We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Gorgeous hotel with immaculate rooms and service. The breakfast was outstanding and the appointments (beds, bathrooms, accents) were what one would imagine in a top European hotel. The location was walkable to all attractions and the proximity of the water taxi was perfect. No question I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    97
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
304
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here at the tail end of our trip to Italy. It's a very charming hotel that seems to be from another era. Plush reds with gold accents, green marble and heavy cream drapes, very authentic Venetian style.

We enjoyed the hotel, and the location is great.

My only complaint? I should have booked the canal view suite......

Breakfast in the morning was a buffet, and was great - coffee served straight away and good options for eating. The dining area was small, and not easy to talk given the place was full of Americans who seem to enjoy being loud instead of respectful for other diners.

We would stay here again - but next time in a suite over the canal.

Room Tip: Don't cheap out on the room - canal view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the jr suite overlooking the Grand Canal. Well worth it! The staff was very warm and friendly. They promptly answered my numerous emails before booking and arrival. The buffet breakfast was very nice. And the location can't be beat. It was close to everything, but away from the crowds. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here last month for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay, and most of all the view! This was my third trip to Venice and my favorite location for a hotel - close to St. Marks with a private dock but off a small alley and quiet at night. There's a square around the corner from the hotel with several restaurant options that are less crowded than St. Marks area too. Our room was nice and breakfast was small but good. Staff was very friendly and we had a welcome bottle of prosecco waiting for us in our room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
955 reviews 955 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a very small hotel but in a tremendous location. It is right on the Grand Canal and you can stand on your balcony and see the Rialto bridge in the evening groups of gondolas come by playing music for their passengers. The rooms are the most charming in all of Venice. To get to St. Marks you must go down a small alley next to the hotel. The breakfast was ood

Room Tip: Ask for a canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband chose this hotel for our honeymoon.
It is a magical place. Impressive location - right on the Grand Canal. Immaculate internal decor. It looks chic and yet it is small enough to feel cosy and intimate (private luxury). Staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. You get the best of both worlds - top level luxury hotel service and personal friendly face recognition of a private residence.
I was very impresed with our room decoration - draped walls, beautiful curtains, even see through mechanical (watchlike design) bathroom scales could be exibited in a museum of fine art.
Exceptionally clean.
We were offered a complimentary bottle of red wine upon arrival. There is also a selection of fresh apples available to guests throughout the day displayed on trays in the hall and on staircase landing. Lounge is very cosy and there are newspapers and lovely glossy magazines to browse through over a glass of Spritz.
It is within short walking distance from several lively squares with restaurants and shops. St Marks square is not far either.
It is a beautiful beautiful place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Arriving at the Sant'Angelo was surprisingly easy, as the hotel is perhaps 20 feet from the Sant'Angelo water bus stop (they also have their own dock). The hotel sits on the Grand Canal, and several outdoor tables and chairs provide a prime, yet relatively private view. Saint Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge are each about a ten minute walk, with some shops and good restaurants just a few minutes away. The hotel staff was exceedingly helpful and courteous, providing personal service. We were upgraded to junior suites, and the rooms were very spacious, with traditional Venetian wall coverings. Departure from the Sant'Angelo was also surprisingly easy, even in rainy weather, as the porter loaded all our luggage on a trolley and delivered it right into the water bus loading platform-- a fitting end to a perfect visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.