We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Save Saved
You added Locanda Orseolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Orseolo
Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 427 Venice B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was like staying with an excellent family. The location was good, near San Marco, but in a private courtyard. My daughter loved looking out of our windows at the gondoliers. Breakfast was great as well. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Venice. Our only complaint was that the boats in the canal next to our room were quite loud in the mornings, but that is part of being in venice after all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    39
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
198
661
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews...I booked direct through the hotel and I received e-mail confirmation pretty quickly - all of my e-mail correspondence to the hotel was answered promptly and the information provided was very helpful. This was my first trip to Venice and we stayed here for 4 nights in April of 2014. Our room was very small, but adequate. We were greeted warmly at check in. When we first entered our hotel room we were a little disappointed; I knew it would be small and cozy, but it was even smaller then we were anticipating -- it was dated, very small, a little dark, etc .
I was traveling with a very good female friend and if we were not such good friends it would have been uncomfortable staying in such tight quarters. I would only stay in the room we had with a very close friend or my husband or my Mom or alone (you get the idea)...it would be too small for anything else. We had to move out of each other's way to get into the bathroom. The bathroom had a sliding pocket door and does not give much privacy in regard to noise, and the bathroom is tiny, with almost no counter space. With that said, the room had everything we needed and we did not have any problems; it was clean and well-kept. As the days went by I came to like the little room...even though it was not quite what I was initially expecting. I can't remember what the room was called (they each have names) but it had a long name and a painting on the wall with a guy who is drinking out of a bottle of wine; it was a standard room with a double bed. We did have to walk up a few flights of stairs to get to our room - which we knew in advance and was no problem.
Each side of the bed had a built-in wardrobe to hang clothes in - which was perfect for us. the window opened up to the courtyard below (no screen on the window which appears to be the norm outside of the United States) The bed had a ledge/shelf which had plug ins on both sides so we could charge IPhones and camera batteries easily. The WIFI worked well for us - it was quick enough to use FaceTime on an IPhone to the United States. Every single one of the staff members were extremely nice, helpful, and accommodating. The location cannot be beat. No matter how lost you get (and you will get lost), you can always find your way back to St. Mark's Square and then easily find your hotel no matter how tired you are or how late/dark it is. Print the little map they send to you via e-mail and then when you get to St. Mark's Square you will understanding were to walk diagonal across the square (the corner of the street you take off of St. Mark's Square has typewriters in the window on the right hand side- you will know what I mean when you see it) Again, I cannot state how easy it is to find your hotel...this will make you very happy at the end of each day.
We came back to the hotel late most nights, so most of our interactions were with the newest member of the staff, I'm embarrassed to admit, that I cannot remember his name, but he was young and worked the night shift - he greeted us by name, was very helpful, he looked up train schedules for us, talked to us about restaurants, gave us a lot of helpful information, and he was extremely nice. In addition, each morning the staff greeted us by name, offered us breakfast and coffee - we usually just got a quick bite to eat from the small buffet - roll, meat , cheese and the staff made us an Italian Espresso each day--which I absolutely love. They always offered to cook us something if we wanted something hot...like crepes, eggs, etc. - we did not have them cook anything for us, but the other guests seemed to really enjoy the food; especially the crepes.
I will stay here on all of my future visits to Venice - the staff and the location are awesome; we could not have hoped for better on our first trip to Venice - I was extremely happy with this hotel because of the location and the staff...they made our stay awesome! The staff here, is by far, the most helpful, friendliest, most accommodating hotel staff I have ever encountered anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June with our 2 teenagers. It was a great find. The staff were kind and so accommodating. We loved our evening drinks looking out the windows onto the canal, the glass chandeliers in the guest rooms and the crepes at breakfast. A very convenient location but also a bit out of the way. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Courtyard view not much to speak of but certainly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The friendly and helpful staff made my 2 night stay a pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Not only did they provide directions to all the places I wished to find. They arranged transport (leaving through the window) recommended restaurants and made sure I was given directions. No request was a hassle. I would definitely recommend Locanda Orseolo and stay there again.
The room was spacious and the bathroom surprisingly large for a Venetian hotel.
The location is perfect and easy to find. The breakfast is surprisingly good for a B/B and the Crepe a real treat.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and although no view of the canal it was probably more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Not only is this small intimate hotel in the perfect position it is run by family who I found to be genuinely warm & friendly. From the moment I made our reservation to the day we departed all expectations were exceeded. Every staff member introduced themselves & remembered our names for the rest of our stay. They would greet us in the mornings, ask what we were doing that day, then offer advice. Nothing was too much trouble, it truly felt like visiting old friends.
The rooms are all furnished in Venetian style with frescoes on the walls, this made us still feel connected to Venice when we were in our room.
When we were leaving Gigi gave us some great information on Paris, our next destination.
Don't hesitate, stay here & explore Venice with the help of true Venetians.

Room Tip: Request a canal side room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

While many locations in Venice are very pricey, this one has location and service of offerings.

Front desk personnel were very knowledgeable about navigating the night mare of streets in Venice. They provided advice and maps with good directions.

The location is right off st marks square. Follow the directions very closely. Coming from the train station, make sure you are taking the correct line to get to the proper waterbus station at st mark's.

Place was clean, rooms ver a littler tight, but manageable. Remember you are right on a canal in Venice, so there is noise, but trade that for the singing gondoliers and church bells...

Room Tip: Get a room facing the canal- what a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night end of June with my fiancé, wish I had stayed longer!!! Everything was amazing, the service, the breakfast, location, recommendations-anything. Very personal experience, you are always greeted by name. I can't say anything bad about the B&B, it was a heartwarming stay. Rooms are a little on the smaller side, but still comfortable - don't let it deter you! We can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Address: Corte Zorzi, San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 427 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Orseolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.