We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad apple spoiled our trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novecento Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Novecento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 382 hotels in Venice
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One bad apple spoiled our trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my fiancé to celebrate our engagement and thought the hotel was quaint and in a great location. We enjoyed our stay until it was time to leave and it was high water. The concierge suggested that one of the hotel employees will help us carry my luggage to the Vaparetto and was kind enough to lend us 2 boots. The help was beyond terrible. He pouted having to help, clearly looked annoyed and then in the middle he said he can't go anymore since his boots is not high enough and he didn't want to get wet. We all had the same height boots and he was much shorter than my fiancé. What is worst is he just stood on the step with my luggage, asked me and my fiancé to go to the boat, come back with the boots and tell my fiancé to take off his boots right in the middle and walk back to the Vaparetto with my suitcase barefoot!!! He totally could have gone the entire way and his boots would be fine. He ruined our experience. The worst customer service ever.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Novecento Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Madam,
perhaps you did not realize that the high tide of that day was not normal but part of an exceptional event. Something which luckily happens rarely. 
For this reason Federico tried to advise you in advance, also the day before, in order to organize your departure without problems and difficulties. 
Probably you have underestimated the situation and this is the reason why you were in danger of losing your train, checking out at the last moment. 
At that point we decided that the only thing to do to help you not to lose your train was to take you to the vaporetto stop (public porters don't work when there is high tide as they are unable to use their trolleys... that would sink together with clients' luggage).  
Next to the vaporetto the water was higher and you wanted to buy the boots with your credit card from our waiter who was holding your luggages in the middle of the square. 
Our waiter... (who was working and serving breakfast to our clients at that time) took you there... doing so he was completely out of his role, and he was worried about getting wet (he had 4 more working hours) and was worried about leaving the breakfast room without anyone to follow other guests.
This is not to justify but simply to understand a situation completely out of the ordinary.
After so many efforts to make your stay the most enjoyable it has been frustrating to read your review.
 
Regards,
Gioele Romanelli
 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    64
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
163
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had stayed there on our first trip to Venice, approximately ten years ago and just after the hotel first opened. We were not familiar with Venice, and our arrival was slightly difficult. This time was our seventh trip to Venice, and we took a water taxi from Marco Polo Airport almost directly to the front door. The hotel has a limited number of rooms, a spacious ground floor breakfast area and garden dining area, with a lovely second floor living room area. We were greeted on arrival with a bottle of Proseco, and the staff could not have been nicer throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are of a small but reasonable size, and well decorated and maintained. We enjoyed the location, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were only in Venice for a single night during or two week trip to Italy. We splurged on this little hotel, meaning we spent a bit more for one night than we did on any other accommodations in other cities. It was a very special place. Pleased with our room as it overlooked the garden. The hotel was completely booked but we didn't see many other guests. The narrow street is charming and quiet, an easy walk to St. Mark's Square, even closer to great shopping and restaurants. The staff were awesome, very helpful. There was soft music playing in our room when we arrived. The A/C was on so the room was quite comfortable and welcoming as the day was warm. Nice size bathroom, great shower. Bed was super comfortable (we like a firm bed so overall had no problems in Italy). The breakfast is really lovely, excellent selection and so nicely laid out. There was fresh fruit and juice, yogurt, cereal, fresh croissants, gorgeous peaches and prunes in jars, eggs could be ordered (extra cost). The young woman helping with the breakfast made excellent cappuccino. We were happy that we were NOT near the Rialto Bridge as this area seemed crawling with tourists. We would like to return to Venice and spend more time and would be pleased to frequent this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is a very large common area on the second floor with rooms that open out onto this area. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in mid October. I had requested a garden view room but on check in we had been allocated a room at the front of the hotel. I asked if it was possible to move and this happened immediately. The room was lovely, a low very comfortable bed and interesting decor/ furnishings. Whilst the linen and the bathroom were beautifully clean, the curtains and rugs looked like they could do with a good clean. Breakfast was good, plentiful and wonderful bread and coffee. This hotel was quite expensive but we expected that given its central location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really can't seem to see what the others found to gush so effusively about. I always thought I was a rather upbeat reviewer.
We had booked one of their cheaper rooms, but because we changed dates only a more expensive superior room was available. When we got there it was an ok room, but I honestly thought, due to the changes, that we had still been allocated a cheaper room.
It was not that big. Yes, the furniture has old world charm, but not the character or style to warrant songs of praise. We definitely did not see the stylish and updated bathroom. Ours was cramped, dingy, and positively scruffy with a 1970s style suite.
Frankly we felt that the whole hotel could do with a good clean.
Carpets on stairs were drab and scruffy.
Some quaint old world charm throughout and not a bland hotel but I would not rave about it for these prices.
When I pointed out that I thought we may have got one of the cheaper rooms, the chap on the reception did not seem to know which room was at what price (there are only 9!) and said he would check - but we were charged the more expensive rate.
Breakfast was nice. One grumpy chap one morning at breakfast, but otherwise staff were helpful.
Very good location - easy walking distance to everything. Very central. Quiet.
I think the website is a bit misleading in terms of what you might get.
And the English speaking section of the website does not seem to have the links to the other pages that the french and neglish pages do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Novecento Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
You can not imagine how sad for us is reading such an acid review because we really spend lots of efforts in our business and traditionally love our job. Of course we appreciate all the constructive criticism but, as we always work in good faith and honestly, we do not accept insinuations: we have nine rooms, five superior and four standard, and we always respect the assignment of them. They are all different in the furniture and fabrics but the nine bathrooms have all the same standard with wood, marble and Duravit elements designed by Philippe Starck. We opened in 2003 and we provide yearly for renovation works. We understand that people are not required to know the great artists, architects and designers but that's another story....
Yours sincerely,
Gioele & Heiby Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Perfect in every detailed. Venice/Novecento was our last destiny on our trip to Italy and the most pleasant one.
Perfect staff, very friendly and helpful.
They seemed to have concerned every detail to make our stay perfect.
The lady on the breakfast room (sorry i don't know how to spell her name - maybe Mailin) deserves a 10+ grade. She's awesome.
I'd definitly go back there when in Venice
LOVED IT! PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Venice is small and crowded with tourists so demand is high and therefore prices are accordingly high as well. With Venice, I am of the opinion that you get what you can and hope for the best, unless you have or are willing to spend serious $$$$ for a hotel. Novecento / Venice was the last destination in our trip to Italy and also the most expensive. It isn't fair to compare to our other, less expensive destinations already experienced in the trip, but unfortunately for Novecento that's what happened.

