We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary staff and service. Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Orseolo to your Saves list
Locanda Orseolo
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 441 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary staff and service. Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Knowledgeable, courteous and dedicated staff. Central yet secluded location in Venice with boat taxis and gondolas right outside the hotel. We had one small child with us and were comfortable. Beds are firm and shorter than American beds. The room had two Murphy fold down beds plus a fairly comfortable queen size bed. The bathroom has a bidet and heated towel racks (not working). The air conditioning was nice. The amenities were quite nice with toothbrushes and toothpaste provided and nice soaps, nightstands had pencils and pad of paper. The breakfasts had a good selection of fruit, yogurt, meats and cheeses as well as granola, juices, cake and pastry also. Staff cooked eggs and crepes on request. Restaurant bookings were handled easily by staff even if it was not a restaurant they recommended in their room brochure. Though they never seemed to find our reservation at the restaurants we were welcomed anyway. The only issue we had was noise. We learned to close the wood shutters to mute the gondola and water taxi noises but the room's door had a gap under it that let in a lot of noisy hotel guests sounds. Overall a very nice stay with a superb staff.

Room Tip: The Arlecchino (Harlequin) Room on the first floor has is quite good for a family with small childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    43
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
210
728
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at Locanda Orseolo for my husbands surprise birthday getaway.....wow what can I say......we arrived by private boat from the docks, (which was kindly organised for us by Gigi) and climbed in through the window....great fun!. We were greeted by name by Igor who showed us to the room and explained how everything worked. We were in a superior room overlooking the courtyard (Giandulya) which was gorgeous and very quiet. I imagine a canal room would be less quiet. All the little extras are great (toiletries, tea/coffee/hairdryer etc).
Breakfast...fresh fruit crepes and latte's were delicious.
All the staff were extremely helpful offering directions etc and a special mention to Lorenzo who was great and even offered us drinks once we had checked out and returned to collect our luggage.
We will return here next year. Before we booked Locanda Orseola I wanted to stay at the Hotel Danieli as I had seen it in lots of movies. We took a trip to the Danieli and wandered around....All I can say is that I am very pleased we chose to stay at the Locanda Orseolo instead. I'm sure no one in the Danieli would have remembered our name!.
If you are planning to go to Venice stay at Locanda Orseolo......you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here on our pre-cruise nights in Venice. The hotel was beyond our expectations with the staff providing perfect hospitality which is what sets it apart from many other places I have stayed.
The rooms are on the small side but that is typical for Venice. A hot breakfast cooked to order and a buffet get the day off to a great start. The location is 5 minutes to Saint Marks and the side canal location allows a water taxi to bring you right to the canal side door. The staff was very responsive to emails regarding all arrangements for transfer from the airport and all other questions. The only negative is the bedding which was on the firm side with stiff pillows. Read other reviews and don.t pass up the opportunity to stay at wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: A canal side room provided interesting views of the water way of life in Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Venice. Gigi and his staff could not have been better. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The breakfast was wonderful. The location was ideal. We could explore the city in one direction, come back to freshen up and head out again to another area. They coordinated us sharing a water taxi with another couple to the dock to meet our cruise ships. This saved time and money. Plus, the water taxi ride to the dock was a beautiful experience. We recommended them to a couple from Georgia on our gondola ride. Since we have returned home, my husband has recommend them to a co-worker. I hope we get to come back to Venice and the Locanda Orseolo again. Amazing city!.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small courtyard and was very quiet. No water views but that was not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Sorry to have taken so long to write my review. We stayed in May for our wedding anniversary. We just love coming back to see our friends and still is the best place to stay in Venice even in Italy. Our best wishes to Gigi, Barbara, Igor and Lorenzo for making our stay so delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our first trip to venice and it was spectacular thanks to the Locanda Orseolo. The staff was amazing. They returned all my emails very promptly and answered all the questions thoroughly. The room was a great size and very quiet. Lorenzo and Davad? Had great suggestions for our dinners, which were great. Hot breakfast was delicious. (Especially the crepes and scrambled eggs) They also were a great help with figuring out the public water taxis and any other questions we had. The location was perfect and close to everything. We were sad to leave. Definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to venice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is truly a gem. Everyone at Locanda Orseolo seemed genuinely happy to meet us, talk with us, provide recommendations, and help us out in any way possible. I've never felt more welcome at a hotel/BnB. The location was absolutely perfect - once you walk through the gate separating the crowds of San Marco from the courtyard of Locanda Orseolo, the noise just disappears. We had a WONDERFUL stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Address: Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Orseolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.