We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 381 hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service and excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of our 4 city honeymoon and we loved this hotel. First, the service was very friendly and everyone always said hello. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Also, this place had the best ac in italy! Which was great on the HOT summer days. There is also a bar that offered a spritz and snacks special everyday in the early evening. The drinks and snacks were great. The bartender was also very nice and searched for an outlet adapter for me because I left mine in my room! Finally the LOCATION was perfect. There is a waterbus stop right outside the hotel. ]You can also walk to the rialto and the academia bridge. (if you can navigate the walkways and bridges) also FYI your gps probably works on tablet and smartphone! It will come in handy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    86
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
262
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

12 of our extended family spent 2 nights here before going on a cruise. This is a very well run boutique property on the canal grande. The hotel accommodated our family in 5 rooms on one floor , made some excellent restaurant recommendations for our dinners and the service across the property was outstanding. Of particular note was the bar service and concierge services which always went that extra mile. The breakfast area was perhaps a bit too small for the size of the property and could do with being bigger, but everyone was always accommodated.Given Venice can get busy and many folks visit only once, this property made us feel that we would be always welcome back.

Room Tip: the suites overlooking the canal grande are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights, and we loved this place. It is right on the water on the grand canal, great views, easily walked to all destinations. We had asked for interconnecting rooms, and the rooms we got were amazing. It was more like a suite, walked into a very large living room and the bedrooms were on either side with separate bathrooms. We did have to pay for internet service, but not a deal breaker for this place ( It should be free ).We took a private boat from the airport to the hotel. I highly recommend the private boat service, a little costly, but it starts the whole Venice experience on the right foot. All the staff was extremely friendly, advised us on restaurants, breakfast was good. I would highly recommend this place, and so would my kids, and would gladly return!

Room Tip: If traveling with family , ask for connecting rooms, huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A lovely hotel, beautifully situated with wonderful staff, except one particular gentleman at the front desk! Everyone in our party felt the same, so I know it just wasn't me. A little warmer, not so condescending would have made for a better stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. They upgraded us to a Deluxe Suite with a Canal view and I'm so glad they did.

We arrived at night at the Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, and took a boat taxi to the hotel. The staff helped us with our luggage right away. The check in process was very smooth, but we did have to pay for internet. The room decor was victorian with the wall paper and the drapes, where as the bathroom was modern; regardless both were super clean and well-maintained. The grand canal was right outside our balcony, and the view, especially early mornings, was breathtaking. Super romantic! We were visiting at a time when there aren't many tourists, so there was no noise from the canal.

The location was very close to restaurants, and regardless where you wanted to go the front desk was very helpful in giving directions. They will help you organize tours, private gondola pick up from the hotels, and absolutely anything else you wanted. Also, if one of the days if you didn't feel like walking through the streets, the hotel is very close to a water public transportation stop. Hotel stop is only one or two stops away from the Rialto bridge.

I took off a star, because one of the nights we walked into our room and as we closed our door.. bang! - a wooden slab covering the vents in the ceiling fell and hit my fiancé on the head. Luckily it was very light, and he didn't experience any major injury. The staff fixed it for us right away!

Overall - Beautiful views of the canal + Great staff + Good breakfast + Watch the ceiling.... jk

Def recommend this hotel + would go back again!

Room Tip: Def get the canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My 17 year old granddaughter and I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Great location -the water bus stops right outside the front door. The hotel is close to the Rialto bridge and several campos (squares). Our room was large and our bathroom was huge. Good buffet breakfast and a nice bar. The decor was a little ornate for my taste, but everything was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that we had to pay for wi-fi - which was expensive. We visited Rome Florence and Paris and this was the only hotel where we paid for wi-fi access. It seems that this caliber hotel should be offering wi-fi for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a recent cruise in the Mediterranean that ended in Venice we decided to stay a few nights in this wonderful Italian city. It had been a few years since we visited Venice and decided for this trip we really wanted to stay in a great location right on the Grand Canal. We chose this hotel for our stay and it was the perfect property. The location was ideal, right on the Grand Canal with a Vaporetto stop less than 200 feet away. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful including organizing our transportation from the cruise ship to the hotel. Also, there is a great bar that overlooks the Grand Canal. For this trip we decided to treat ourselves and spend the extra money to have a room that overlooks the Grand Canal which was worth every penny. Our room had three large double doors that each opened to a small balcony overlooking the Grand Canal which was an amazing view any time of the day. We highly recommend this hotel and the rooms with a view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice
Palazzo Sant Angelo
Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.