We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Marin to your Saves list
Albergo Marin
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
6% off booking directly
Ranked #107 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel in Venice. My husband used his phone and we had no trouble finding it. It was very close to the train station so we did not have to walk too far with our luggage.
Upon arrival we had a nice welcome drink and some chips. Just what we needed! We were too early to check-in so we left our bags and went on our way.
Our room was very small, but it was all we needed. We knew it was a one star hotel, so we knew what to expect.
The bathroom was renovated and was nice and spacious. The beds were comfortable and clean. This is a very old building so don't expect a sterile environment.

Breakfast was great! You could smell something baking in the morning, and it was likely the fresh cakes they served. The staff was also outstanding. We got help and some directions when we needed it. On our way to check-out, we were too early for breakfast and were out of Euro (headed straight to the airport), but the very nice man at the front desk gave me a bag to take some goodies with us. That was very much appreciated.

The location of the hotel really allows you to experience the real Venice. We would return to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review, I hope to deserve 5/5 next time you come back and to get 5/5 in cleaning as well!

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    246
    80
    14
    9
See reviews for
96
319
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is the best 1 star hotel I have stayed in. Flatscreen tv, aircon and in room wireless along with a good breakfast make this an excellent choice for exploring venice. Situated at the top of the grand canal it has very close access to all the main boat routes, train and bus station. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Mr Bamsley,

thank you so much for this great feedback,we are proud of your words even if we are working hard to imrpove more and more to give you the best possible experience!

See you next time!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in an excellent location 5 mins from train station. Just as close to grand canal and bus station to. Only issue is finding it! Used map on my phone but walked right by it once as baring a few tables and chairs outside door it doesn't look like a hotel. Very helpful staff and a good breakfast to prepare for a day of sightseeing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello Jason,

thansk for your feedback...we also have the name written outside above our entry anycase :)

See you next time, when you won't miss the entrance for sure!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a great hotel for that typical Venice stay. We have visited Venice twice before and love it and wanted to share the experience with our son and his wife, who live in London. The hotel is perfectly located for arriving by air and train, but also easy to get to the rest of Venice. Restaurants nearby. Also easy to get to Do Spade tapas bar near Rialto. Atmosphere of hotel is great, very friendly staff, good breakfast. Our son and his wife had a great room, right above the door, great for pictures. Wifi available in rooms and also in the sitting area outside the hotel. The welcoming drink and snack was a great way to start our fabulous Venice weekend. Everyone was very impressed..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
HELLO.

Thank you so much for your nice feedback! See you next time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very close to main train station (although negotiating the bridge steps with luggage is a challenge....unless of course you wish to pay the local luggage porters !). Great access to the whole of Venice, either on foot or using the Vaporetto.
The welcome on arrival, including complimentary drink and local advice was great.
The bed (s) were typical European being two adjacent singles with flat pillows...but I suppose that is just normal over here.
The tiny shower cubicle was cluttered up with oversized plumbing making it unuseable for anybody other than a small child !
Breakfast was ok but definitely basic.

Ps. There is no elevator and steep stairs to contend with if you have reasonable luggage

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Dave,

thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location--very close to Santa Lucia and bus station, whilst also being close to Ponte Rialto and St Marks. If we got tired, it was very easy to catch a traghetto(?) from the hotel to St Marks. In a really quiet neighbourhood. We had just come from Rome and the peace and quiet were heavenly. Richard's welcome was lovely. We'd spent all day on a train, so we guzzled our chips, nuts and freshly squeezed welcome juice. The staff and Michaela were all very helpful in giving info on how best to get around. Breakfast was great. All in all, a wonderful little place to stay. Room was super-clean and wifi was strong. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello,

thank you so much. I'm always proud when we get 5/5 as e want to deserve the maximum possible rate: it means our guests feel as if they were at home!

Cheers

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Good location, could get anywhere easily from here and very short walk with luggage from bus and train stations. Breakfast is bountiful, rooms clean (but small - price reflects small rooms). Location is quiet. Bed was comfortable. This is my second visit, and I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Susan,

thanks for your feedback, I hope we are going to deserve 5/5 next time you come here :)

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Venice
#107 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.