We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the train station yet quiet, excellent service and attentive staff, worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Marin to your Saves list
Albergo Marin
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
6% off booking directly
Ranked #107 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bernburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Near to the train station yet quiet, excellent service and attentive staff, worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nearly 20 years ago my husband found this hotel in a Rick Steves book. As a student on a rail pass for him it was a bonus that it was so close to the train station. And if you are longer away from home you'll enjoy having a laundromat next door.
About 5 years later he booked the same place when he traveled there with his parents. They asked for a bottle of wine, the owner made it possible (although they are not a restaurant) and they enjoyed their arrival to a great city.
Now with our 4-year-old we again stayed here, arrived on my husband's birthday and got a bottle of Prosecco and two glasses to our room. Because of the child we were also able to immediately check in after our night train early arrival, which was great. It's the little things which make you come back.
We also learned that better than taking boats from Ferrovia is the boat stop P. Le Rome as you enter the boat before the big crowds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Madame,

thanks a lot, it's an enormous pleasure reading your nice words. I appreciate you enjoyed your wine, also I hope to continue with this tradition, and meet you again in the future!

Take care of you all, see you soon!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    219
    76
    11
    9
See reviews for
87
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very nice atmosphere! The rooms were nice and clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel is close to the train and bus stations, so it was easy to get around.The staff as very helpful and the price was unbeatable. We will be staying again when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kristen,

thanks a lot for your nice review. Next time remember to come back using the discount coupon I gave you by e-mail, to get an extra 10% discount which is available only booking through our official website. Also, you could try our SUPERIOR double room with turkish bath, a little private wellness centre in Venice. Didi you check picture of that on facebook or on our official web page?

Take care of you all

Best wishes

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

very good service, friendly staff, Breakfast was nice. Most importantly, it was a 2 minute walk from the Ferrovia Vaparetto stop.(Santa Lucia train station). Cost effective and I would definitely recommend it for people going to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello,

we are really happy about your review. It's a pleasure knowing you enjoyed your stay here, so I really hope to welcome you in the future again (you or your friends).

Thanks, do not hesitate to use discount coupon we sent you by e-mail (it never ends, 10% discount booking on our official website)

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

very good service, friendly staff, it was the third stay and we always are very satisfied.
very quiet situated i a small street, in a short walk to the vaporetto and the Piazale Roma.
see forward to the next stay, my friends also are very pleased,

Room Tip: charming and excellent albergo with very friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Raymond,

thanks a lot for your nice review, I really appreciate it. We are also looking forward to welcome you again by us, together with your friends, to try our superior rooms, maybev :)

Take care of you all

Cheers

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed there for 2 days , were slightly skeptical about the place as it looks like a very small very ordinary place from the outside but once we entered the hotel i was sure we the place was no compromise. it was a very clean very neatly maintained hotel . more than anything else the owner of the place was very hospitable . we loved the place it was quite inexpensive. Even if i can pay more i would love to stay there on my next visit. its proximity to the station was an added advantage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Lovely review, lovely guest.

Dear friend, I'm so glad about your review I'd like to see you coming back here tomorrow, in order to show you what we are preparing now: two nice SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOMS, with turkish bath with 10 functions, to cuddle you more and more. You have to try that!

See you soon, thanks again!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A perfect little hotel, just right for a short stay. Rooms small but clean, location perfect (near train station, but down some side alleys that make it quiet and very "Venice"), staff friendly, price reasonable (rare here) and the cappuccino at breakfast was the best ever (says my wife, a daily cappuccino drinker and Europe regular, so pay attention...)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear friend,

thanks a lot for this nice review, it's a pleasure knowing you considered us as a gem. Actually it's true, we are refurbishing some rooms to increase our quality more and more, and make our nice guests always happier!

Regards, hope to welcome you here soon again

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Although this hotel is close to the train station, we had a disappointing stay with them and can only rate it as average. Upon arrival the front desk person was completely apathetic and was more interested in reading her book than checking us in. We finally got our key to our room and it was clean but the phone didn't work and the room safe was broken. As a result I had to walk down to the front desk - again, an apathetic reception and I was told that I was just not following the directions correctly. After going back up to the room, trying the safe again, I physically carried it down to reception (yup, wasn't even bolted down!). When I showed her the safe, she finally agreed that it was broken, but tried to blame it on me for breaking it! I was not impressed. And it took a full day to get the safe replaced. There were no doorknobs on the closet, so we had to pry it open with our fingers, a light bulb burnt out and was not replaced for 2 days, despite leaving the burnt out bulb on the desk in full view, and there was only one wall outlet in the room, which if you didn't get the plug-in "just right", it wouldn't connect properly. What this hotel needs is renovations with more modern upgrades. On a positive note, the continental breakfast downstairs had a nice variety and was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

I really apologize if our girl did not behave properly with you and was not so helpful as you say. It's also strange since we have several safes more than those we need, therefore it's very easy for us to change a broken one with a working safe. Also, referring to lights, we have a room full of bulbs, and we always substitute them once they do not work.

Concerning the doorknobs, I think you didn't use the door properly: it's brand new, and it's really easy to open it...I can't accept a complaint on that, sorry.

Finally, I'm happy you appreciated breakfast and cleaning, at least, as well as location

Best regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete, Santa Croce, 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Venice
#116 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.