We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have just returned from a brief visit to Venice with my wife and some friends. We stayed in the Palazzo Sant'Angelo and what a great decision that was!!

This is a great hotel, not just because of the nice rooms, the great location or the fantastic little bar - it is the staff! Although it rained throughout our visit the staff did everything they could to make the visit a good one, even lending us some umbrellas to battle the terrible weather.

This is a great place to stay - the views of the Grand Canal are great and you are not far from some really nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    97
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
304
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a three day stay. We chose this hotel because we were traveling with my husband's parents, one of which has a hard time getting around. Having a private dock (the water taxi picked us up and dropped us off right at the front door) and the vaparetto stop just outside made it easy for them to get around. The location is within a 10-15 minute walk of the Rialto bridge, St. Mark's square and the Accademia. Since the hotel is not right in the center of one specific attraction, we found the area restaurants to be less touristy (there are several within a 5-10 minute walk). The guest rooms are large and beautiful, you certainly felt like you were in Venice! We especially loved the large bathroom with the jacuzzi tub and dark green marble. The common areas downstairs are small but decorated nicely and we enjoyed the breakfast (was the same every day but had a variety of options). The hallways upstairs are in need of updating and we agree with the other reviewer that the quality of the mattress could be better, other than that-a great hotel.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our son and parents. We were booked in rooms 212 (an extra bed was added for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were only able to stay in this wonderful hotel for one night whilst waiting to board our cruise ship. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were wonderful. They did a terrific job of taking care of us during our stay. We managed to get a lovely room with a separate sleeping area for my husband and I while giving my daughter her own privacy. We were lucky enough to get a room overlooking the grand canal which was truly amazing. The room was large as was the bathroom and was very clean. Our room came with breakfast which was more than sufficient (love the coffee in Italy). The staff made some really great recommendations for restaurants on St Stephen Square. If I'm ever lucky enough to return to this fabulous city I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very easy access to water taxis. The canal view suites are pricey -- but well worth every penny. The suites are generously sized and the amenities are lovely. We hated to leave!

The only downside was the quality of the mattress -- thin and uncomfortable... but the view made it worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackrod
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lovely classical Venetian boutique hotel. Well situated. Perfect for family. The staff were helpful and rooms were organised to accomodate our family perfectly. I would highly recommend the canal facing suite and adjoining 3 bed room for a family. Avoid the room service - expensive and not great. Wonderful small cafes just behind the hotel in Campiello Morosini.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my wife spent 3 nights at Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
in late feb 2013 and its a great hotel. With its typically italian decor you get a real feel for the place from the moment you walk in the door.

The hotel is located just 50 yards from the water taxi stop which makes life so easy when you have just arrived and don't know your way around.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and large and the breakfast is also a great start to the day. We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to be back at some point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the Palazzo Sant' Angelo twice a year since it opened so we are well into double figures on trips.
It is just a great hotel in the perfect location with excellent staff who go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and if the budget will stretch, book a Grand Canal view. When it isn't pouring with rain (hence why I am writing this review today after years of visits) the view is fantastic..
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.