We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Save Saved
You added Locanda Orseolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Orseolo
Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 427 Venice B&B and Inns
Ampthill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

This was our 5th stay at the Orseolo. That probably tells you everything!
Thank you Barbara, Gigi, Igor, Alex for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    39
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
198
656
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We've stayed in many wonderful hotels but can honestly say that the Locanda Orseolo is outstanding. Barbara, Gigi, Alex and all of the team made us feel like long-standing favourite friends from the moment we arrived; always greeting us by name & being interested in what we hoped to see and do. They also went out of their way to make reservations for us at a number of mouth-wateringly good restaurants. The rooms in the Locanda Orseolo are large; fabulously appointed & spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a must with omelettes to die for & the crepes were some of the best we've eaten. This is an absolute gem of a hotel which we're very much looking forward to returning to & which we can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Our trip to Venice was made special by the wonderful hospitality of the staff of Locanda Orseolo. I cannot think of how it could be improved upon. We were treated like their only guests. The hotel's charm was only surpassed by it's cleanliness and overall comfort. The breakfasts were to die for. We would never stay anywhere else in Venice!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

All the excellent reviews were right on target. The family and staff of this B&B are outstanding. They made you feel at home from the time we made our reservations to the time we said our goodbyes. All the staff knew our names and helped us to book concert tickets and even got a special wine for us from their other hotel (Hotel Ponte Antico). We also visited the other location as they suggested because of the view from the balcony. They recommended a wonderful Osteria called Barababao. Food and service was wonderful. I can not say enough about all they did for us. Our rooms were richly decoarted, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and included eggs any way wanted plus the added bonus of crepes. Breakfast buffet opened early for us on the day of our departure. All the guests that we met at the hotel also were very happy about their experiences here. Many were return guests. Book your stay here. You will not be disappointed! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Locanda Orseolo exceeded all expectations. The staff are wonderful and could not have been more welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. My room was lovely, with a view over a side canal. The breakfasts are wholesome with plenty of choice and the staff will prepare your coffee and eggs exactly how you desire. I wholeheartedly recommend the Locanda Orseolo.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

This hotel is a must ! Situated two minutes off San Marco, the family who run the place couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. All the staff make you feel so welcome as soon as you step through, was is quite a well hidden door. This only adds to the charm as it feels like you've discovered something special, which you have.
Rooms are impeccably decorated in a very ornate and venetian style. Large and comfortable bed might prevent you from getting down in time for a delicious breakfast. We made the mistake of closing the shutters and nearly missed it but as nothing is too much trouble we weren't made to feel in any way a nuisance, far from it!
The scenes in San Marco were the icing on the cake.
Would not stay anywhere else in Venice except perhaps their other establishment which looks fantastic but a bit out of our price range! Ponte Antico not surprisingly the top Tripadvisor hotel at the moment.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I have travelled the world and can honesty say the Locanda Orseolo is the best hotel ive ever been too. The location is perfect, the rooms large and luxurious and the staff are soooo helpful and nice.
Many hotelliers in venice dont care about their guests as they think "hey more tourist will be coming tomorrow". Not at the Locanda Orseolo, they treat every guest as they are a personal friend!!
I impore you to stay in this hotel if you are travelling to Venice and say "Ciao" to Gili, Alex, Barbara, Burno and Igor for us!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Address: Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 427 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Orseolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.