We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel full of Venetian charme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novecento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novecento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel full of Venetian charme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this fantastic hotel on boxing day.
The hotel is ideally located in a quiet calle between Rialto and San Marco, only 5 minutes walk from the vaporetto station.
We were looking for a small romantic hotel full of character and were not disappointed.
Our room on the second floor was spacious, beautifully decorated and very quiet.
Breakfast was good and complimentary coffee/tea, fruit and delicious biscuits are available in the lounge throughout the afternoon, which is nice touch.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had room no 7 which was spacoius and beautiful, however it's on the second floor and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    68
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
182
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Novecento in Venice Italy. My husband and I were in Venice with our two teenagers. The staff was very friendly and helpful either in person or by email before our arrival.Great location, everything felt like it was a 10 minute walk from the hotel.. Very comfortable beds with duvet cover !!! The staff made us feel at home. It is a small hotel (total 9 rooms) and that is what made it very cozy. Whenever we returned to the hotel we could hang out in the lounge on the main floor where there is a tea and coffee bar available at all times or a honesty bar (wine, drinks) or we could go to the second floor den that had a zen feel to it. They have books and magazines available for the guest in both areas. We looked forward to their breakfast every morning. They also have an outdoor terrace in the back.Once again , I mention the staff that was very welcoming, knowledgeable and more than happy to help with anything we requested. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Novecento Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you for your kindness and for the time you spent in writing such a flattering review. It was a pleasure for us to meet you and to see you relaxing and enjoying the common areas of Novecento: this is exactly what we try to do every day, just to make people feel at home.
We really look forward to having you around in a very near future.
Kind regards
Heiby and Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my fiancé to celebrate our engagement and thought the hotel was quaint and in a great location. We enjoyed our stay until it was time to leave and it was high water. The concierge suggested that one of the hotel employees will help us carry my luggage to the Vaparetto and was kind enough to lend us 2 boots. The help was beyond terrible. He pouted having to help, clearly looked annoyed and then in the middle he said he can't go anymore since his boots is not high enough and he didn't want to get wet. We all had the same height boots and he was much shorter than my fiancé. What is worst is he just stood on the step with my luggage, asked me and my fiancé to go to the boat, come back with the boots and tell my fiancé to take off his boots right in the middle and walk back to the Vaparetto with my suitcase barefoot!!! He totally could have gone the entire way and his boots would be fine. He ruined our experience. The worst customer service ever.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Novecento Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Madam,
perhaps you did not realize that the high tide of that day was not normal but part of an exceptional event. Something which luckily happens rarely. 
For this reason Federico tried to advise you in advance, also the day before, in order to organize your departure without problems and difficulties. 
Probably you have underestimated the situation and this is the reason why you were in danger of losing your train, checking out at the last moment. 
At that point we decided that the only thing to do to help you not to lose your train was to take you to the vaporetto stop (public porters don't work when there is high tide as they are unable to use their trolleys... that would sink together with clients' luggage).  
Next to the vaporetto the water was higher and you wanted to buy the boots with your credit card from our waiter who was holding your luggages in the middle of the square. 
Our waiter... (who was working and serving breakfast to our clients at that time) took you there... doing so he was completely out of his role, and he was worried about getting wet (he had 4 more working hours) and was worried about leaving the breakfast room without anyone to follow other guests.
This is not to justify but simply to understand a situation completely out of the ordinary.
After so many efforts to make your stay the most enjoyable it has been frustrating to read your review.
 
Regards,
Gioele Romanelli
 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had stayed there on our first trip to Venice, approximately ten years ago and just after the hotel first opened. We were not familiar with Venice, and our arrival was slightly difficult. This time was our seventh trip to Venice, and we took a water taxi from Marco Polo Airport almost directly to the front door. The hotel has a limited number of rooms, a spacious ground floor breakfast area and garden dining area, with a lovely second floor living room area. We were greeted on arrival with a bottle of Proseco, and the staff could not have been nicer throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are of a small but reasonable size, and well decorated and maintained. We enjoyed the location, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were only in Venice for a single night during or two week trip to Italy. We splurged on this little hotel, meaning we spent a bit more for one night than we did on any other accommodations in other cities. It was a very special place. Pleased with our room as it overlooked the garden. The hotel was completely booked but we didn't see many other guests. The narrow street is charming and quiet, an easy walk to St. Mark's Square, even closer to great shopping and restaurants. The staff were awesome, very helpful. There was soft music playing in our room when we arrived. The A/C was on so the room was quite comfortable and welcoming as the day was warm. Nice size bathroom, great shower. Bed was super comfortable (we like a firm bed so overall had no problems in Italy). The breakfast is really lovely, excellent selection and so nicely laid out. There was fresh fruit and juice, yogurt, cereal, fresh croissants, gorgeous peaches and prunes in jars, eggs could be ordered (extra cost). The young woman helping with the breakfast made excellent cappuccino. We were happy that we were NOT near the Rialto Bridge as this area seemed crawling with tourists. We would like to return to Venice and spend more time and would be pleased to frequent this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is a very large common area on the second floor with rooms that open out onto this area. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in mid October. I had requested a garden view room but on check in we had been allocated a room at the front of the hotel. I asked if it was possible to move and this happened immediately. The room was lovely, a low very comfortable bed and interesting decor/ furnishings. Whilst the linen and the bathroom were beautifully clean, the curtains and rugs looked like they could do with a good clean. Breakfast was good, plentiful and wonderful bread and coffee. This hotel was quite expensive but we expected that given its central location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really can't seem to see what the others found to gush so effusively about. I always thought I was a rather upbeat reviewer.
We had booked one of their cheaper rooms, but because we changed dates only a more expensive superior room was available. When we got there it was an ok room, but I honestly thought, due to the changes, that we had still been allocated a cheaper room.
It was not that big. Yes, the furniture has old world charm, but not the character or style to warrant songs of praise. We definitely did not see the stylish and updated bathroom. Ours was cramped, dingy, and positively scruffy with a 1970s style suite.
Frankly we felt that the whole hotel could do with a good clean.
Carpets on stairs were drab and scruffy.
Some quaint old world charm throughout and not a bland hotel but I would not rave about it for these prices.
When I pointed out that I thought we may have got one of the cheaper rooms, the chap on the reception did not seem to know which room was at what price (there are only 9!) and said he would check - but we were charged the more expensive rate.
Breakfast was nice. One grumpy chap one morning at breakfast, but otherwise staff were helpful.
Very good location - easy walking distance to everything. Very central. Quiet.
I think the website is a bit misleading in terms of what you might get.
And the English speaking section of the website does not seem to have the links to the other pages that the french and neglish pages do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Novecento Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
You can not imagine how sad for us is reading such an acid review because we really spend lots of efforts in our business and traditionally love our job. Of course we appreciate all the constructive criticism but, as we always work in good faith and honestly, we do not accept insinuations: we have nine rooms, five superior and four standard, and we always respect the assignment of them. They are all different in the furniture and fabrics but the nine bathrooms have all the same standard with wood, marble and Duravit elements designed by Philippe Starck. We opened in 2003 and we provide yearly for renovation works. We understand that people are not required to know the great artists, architects and designers but that's another story....
Yours sincerely,
Gioele & Heiby Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novecento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novecento Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Novecento Boutique Hotel is tucked away in Calle del Dose,off Campo San Maurizio, between St. Mark's Square and the Accademia Gallery. The hotel offers its guests the chance to stay enveloped in an evocative atmosphere, created by a décor steeped in Orientalism and a passion for exquisite materials and fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novecento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Boutique Venice
Hotel Novecento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novecento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.