was happening in the world. For the price-139 Euros per night- the room was very small and somewhat claustrophobic as the ceiling was no more than 7 feet tall. Anyway if you want someplace that's close to the boat and St. Marks Square this place might be adequate. Venice by the way is very touristy and I feel also very expensive compared to the other cities we visited, Sienna and Florence.

Room Tip: ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Have recently stayed at The Hotel Castello for 3 nights. The location couldn't have been better about 5 minutes from San Zaccaria. Directions from the hotel could have been better. The room was sufficient for our stay. There was a good choice for breakfast. We bought a 3 day pass for 33 euros which was well worth it. Just one complaint. I had some costume jewellery stolen which was in a jewellery wrap hidden under t shirts in a drawer. When i went to report this which was about an hour before we were leaving having only just realised it was missing the man at reception decided he didn't understand english, which he had been speaking very well during our stay. He then told us to go to the police which for one wouldn't have been worth it and we didn't have the time. So a word of warning

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We recently spent 5 days in Venice and stayed at the Costello Hotel. It was in a great location, a couple of minutes walk from St. Mark's Square. The staff were very helpful and friendly, expecially Christoph. The rooms were comfortable, especially the beds. We would have no hestiation in recommending anyone to stay at the hotel if they are going to Venice. We had a wonderful time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

we booked this last minute and were not expecting a great deal and i must admit when you see these little hotels in the backstreets you wonder what you are doing, however, it was like a tardis. Staff helpful, rooms small ( as in all of italy) but clean and the breakfast was delicious, fresh croissants and rolls and the location is brilliant. Just a short walk from the waterbus and right near to st marks square. We were glad we didn't buy a 3day waterbus pass, we didn't need it. Venice is REALLY expensive so try and check the prices everywhere beforehand. On the last night we found the bar Aciughete which was a few yards from the hotel and it was the best place around. I didn't realise till we were home that it was in the quide book! This is not a five star hotel so do not expect to pay these great value prices and then moan. The bathroom was spotless. If you go with an open mind it is a really great base to seeVenice

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

A 5 minutes walk from San Zaccaria vaporetto stop. Turned into a small (smelly) alley for the entrance. Once you get inside it was quite cozy. Our room was not finished by the time we arrived which was 2 hours past check in time. Quite troublesome as we needed to leave some of our stuff from the hand luggage, go to the bathroom and pray before going to the Dodge Palace. Well, we made do by repacking right in front of the concierge which is just in front of the dining place and used their bathroom nearby.

After we came back that later (tired and spent after walking trying to find halal food) we came to a very small (common I think), cozy, very clean room. Interestingly the bathroom is large. Our room was furnished with dark green wall paper which make the room looked even smaller. After few hours I got used to it. There is a fridge, TV with only one English speaking channel, closet (seems to part of the wall). One thing they don't have is tea/coffee making facilities which was quite important to us (but also seems common in Venice). Not much power outlet either as we needed them for laptop, phone charger, camera battery charger all at once. Another thing, they do have a wifi connection access but you have to pay EU6 for an hour or EU12 for cumulative 20 hours. The service is actually provided by a local telco instead of the hotel. We took the 20 hours connection and the connection was very good. Although they said we can use the connection on our 3G phone throughout Venice, actually that only applies for hotspots which we can hardly remember where.

Breakfast was nice the first day as we got homemade bread and croissant (we came from rice eating region) and homemade hot cocoa. They also have cereal, biscuits, cheese, ham, fruit. But after 3 days of the same thing may not be inviting anymore.

With all the downsides we did not regret staying there because there is a small halal kebab store just right at the corner which we frequent esp for dinner. The other halal kebab is far near Piazza Roma (20-40 mins away with vaporetto) They also sells pizza but the meaty ones are not halal. They say they will have the halal ones probably next year.

Also we were glad to stay away from hotels near the canal as there was aqua alta (flood) when we were there. The location is also very near to everywhere important esp St. Marco and you can get almost all vaporetto route at the nearest vaporetto stop (San Marco)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Address: Campo SS Filippo e Giacomo | Castello 4365, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.