We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect,quiet,convenient location.great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
westport, ct
1 review
“perfect,quiet,convenient location.great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Excellent,well informedand helpful front desk. Gorgeous , very clean room with fantastic view of Grand canal. Location was primo, vaporetto(public transportation) right outside the door. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite,nice sized sitting room plus bedroom. The bathroom was off the sitting room which is a better configuration. Breakfast was better then a standard continental. Absolutely a Top Elegant Small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    107
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
358
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

To begin, we booked a standard double room and were upgraded to a junior suite canal view so I'm sure my views are a little bit biased. But we had a look at a few other rooms at this hotel and talked to a number of guests and can safely say that our experience wasn't unique.

We originally booked the Dei Dogi but were put off by some recent negative reviews and our concerns at its location. Best move we've made on our trip thus far. The Palazzo Sant Angelo is situated right on the Grand Canal, with a 10 minute walk to the Accademia Bridge and about a 5 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. 15 minutes gets you to Saint Marks. And there's a vaporetto/Alilaguna stop right outside so getting in from the airport and around the city is a breeze.

The staff are great (even discounting our upgrade) and the decor and design of the hotel are unmatched. Yes, the drinks are incredibly overpriced (but where aren't they in Venice??) and the wireless internet charges border on theft but when you take the whole package in it can't be beat. If you are lucky enough to get room 118 forget the hotel bar... go to the local deli and pick up some beers/wine and you'll have an even better view from your room than from the bar. We secretly enjoyed the jealous looks of the folks floating by on the frequent vaporettos. And our friends loved the pictures of the Rialto from our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Since it was our first time in Venice, I did not want us to have to drag our suitcases through the beautiful but winding streets trying to find our hotel. Palazzo Sant'Angelo is perfect in every way. Hop off the waterbus and enter the lovely hotel. They held our suitcases and directed us with a map to the Palazzo San Marco till afternoon when our room would be ready. Had a lovely afternoon and then was amazed at our beautifully appointed room. We had a suite because had 3 people so we did not face the canal, but no complaints at all. The breakfast at the hotel was amazing , the best we had in Italy. Service at the hotel is excellent. They directed us to outstanding restaurants and helped with transportation questions. We loved this hotel and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night while on a short visit to Venice. Everything was perfect. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the Grand Canale with beautiful tapestry walls, a walk-in closet, huge marble bathroom. The hotel is close to transportation alternatives, a short walk to St Marks and Rialto, and has helpful and friendly staff. Our entire stay was excellent in every aspect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Palazzo Sant' Angelo is an exceptional hotel. The location is fantastic, the rooms beautiful and the staff courteous and very helpful. We were treated to an upgrade to a spectacular room over looking the Grand Canal.

The only disappointment was having to leave!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Positives:

Very friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble
Beautiful rooms (ours was a suite overlookin the grand canal)
Nice Breakfast
Near Vaperetto stop (Sant Angelo)
High 4 stars - leaning towards five.
Perfect to an authentic italian experiance - very romantic and charming hotel
Far away enough to get some peace and quite but only 10mins from Rialto if working

Negatives:

Slighlty pricey (6 euros for water) but consistent with Venice
No iron in room (but we knew that before and took travel iron)

Overall

Great experience. if you want a personalised service from an italian style boutique hotel you will not be disappointed. If you want grand oppulance, the go to the Bauer or Cipriani.
This hotel is perfect for a romantic break away.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Palazzo Sant'Angelo the last two days of our nine day Italian trip. The hotel is less than 50 yards from the Vaporetto Stop. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready so they said to go to Rialto for an hour and we will have it ready. When we returned we were upgraded to a luxury suite directly on the Grand Canal. The room was beautiful and so were the views from the balcony overlooking the Grand Canal.
The room was a little pricey as well as the drinks from the mini bar (7Euro Coke) and the drinks from the bar the breakfast made up for it. Huge breakfast with eggs, bacon, pastries, yoguarts, and fresh fruits. We really enjoyed staying at the hotel and recommend it for those who don't mind paying the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#25 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#17 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#15 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
San Marco
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#30 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#55 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.