We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible price and location in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Airone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Airone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Airone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 382 hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible price and location in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When staying in a 2 star or less or a hostel you expect 2 things.
1. is it clean
2. are there bugs

Hotel Airone was Clean and there were no Bugs The location was FANTASTIC in the beautiful Santa Croce Neighbourhood.

Breakfast looked decent but I didn't have it so I can't say much else about that.

The staff was pretty great and they let us leave our luggage for 9 hours after checkout while we waited for our ship and wandered Venice.

Coffee Machine had good coffee for 1 Euro too

Room Tip: see what you can do about getting a room that faces the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    41
    29
    39
See reviews for
16
68
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel located on the canal, just 3min walk from Piazzale Roma (transportation hub in Venice) and you have to cross only one bridge (rarity in Venice). From there you can get airport shuttle, people mover to cruise port and taxis. Continental breakfast are just juice/coffee/tea and couple of pastries. Tiny bathroom. No internet in the room. You have to carry all your luggage 15-20 steep stairs to the room (no elevator). We didn't expect much and booked it only because of location. We stayed one night after the cruise and left next morning for the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

OK... This is a 2 star hotel. Luxury you do not get. But... the location is fantastic. If you turn up late at night - as we did - on the bus from Treviso airport, you arrive at Place de la Roma & Airone is 3 minutes walk & right on The Grand Canal. Marble floors, all nice & clean; there is no reception which makes it feel a bit bleak but you check in at the Canal Hotel a few doors down - all very friendly & pleasant. The best bit was that we booked a twin bedded room with no en-suite bathroom & we were given a BIG room with a double bed (& 2 singles) + a shower (VG) & loo - & the bed was REALLY comfy... & there's aircon. Breakfast is... well... not great but hey, there's something to eat & drink & you have the whole of Venice on your doorstep; 2 minutes from 2 vaporetto stops. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the canal which would be the ones to ask for I should think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Airone was overall very cleanly. It was in a very good location (straight across from the train station). You had to get the key from the neighbouring hotel which was odd and no elevator. Not somewhere to stay if you want luxury but if it's just a place to keep your ports and lay your head at night....it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were really disappointed with this place. The only good thing I can say about it, is a good location.

We were unhappy because of:
- small and very neglected room
- the room also wasn't clean
- small breakfast
- not nice staff
- we were bitten by some flies every night

It does it jobs if you look for something cheap in a good location. However, after active day we did not feel like coming back there for a night. I am attaching the picture of our double room. I have compared it to the pictures of the same room taken one year ago. There is no improvements, for example broken blinds...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a "triple room with private bath" - Basically this was 3 twin beds in a room and a small bathroom. No elevators, and we had to pick up the room key from a neighboring hotel. The shower's spray was on a broken down pole-like apparatus. There was soap by the sink, but we brought some bars from home as another website had people complaining about a lack of soap, but we didn't have this situation. The beds were pushed together, and not the most comfortable, but then again this isn't a 5 star hotel.

The air conditioning was quite different then what we have at home. We took the A/C remote control with us to the nearby hotel where we retrieved the key for some help. The room did cool off nicely.

We chose this location as it was fairly close to where we needed to be to board a cruise ship, and we stayed in the city for 2 nights. There was a challenge with luggage as the hotel is past 2 bridges - which are ALL steps.

Aside from the location of the cruise ships, this hotel was right beside the Grand Canal, which made travel around the town a breeze. Just pick up the Vaporetto (canal boat/bus) and travel around the city. There are many restaurants nearby too. If you cross the next bridge past the hotel you can find a restaurant that actually makes omelets for breakfast, because most places are focused strictly on pastries and breads.

Be prepared to pay high prices for canned sodas in Venice...And make sure to go to the Rialto Market to see all the offerings from Fish to Fruit and stores with pretty treasures to bring home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We paid 75 euro for one night (no breakfast). Don't book this hotel if you want luxury. But the location was perfect for us, 5 minutes walking to the train station. Room 24 was clean, with a private bathroom, and we had a view of the Grand Canal! Hotel Airone is a good budgethotel for persons who don't spend much time in hotelrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Airone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.