We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 382 hotels in Venice
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There are a lot of hotels to choose from in Venice, but you would be hard pressed to do better than the Palazzo Sant' Angelo. Incredibly friendly and helpful front desk staff, excellent Sestiere San Marcos location on the Grand Canal next to a Vaporetto stop in basically the center of Venice.

Our Junior Grand Canal Suite was spacious with a beautiful bathroom, walk-in closet/depressing area and a nice sized bedroom with glass doors opening onto small balconies overlooking the Grand Canal. The Rialto Bridge is visible in the view to the right. A small buffet breakfast is included each morning. You are within a 30 minute walk from just about anything in Venice. I was a little concerned about the possible noise level on the Grand Canal, but the room was actually pretty quiet. The only downside I saw is the lack of free WiFi, it is available but fairly pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    88
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
278
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Palazzo Sant Angelo is an upscale luxury hotel right on the Grand Canal. Our room was exceptionally spacious and the décor was very old world Venetian. The location could not be any better, only minutes from St Mark's Square or the Rialto Bridge. Being right on the Grand Canal made transfers by water taxi to and from the airport or cruise ship extremely easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving directions and even giving us an umbrella for our gondola ride. The breakfast each morning was excellent with a variety of both hot and cold selections. We chose the Romantic Package offered by the Hotel and it was worth it. The Champagne on arrival was great, the dinner at Antinoo's was fabulous and the staff outstanding. The gondola ride through the canals of Venice was truly romantic. We recommend this hotel as it is away from the crowd but only minutes from all the action.

Room Tip: We had a room without a canal view but it was large, well decorated and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I had booked a cruise that departed from Venice so we required an hotel room for one night before we boarded the ship. I read some of the very positive reviews of this hotel, so decided to book here. Some of the hotels near San Marco are lovely, but in the tourist season, it can be just too crowded so we were thrilled to find this hotel in a more quiet location. We arrived quite late in the evening after a long journey and our spirits lifted when we went to check in at reception. The front desk staff were amazing. We were in our room in minutes and had been given a gorgeous room overlooking the Grand Canal. The room itself was immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable. The next morning we had the buffet breakfast, which was delicious. We booked a launch to go to the ship and before we left, the concierge said to be sure to phone him if we needed anything further while we were in Venice. I was stunned by his kindness and the staff waved us off on our journey. What more can you ask of an hotel?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is the perfect base for a stay in Venice. It may not be quite so good for a large group, or families with children, but for couples it is really ideal ! And, like most of Venice, this may not be the place if you have mobility problems. The location is superb, especially if you take a balcony room overlooking the Grand Canal. It has its own pier for water taxis, and is only 30 metres from the S.Angelo #1 Vaporetto (water bus) stop. On foot you are not much more than 10 or 15 minutes from any of the main attractions, and there is an ATM and Supermarket within 5 minutes.
The fact that this hotel does not offer dinner is not an issue, as again you can get to pretty much any restaurant within a 15 minute walk, and there are so many good ones to choose from ! In the morning the sun catches the opposite side of the Canal, which makes for an interesting view, whilst by late afternoon it moves around to bathe the small seating area outside the front of the hotel, where drinks and snacks are served from the Bar. The 'clubby' bar is itself a good feature. The hotel is presented as a 4* establishment, and goes on to exceed expectations; so much better than those that aspire to 5 stars and then don't make it (eg compare my review of Coopmanshuis in Stellenbosch, South Africa for the opposite experience). Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable in advance of our stay, and were equally efficient and friendly while we were there. Our room (Junior Suite) was large and comfortable, with a large marble bathroom and adequate storage room. Everything was in good condition, and looked as if it had been fairly recently refurbished. Probably the one weakness is breakfast, which takes place in a rather small area which can feel quite cramped at busy times. The food selection is adequate, but not sparkling, though service was friendly and attentive. We would certainly stay at this hotel again, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others. You can book through Small Luxury Hotels of the World on slh.com

Room Tip: Take a balcony room on the Grand Canal if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Taking a water taxi to our hotel was a first for us. We were welcomed by no less than five of the staff, who greeted us warmly, and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very large, and we were provided with a complimentary bottle of champagne. The breakfast area is small, but selection was good, and service excellent. The location on the Grand Canal was perfect. We walked everywhere, and had easy access to shopping, restaurants, and historic sights. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here several times since the Palazzo Sant'Angelo first opened and always enjoy our stay and look forward to coming back. Staff is always very pleasant and hotel is very clean. Location Is great -- easy walk or vaporetto ride to everywhere.
Few minor complaints is charging for the Wi-Fi and the price of water in the mini bar. Both should be complementary at the rates they charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the size of our large room and bathroom in this hotel. We even had a sitting room with complimentary wine when we arrived! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean, very nice hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#39 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.