Pros:
- Very convenient to San Marco, Rialto Bridge, and other major bridges and squares.
- Very easy to get to from the train station / water bus stop.
- Quiet location down narrow alley near main canal assures light foot traffic and noise at night.
- Friendly, accommodating service.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Cons:
- Seemed expensive based on the small size of the rooms, but again for Venice it's fairly priced. Our hotels in other parts of Italy were cheaper and nicer, not a fair comparison, but it is what it is.
- Rooms on the second floor above the patio were noisy during breakfast and evening hours: you can hear everything everybody is saying or doing down in the patio. Not a big deal, but one night guests were out on the patio past 11pm being very noisy and we couldn't sleep. I finally had to call down and complain and ask that they usher the guests inside the hotel.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Allow me to explain that last point. The hotel obviously made a significant effort acquiring antique or more recent quirky and unique styled room accents, decor, and furniture. For some people, that's a plus and adds to the hotel's charm - most guests seem to LOVE it.

For us, we didn't really like it. While the lobby and patio and breakfast room looked great, our room (in our opinion) looked like it had been furnished from multiple garage sales of old, well-used furniture. The dresser was kind of beat up and didn't close properly, nor did the doors stay open so you had to prop it up with one of the very old and faded uneven chairs. It was too short so our clothes lay partly on the floor of the dresser - we didn't even bother with the difficult to open and close drawers. The bathroom was very cute but there is a reason nobody uses real wooden counter tops anymore - the subsequent moisture from multiple guests using the sink and around the fixtures ruins the wood, it was a dark, stained moldy color around the edges of the sink and faucet. The wooden floor in front of the shower was also faded and water damaged and the floors everywhere creaked. The quirky bed frame creaked and groaned whenever we moved while sleeping and the bed was simply two twin mattresses shoved together. It worked and was not uncomfortable but for the price we paid for this hotel we expected a lot more, especially considering our other hotels in other parts of Italy.

Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was decent and especially liked the varied breads. Hotel staff were helpful in recommendations and directions. But would I stay here again? Possibly, if I couldn't find something better in a similar price range, but overall I would probably try to find somewhere else. Again, good stay, helpful folks, but the quirky, antique decor and random defects (others would say 'charm') in the rooms sort of turned us off. It's not for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novecento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novecento Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Novecento Boutique Hotel is tucked away in Calle del Dose,off Campo San Maurizio, between St. Mark's Square and the Accademia Gallery. The hotel offers its guests the chance to stay enveloped in an evocative atmosphere, created by a décor steeped in Orientalism and a passion for exquisite materials and fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Novecento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Boutique Venice
Hotel Novecento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novecento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.