We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luxury, but clean room and great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Airone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Airone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Airone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 381 hotels in Venice
Ninove, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No luxury, but clean room and great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We paid 75 euro for one night (no breakfast). Don't book this hotel if you want luxury. But the location was perfect for us, 5 minutes walking to the train station. Room 24 was clean, with a private bathroom, and we had a view of the Grand Canal! Hotel Airone is a good budgethotel for persons who don't spend much time in hotelrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    39
    25
    35
See reviews for
13
62
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it had rooms with a private bathroom for a decent price and for the location. It's right on the Grand Canal and an easy walk to the train station. The air conditioning did stop working, but it was cool enough when we were there that we didn't need it for the rest of our stay, so I can't comment on the response of the staff to fix it. The check-in a few feet away was not a problem. The desk did not have enough hair dryers to go around, which was a little inconvenient. The breakfast was adequate and tasty. Italians don't eat American-style breakfasts if they do eat breakfast, so the breakfast was croissants and jellies, and coffee or tea. Don't expect bacon and eggs. Also, there are stairs to get up to the rooms. No lift. Again, it's Europe. Expect to haul your stuff up a lot of stairs. Bottom line, this hotel was perfect for a place to sleep and shower. If you're in your room longer than that, you're not enjoying beautiful Venice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg,Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very small room that only fit a bed. The carpet is old, dirty and covered with dubious stains. Toilet and bath are shared, toilet seemed clean but the drains in the bath were blocked so dirty water covered your feet. No shampoo or anything. But worst the water was cold. We paid 135 euro a night for this due to a late cancellation of our hotel booking in a Biennale busy Venice. The reception is in the neighbor hotel which mean you have to lock yourself in at the front door. We could only get one key which meant you had to come home at same time/ or as others did bank heavily on the door making noise in all the building. First night there was loud hammering trough out the night until workers took over in the morning. The star is for the fresh and clean towels that were changed very day and the clean toilet. The stay was like a joke: Everything than can go wrong went wrong. We named it worst holiday room ever. To be fair I should say I think we got the worst room. Change and up grade was not possible. Located near the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station. The reception though was in the next hotel. They were not courteous and were keen to get rid of us once the paperwork and formalities were complete. The shower cubicle was tiny and flimsy. Air conditioning unit was present but the remote control was missing. It is probably an additional cost to request for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a very old hotel. I considered our stay there as a camping trip. The bed was sub par. There was no air conditioning even though the description says they have it. Yes, they have it but we were there in May and they don't turn it on in May. I will say the location is great. Seriously, you get off the train, walk across the bridge, turn right and walk along the canal and it is right there. The bus station is similarly close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 13th till 15th February 2013 and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel's location is very strategic where by, it is right opposite of the Venezia Santa Lucia train station. We just had to cross the grand canal via Ponte Scalzi (located on the left when exiting the train station), turn right, walk few meters and the hotel is seen. It can't be missed.

However, we had to go to Hotel Canal which is right near by to check in and receive our key as Hotel Airone does not have a reception and is incorporated with Hotel Canal. This instruction will be written on the entrance of Hotel Airone. It was weird but who cares when you have a cheap and cozy hotel on a very strategic location. So after check in and receiving our personal keys (a key for our room and another for the hotel entrance), we had to walk back to Hotel Airone and carry our bags to our room via the stairs. Troublesome without a lift but for a cheap price for a good accommodation, it's worth adjusting.

After all da hassle, the room was worthy. It was spacious, clean and had a queen bed with an extra single bed. From the window, we could see the view of the grand canal and the gondolas floating on the river bank with vaporettos cruising along the cold water. Venice was beautiful at night and not forgetting the day. We very lucky to get the beautiful view from our room. The bathroom on the other hand, was basic but was very clean and had toiletries and fresh clean towels. The only drawback for us was that the hotel did not have wifi and we had to go to Hotel Canal to purchase and use the wifi to check in our flight.

Before our day tour started, we dropped by Hotel Canal and enquired about the suggestion of places to visit in Venice including purchased a map of Venice there. The map was only 50cent. I can say that's the cheapest you can find in Venice. Even the tourist information booth sells it expensive. Once again, I would emphasis that the hotel is very strategic as just across the grand canal, right beside the train station, there is a tourist information booth where we were guided to buy the right Vaporetto pass to accommodate our travel in Venice including our early morning trip to Marco Polo airport.

Apart from that, having a personal key set was an advantage, as there was no curfew and we could be in and out as late as we want. Moreover, the reception in Hotel Canal is open 24/7 and it was rather convenient for us as we had to check out very early in the morning on 15th February. Our convenience was pretty sure their inconvenience that early in the morning but no grumpy faces were shown and we were sent off with a warm pleasant smile including given a very easy direction to Piazza Roma to catch our airport bus.

As I said, initially it was weird that Hotel Airone had a reception counter in Hotel Canal but as time passed, we got used to it. Good job to both the hotels and thank you Hotel Airone for a cozy stay while, thank you Hotel Canal for your hospitality.

As a whole, Hotel Airone is a convenient hotel which offers comfort for a cheap price. It's for sure worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice
Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 381 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Airone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.