We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home on the Grand Canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A home on the Grand Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Lady and I were fortunate to secure this hotel suite on the Grand Canal. Most hotels that are on the Grand Canal offer a view but not from your bedroom. Those that do are booked up 6 to 12 months in advance. Our bedroom had 2 balconies with 10ft glass doors. The suite itself is just as pictured on the Internet. We had a large bathroom with toilet, bidet, ‘whirlpool’ bath tub that is also used for showering and twin face basins. The storage closet for luggage, dresser, safe and a place for hanging clothes was much more than ample.

The hotel has its own dock for private water taxis, which we used from the airport. The dock for public water taxis is about 30-35 yards away. (After arrival, we used the public taxis. Not only is it more economical, but its easy to use and my Lady preferred it.) The hotel staff was superb …in all job categories. The hotel gives luxury in its amenities and is romantically quiet … off the beaten path of the voluminous tourist traffic. Note, however, that only a buffet breakfast is served as a dining choice, and while very tasty, its selection is limited and repeated daily. The bar offers excellent wine and cocktails. Oh … and if you make your reservations via the Internet, you receive ‘free’ WiFi access.

A 5-8 minute walk gives one a choice of restaurants, galeto, curio shops, coffee houses, and about 4-5 museums in a low tourist area. The public water taxi will transport you between the quiet of the hotel and the large crowd of tourists in San Marco., Palazzo SantAngelo provided an ideal experience for me … and my Lady.

Room Tip: If you can work the Junior Suite with the Canal View into your budget, you shall not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    91
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
290
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice charming hotel in a perfect location on the Canal Grande. Just 10 meters away from the vaporetto stop which allows for quick travelling around the city. Nice and knowledgeable staff, perfect advise on restaurants and activities for children. Ask for room with view on the Grand Canal

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just by the Sant' Angelo vaporetto stop (Line 1), this hotel is on a comparatively peaceful stretch of the Grand Canal and yet the Rialto is only a couple of stops away. We had a Junior Suite looking on to the courtyard at the back. It was large, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast room was a bit small but the buffet was good and the staff were attentive. The hinterland behind the hotel is a maze of tiny, empty alleyways and bridges - surprisingly quiet for Venice - but there are restaurants within easy walking distance. Enjoying an evening drink at one of the little tables on the walkway in front of the hotel was a delight. The walkway stops dead at the end of the building so there are no passing pedestrians and you get a wonderful view of the canal as the sun goes down. I reckon this hotel is a great find.

Room Tip: Of course, a room overlooking the Grand Canal would be spectacular but the courtyard at the back is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene89
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Surprised that this hotel is not 5 stars. The service was outstanding, the room beautifully appointed and the location was terrific. Our family of four loved our stay here and would absolutely choose to stay here again. FYI - this was not our first stay in Venice but the Sant'Angelo helped to make it the most magical.

Room Tip: Saw some complaints about breakfast, but we found it to be terrific. Many choices and all delicious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in a Suite here on our Hooneymoon in 2012 and had a fantastic time which started with complementary Champagne and fruit on arrival! We had a fantastic view of the Grand Canal from the room and would definately look at staying at this hotel next time we are in Venice. It is very convenient to the ferry stop which is about 20 meters from the Hotel entrance which was a touch noisey but not bad enough that it kept us awake at night. I recommend you pay the extra money for the private taxi boat to/from the airport and be careful of taking the free tour to Murano island as we took this trip and got the high pressure sales pitch from the guy at the glass factory we visited to buy stupidly expensive impractical Venetian glassware, we took the ferry home rather than use their private taxi boat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in a large junior suite w/balcony overlooking the grand canal for three nights. We could not ask for anything nicer. Employees were amazing and attentive. We were quite impressed with the quality of the breakfast which was quite extensive in detail and selection. Centrally located and away from the hordes of tourists. Bus and taxi stop in front of the hotel so your not rolling your luggage around on the confusing cobblestone streets. Very impressive stay and my compliments to the hotel!

Room Tip: Canal rooms can be noisy but we just turned the fan on medium or high to drown out the noise while s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you want somewhere small and friendly and hassle free in locating. Having made our way of the water taxi it was approximately a 20 yd walk, perfect. Having seen others struggle around the city with cases through the crowds what could be more perfect. All staff very friendly and spoke good English. They provided good advice on restaurants and were happy to arrange tickets etc. Room was very good - we were at the rear looking over a courtyard very adequate. Breakfast was very nice and relaxed in a intimate restaurant. The location is great very easy walking through the narrow streets to all attractions we didn't need to use the water bus or taxi as we could access everything very easily. Cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.