We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Honeymoon Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“First Honeymoon Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived after a long day of traveling to a gorgeous room and a complimentary bottle of champagne. The staff is superb - friendly, knowledgeable, and helped us in any way possible.

Our first meal in Venice was room-service pizza (I know I know, but we were exhausted and I smelled) and it was by far the best pizza we had in Italy (and we ate a lot of pizza).

They have a great breakfast room and bar; reasonable priced. And you can't beat the location; it's just down the way from the Rialto Bridge and a short walk to all things Venice.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, be careful - since it is on the Grand Canal, it gets noisy early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    91
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
285
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wow! There is something great about being brought to the front of your hotel via boat. Truly remarkable! There is another great thing to be greeted with a smile, an extended hand to help you off the boat, and that same person telling you “Welcome to Palazzo Sant’Angelo!” I mean, come on! This is what movies are made of! We walked into the crisply air conditioned lobby and were very impressed by the cleanliness, beauty, and classy looking décor. The receptionist was very pleasant and the keys were given to the porter to take up our bags. Room 218, Junior Suite, overlooking the Canal – I was very excited about seeing what our room looked like – AND WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! WOW, WOW, WOW! Our room was covered, wall to wall, with a sort of maroon and white striped type of fabric on the walls. Very elegant, not gaudy at all, and matched the maroon floor carpeting. This was more like an apartment than a hotel room in Venice, Italy and was GORGEOUS! You get what you pay for here: A French window, that opened up, and looked onto the Grand Canal, a small standing balcony that also looked out over the canal, a gorgeous king sized bed with spanking white stripped bedding, wonderful furniture, a large bathroom (complete with green marbled floors), and THE biggest walk in closet I have ever seen! We definitely had room for our luggage in that room! I was very pleased with how this room looked. The bed was comfortable, turndown service great, and who ever cleaned our room every night was meticulous! We really felt special here.
My only nit-picky thing here was the Wi-Fi – you CONSTANTLY had to get these recharge cards to add more hours to your main account. And, no matter how many times you ‘logged off’ to ‘save your hours’, you STILL had to keep getting these recharge cards from the receptionist and log in. Ugh, so annoying. The breakfasts were okay – simple eggs and plenty of cold cuts and cheese. Fresh fruit and fruit cocktail – EXCELLENT coffee and small pastries made this little continental breakfast worthwhile. I would get your Wi-Fi and breakfast included in your deal with the hotel. It’s worth it.
If you are staying here and have an opportunity – get that Canal View! There’s nothing like standing out there, sipping your prosecco, waving to the people in the passing boats!

Room Tip: Room 218 - Best View in this well appointed Junior Suite overlooking the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My daughter took me to Italy in May and we spent two nights at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo. We had a junior suite in the back of the hotel which offered plenty of space for us. We really spent very little time in the room as we were out exploring most of the time. The breakfast was delightful with plenty of choices and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in a convenient Venice location with easy access to the water bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You pay for the location and the excellent service and friendliness of the staff. Our junior suite had a view on the Grand Canal. Super room. Only minor was the shower that flooded the whole bathroom. Building a dam from towels prevented that from happening!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Lady and I were fortunate to secure this hotel suite on the Grand Canal. Most hotels that are on the Grand Canal offer a view but not from your bedroom. Those that do are booked up 6 to 12 months in advance. Our bedroom had 2 balconies with 10ft glass doors. The suite itself is just as pictured on the Internet. We had a large bathroom with toilet, bidet, ‘whirlpool’ bath tub that is also used for showering and twin face basins. The storage closet for luggage, dresser, safe and a place for hanging clothes was much more than ample.

The hotel has its own dock for private water taxis, which we used from the airport. The dock for public water taxis is about 30-35 yards away. (After arrival, we used the public taxis. Not only is it more economical, but its easy to use and my Lady preferred it.) The hotel staff was superb …in all job categories. The hotel gives luxury in its amenities and is romantically quiet … off the beaten path of the voluminous tourist traffic. Note, however, that only a buffet breakfast is served as a dining choice, and while very tasty, its selection is limited and repeated daily. The bar offers excellent wine and cocktails. Oh … and if you make your reservations via the Internet, you receive ‘free’ WiFi access.

A 5-8 minute walk gives one a choice of restaurants, galeto, curio shops, coffee houses, and about 4-5 museums in a low tourist area. The public water taxi will transport you between the quiet of the hotel and the large crowd of tourists in San Marco., Palazzo SantAngelo provided an ideal experience for me … and my Lady.

Room Tip: If you can work the Junior Suite with the Canal View into your budget, you shall not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice charming hotel in a perfect location on the Canal Grande. Just 10 meters away from the vaporetto stop which allows for quick travelling around the city. Nice and knowledgeable staff, perfect advise on restaurants and activities for children. Ask for room with view on the Grand Canal

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just by the Sant' Angelo vaporetto stop (Line 1), this hotel is on a comparatively peaceful stretch of the Grand Canal and yet the Rialto is only a couple of stops away. We had a Junior Suite looking on to the courtyard at the back. It was large, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast room was a bit small but the buffet was good and the staff were attentive. The hinterland behind the hotel is a maze of tiny, empty alleyways and bridges - surprisingly quiet for Venice - but there are restaurants within easy walking distance. Enjoying an evening drink at one of the little tables on the walkway in front of the hotel was a delight. The walkway stops dead at the end of the building so there are no passing pedestrians and you get a wonderful view of the canal as the sun goes down. I reckon this hotel is a great find.

Room Tip: Of course, a room overlooking the Grand Canal would be spectacular but the courtyard at the back is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.