We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for venice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Marin to your Saves list
Albergo Marin
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6% off booking directly
Ranked #107 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good choice for venice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel in great location just across from train/bus station. Venice is very accessible by walking or taking vaparetto (water bus), so central location is not important. For a 1 star hotel, we were impressed with the breakfast, and nice front desk staff, and good internet connection. Room was what we expected..small but functional. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kevin,

thank you so much for your message. Actually you focused the point, and gave us a very fair review. I really appreciate your contribution

See you soon here again!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    219
    76
    11
    9
See reviews for
87
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Albergo Marin for three nights and overall were pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent - close to the rail station and the Grand Canal. It is within walking or ferrying distance of all the major attractions. Perfect for a few days stay in Venice. The hotel itself is somewhat 'shabby' - the rooms are clean but small - but quite adequate nevertheless. There is no elevator - so hauling cases up two flights of stairs is tricky. To get to the hotel we had to carry our bags over one of the main bridges across the Grand Canal - no easy feat given the number of steps (no ramps). Wi-fi is excellent, breakfast is sparse to say the least (the worst breakfast we had during our 6 week travel through Italy).

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor to avoid carrying bags up more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Hope,

nice hearing you. I thank you for your nice words about location and other stuff, unfortunately I'm sad you did not enjoy your breakfast. We are going to try to improve it even if we think is more than appropriate for a 1 star hotel. Anyhow if you could send us a prospect of what you would like to get for breakfast it would be helpful

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived on the 2nd of May and like everyone coming to Venice, we got lost for a while but it was a beautiful city and we did not mind at all. After some friendly folks pointed us in the right direction, we finally arrived at our destination. We were greeted by Filippo with a huge warm smile and were checked in shortly and in our beautiful room in about 10 minutes. The room was comfy with lovely large windows, a remodeled and clean bathroom and just had this old Venice charm. The venue was absolutely fantastic, left out the main door, through this narrow and long alley and there was the main canal but in spite of being so close to the canal, it was so quiet and refreshing, birds singing outside and the occasional people walking by and chatting. There was an AC in the room but we didn't need it, just leaving the window open kept us cool and there was mosquito repellant in the room for the night. There was only 1 mosquito that we saw and we were never bitten even once. I'm very glad the building had no elevator, couldn't imagine this historical building being ruined with that kind of modification. It was lovely just as is and we were happy to get the exercise going up to our room. Not sure why people complain about petty things, Venice is a beautiful city and if you are enjoying it right, you're probably not spending much time in a hotel room. Breakfast was so yummy and plentiful, the Cappuccino was bar none. The staff were all friendly and eager to help. Filippo spoke perfect English and gave us great advice about touring the city. We love this hotel and will surely be returning to it in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Heeeello! You make me (us) happy!

I'm so proud of what I'm reading here I wish to thank you so much for this important review, as it gives the perfect image of how we look like.

Also, for summer period, we decided to add canned fruit (Mixed and peach) to improve our service more and more!

Take care of you, see you soon

Giacomo

P.s. I'd like to visit San Francisco so much...must go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On arriving in Venice, we had to lug our suitcases over 2 bridges to reach this B&B. Off the Grand Canal, we were disappointed to find no elevator and no porter to carry our suitcases. My husband was operated on in April and still recovering from cancer. Thank goodness our room was on the first floor because I don't think my husband could carry the bags anymore. Besides that, it was a clean and quaint B&B off the main street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Terry,

I wish to thank you so much for your nice speaking. I'm afraid you were not satisfied about the stairs and the absence of a porter to help you with bags and the lack of elevator, unfortunately this service is not mandatory in one stars hotel and obviously we have no space to install an elevator (nor the chance, we are an old historical building). I don't understand why you did not ask for some help with your bags, as this is something we do everytime when somebody asks for that, with no extra and with a huge smile. Also, you could have asked for a room on the ground floor: there is one perfect room, which is a little bit small but useful when you don't wish to climb stairs.

I really hope to welcome you in the future again: this time, please ask for this special room not to carry your bags upstairs!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay at The Albergo Marin Hotel. Alexandra, Philipo and Fabio were all very gracious and helpful. It is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The rooms were extremely clean and up-to-date. It has WIFI in the common areas, and a very nice breakfast each morning. It is air-conditioned and heated, although the Government rigidly controls which months of the year these can be used. The front desk is manned 24 / 7 and all of our request were quickly handled to our satisfaction.

It is very convenient to all forms of transportation: bus station, train station, Vaporetto (water bus stops) an to the people mover for the cruise port.

We also walked to and from the hotel to the major areas of Venice several times without any difficulty. It is really a very small city area and has signs pointing out the way to the major areas (Saint Marks, Rialto, Accademia) and return.

A “wash-a-teria” self service laundry is just down the street.

We will stay here again on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir (and Madame),

thank you so much both for this review and your explanation. We all really appreciate your feedback (expecially Filippo, my brother, who tld me you were amazing).

Please come visiting us next time using our coupon discount we sent you an maybe trying a superior room.

Cheers from Venice

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy and comfortable apartment in Jewish Ghetto, near Guglie bridge and Strada Nova.

Albergo Marin management were very helpful when we needed to change booking as a friend from the UK decided to join us. Upgraded booking to the apartment.

Only issue was we couldn't find airconditioner remote and our friend got mozzie bites after opening the windows.

Value for money property, we had a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ruth,

thanks for your feedback! I really thank you for all and hope to welcome you soon. Next time you will find the remote control, It was hidden above the wardrobe, I don't know why :)

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights before our cruise. Filippo was wonderful and helpful in everyway assisting us in navigating this confusing ancient city. One block away from the Grand Canal. Across the Canal from train station and just 2 small bridges over to the right if you are arriving at bus station. Beautiful old property that has been updated with modern touches but still maintain its charm. Slept like baby with window open to courtyard below. Filippo gave us mosquito repellent plug in when we told him about the situation. Best advise is to bring the American ones from home where you can turn it on and leave it by your bedside. Breakfast was ample and as previous reviewers said, best cappuccino ever! This will be our home away from home whenever we are in Venice next. Cheers!
PS.... pack light when you come to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
San Francisco people, such a lovely town and good friends of us!

I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay and Filippo, my brother, was so helpful with you!

We all hope to welcome you soon again

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Venice
#116 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.