We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novecento Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novecento Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Perfect in every detailed. Venice/Novecento was our last destiny on our trip to Italy and the most pleasant one.
Perfect staff, very friendly and helpful.
They seemed to have concerned every detail to make our stay perfect.
The lady on the breakfast room (sorry i don't know how to spell her name - maybe Mailin) deserves a 10+ grade. She's awesome.
I'd definitly go back there when in Venice
LOVED IT! PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    68
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
182
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Venice is small and crowded with tourists so demand is high and therefore prices are accordingly high as well. With Venice, I am of the opinion that you get what you can and hope for the best, unless you have or are willing to spend serious $$$$ for a hotel. Novecento / Venice was the last destination in our trip to Italy and also the most expensive. It isn't fair to compare to our other, less expensive destinations already experienced in the trip, but unfortunately for Novecento that's what happened.

Pros:
- Very convenient to San Marco, Rialto Bridge, and other major bridges and squares.
- Very easy to get to from the train station / water bus stop.
- Quiet location down narrow alley near main canal assures light foot traffic and noise at night.
- Friendly, accommodating service.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Cons:
- Seemed expensive based on the small size of the rooms, but again for Venice it's fairly priced. Our hotels in other parts of Italy were cheaper and nicer, not a fair comparison, but it is what it is.
- Rooms on the second floor above the patio were noisy during breakfast and evening hours: you can hear everything everybody is saying or doing down in the patio. Not a big deal, but one night guests were out on the patio past 11pm being very noisy and we couldn't sleep. I finally had to call down and complain and ask that they usher the guests inside the hotel.
- Quirky, international antique decor with a distinctly Asian style

Allow me to explain that last point. The hotel obviously made a significant effort acquiring antique or more recent quirky and unique styled room accents, decor, and furniture. For some people, that's a plus and adds to the hotel's charm - most guests seem to LOVE it.

For us, we didn't really like it. While the lobby and patio and breakfast room looked great, our room (in our opinion) looked like it had been furnished from multiple garage sales of old, well-used furniture. The dresser was kind of beat up and didn't close properly, nor did the doors stay open so you had to prop it up with one of the very old and faded uneven chairs. It was too short so our clothes lay partly on the floor of the dresser - we didn't even bother with the difficult to open and close drawers. The bathroom was very cute but there is a reason nobody uses real wooden counter tops anymore - the subsequent moisture from multiple guests using the sink and around the fixtures ruins the wood, it was a dark, stained moldy color around the edges of the sink and faucet. The wooden floor in front of the shower was also faded and water damaged and the floors everywhere creaked. The quirky bed frame creaked and groaned whenever we moved while sleeping and the bed was simply two twin mattresses shoved together. It worked and was not uncomfortable but for the price we paid for this hotel we expected a lot more, especially considering our other hotels in other parts of Italy.

Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was decent and especially liked the varied breads. Hotel staff were helpful in recommendations and directions. But would I stay here again? Possibly, if I couldn't find something better in a similar price range, but overall I would probably try to find somewhere else. Again, good stay, helpful folks, but the quirky, antique decor and random defects (others would say 'charm') in the rooms sort of turned us off. It's not for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We were four travelling and thus had two rooms. Our room was lovely overlooking the garden, a good size and very comfortable. The other room, however, was lacking. On the first floor facing the street the street noise was bothersome at times. The shower was so small it was almost unusable. Breakfasts were excellent. The owner was extremely helpful but not all staff were - some not sufficiently knowledgeable to manage the front desk. All in all a very nice experience. Ask for a garden room if you want quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel Novecento is a jewel and authentic Venician experience. This hotel is in an excellent location, you can take a water taxi - they drop you off just a short walk away. You can walk to everything and yet the crazy tourist center is just far enough away not to bother you. It's amazing to walk around this place at night when most of the tourist are gone. The hotel is beyond charming. The windows open to quaint cobbelstone streets and the antique furniture is amazing. The modern bathrooms are awesome. The linens are quality and the breakfast is served on a cute little patio. The people who work here are very nice. A young man at the front desk gave us directions to a place where he likes to eat and it was the best meal of the trip!

Room Tip: Note that some of the rooms have 2 twins pushed together to create a larger bed. This is normal in E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a great little hotel. Breakfast is really quaint and you can spend ages just sat relaxing. Tiny little courtyard is perfect for quiet chill with a wine after a long daty sightseeing. Rooms have character and are well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We found the hotel easy to find, and close to water to lug our suitcases from. The room was clean, and the airconditioner worked, separate bathroom with nice toiletries. Quiet side of building overlooking the courtyard. The staff so helpful with suggestions on where and how to get to attractions and restaurants, also made reservations. Breakfast fresh and plentiful buffet style. The hotel is filled with art, glassworks and antiques, creating a relaxed beautiful setting. Quick walk to most central sights, pleasant 3/4 minute easy walk to St Marks. Beautiful and friendly setting really made our stay in Venice extra special,will go back!

Room Tip: We had room 2 faced onto courtyard, was a nice size, and good size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff and facilities at NoveCento Boutique Hotel in Venice are wonderful. The hotel has 9 rooms and that allows the staff to provide personalized service to meet your needs. The hotel is like a museum with beautiful artwork, tapestries, Murano glass everywhere. It is located about half way between St. Mark's and the Accademia bridge which is a great location to get about anywhere you would want to go. They arranged a private taxi to take us to Murano to a glass factory. We had breakfast each morning in the courtyard and delicious cookies and tea in the late afternoon. All in all a delightful place to enjoy your time in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novecento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novecento Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle del Dose, 2684, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Novecento Boutique Hotel is tucked away in Calle del Dose,off Campo San Maurizio, between St. Mark's Square and the Accademia Gallery. The hotel offers its guests the chance to stay enveloped in an evocative atmosphere, created by a décor steeped in Orientalism and a passion for exquisite materials and fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novecento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Boutique Venice
Hotel Novecento Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novecento Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.