We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Airone to your Saves list
Hotel Airone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station. The reception though was in the next hotel. They were not courteous and were keen to get rid of us once the paperwork and formalities were complete. The shower cubicle was tiny and flimsy. Air conditioning unit was present but the remote control was missing. It is probably an additional cost to request for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    54
    33
    43
See reviews for
24
106
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a very old hotel. I considered our stay there as a camping trip. The bed was sub par. There was no air conditioning even though the description says they have it. Yes, they have it but we were there in May and they don't turn it on in May. I will say the location is great. Seriously, you get off the train, walk across the bridge, turn right and walk along the canal and it is right there. The bus station is similarly close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 13th till 15th February 2013 and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel's location is very strategic where by, it is right opposite of the Venezia Santa Lucia train station. We just had to cross the grand canal via Ponte Scalzi (located on the left when exiting the train station), turn right, walk few meters and the hotel is seen. It can't be missed.

However, we had to go to Hotel Canal which is right near by to check in and receive our key as Hotel Airone does not have a reception and is incorporated with Hotel Canal. This instruction will be written on the entrance of Hotel Airone. It was weird but who cares when you have a cheap and cozy hotel on a very strategic location. So after check in and receiving our personal keys (a key for our room and another for the hotel entrance), we had to walk back to Hotel Airone and carry our bags to our room via the stairs. Troublesome without a lift but for a cheap price for a good accommodation, it's worth adjusting.

After all da hassle, the room was worthy. It was spacious, clean and had a queen bed with an extra single bed. From the window, we could see the view of the grand canal and the gondolas floating on the river bank with vaporettos cruising along the cold water. Venice was beautiful at night and not forgetting the day. We very lucky to get the beautiful view from our room. The bathroom on the other hand, was basic but was very clean and had toiletries and fresh clean towels. The only drawback for us was that the hotel did not have wifi and we had to go to Hotel Canal to purchase and use the wifi to check in our flight.

Before our day tour started, we dropped by Hotel Canal and enquired about the suggestion of places to visit in Venice including purchased a map of Venice there. The map was only 50cent. I can say that's the cheapest you can find in Venice. Even the tourist information booth sells it expensive. Once again, I would emphasis that the hotel is very strategic as just across the grand canal, right beside the train station, there is a tourist information booth where we were guided to buy the right Vaporetto pass to accommodate our travel in Venice including our early morning trip to Marco Polo airport.

Apart from that, having a personal key set was an advantage, as there was no curfew and we could be in and out as late as we want. Moreover, the reception in Hotel Canal is open 24/7 and it was rather convenient for us as we had to check out very early in the morning on 15th February. Our convenience was pretty sure their inconvenience that early in the morning but no grumpy faces were shown and we were sent off with a warm pleasant smile including given a very easy direction to Piazza Roma to catch our airport bus.

As I said, initially it was weird that Hotel Airone had a reception counter in Hotel Canal but as time passed, we got used to it. Good job to both the hotels and thank you Hotel Airone for a cozy stay while, thank you Hotel Canal for your hospitality.

As a whole, Hotel Airone is a convenient hotel which offers comfort for a cheap price. It's for sure worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had an acceptable stay at Hotel Airone in Venice. The room for 4 was extremely cramped for our family of 4. We never could get the wifi to work, and the lobby-based computer wasn't very helpful either. The location was good for us though, and accommodations were adequate for the price. Breakfast was good but felt awkward because the dining room was full of guests' luggage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked a family room for 4 people and our room was really spacious and we a great view pvet the grand canal ... Wow!!! Breakfast was basic but good. You have your own keys and you are free to move with no problem

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#297 of 383 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Cannaregio
Alloggi Agli Artisti
Alloggi Agli Artisti
#263 of 383 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel alla Salute
Hotel alla Salute
#304 of 383 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#276 of 383 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#295 of 383 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#240 of 383 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Airone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.