We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 381 hotels in Venice
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A lovely hotel with very spacious rooms overlooking the Grand Canal, our suite had views of the Rialto Bridge, a small balcony, it was very romantic. The hotel is well situated for all the sights of Venice and the water bus stops right outside the front door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    86
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
262
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived by water taxi for a 3 night stay the first weekend in March. Initial impressions were of a very smart hotel and courteous and efficient staff. Fortunately things just got better! Upgraded to a suite which was very welcome - having the lounge area was great for dumping all our shopping. As with the rest of Venice, prices (for drinks) are extortionate, so we kept our bar tab to a minimum. Mind you they do pour from the arm so full marks there. Ideally located close to the vaporetto stop, almost equidistant between San Marco and Rialto districts. We had looked at booking other hotels but were so glad to find this gem. We will definately be back for another weekend of sore feet and excellent Italian hospitality. Grazie mille to all the staff that made our well earned break so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms have lift service. We felt no need to book a Canal view as you see it all day anyway when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've heard rooms in Venice are generally small, but our room and bathroom were actually pretty big. Nice decor, helpful reception staff, great location (just next to one of the "vaporetto" stops and a short walk from Piazza San Marco and Rialto. The breakfast was ok. Not a massive choice of food and some of it wasn't to my taste. My boyfriend said the coffee was pretty poor but we didn't really care as there were plenty of places to grab a bite a short walk away.

Room Tip: Our room was 114. We didn't face the main canal, but a side one. It was pretty quiet and a big c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a long weekend here and had a fantastic stay. From the point where we were dropped off in front of the hotel, the bell staff immediately greeted us and grabbed our bags. We went to the front desk and were treated professionally and courteously by the receptionist. We arrived early from into Venice and we were still given our room with very minimal wait (5 minutes).
Got a junior suite facing the grand canal. The room was very spacious. We were next to the elevator, but other than the hum of the elevator operating it was very quiet. The only other noise was from the water taxis stopping at the Sant'Angelo stop - easily blocked out at night with the outside shutters closed (closed as a part of your daily turndown service). Our balcony was small, but you could see the Rialto Bridge quite easily. The beds were firm as others have pointed out, but that seems the "norm" in Italy. The bathroom was immaculate and well appointed. The shower glass was far too short to not make a mess, but the jacuzzi tub was nice. The walk in closet was very deep (easily held two open suitcases with plenty of space) and the safe was decently large as well. The room's heating worked very well, so I imagine the a/c would be fine in the summer.
The prices were a little expensive for drinks (16 Euro avg) and room service (18 Euro avg), but the opportunity to eat breakfast in the room for a 12 Euro charge was well worth it (you can eat in the restaurant free of charge, but I would rather eat overlooking the grand canal in the morning). Food quality, as far as breakfast goes, was excellent. No issues with any of the food we tried. Room rates were a little on the higher side as well, but well worth the location.
The hotel is situated on the canal with 10 minutes walk to Rialto bridge and the Accademia. It was about 15-20 minutes to St Mark's square (I probably took an indirect route so maybe it is 10-15 minutes). The water taxi stop for Sant'Angelo is right out front - very convenient and the ticket windows for the taxi are at Rialto or Accademia (those are closest, there are plenty more). Restaurants and shops are with 5-10 minutes walk as are wine shops and grocery stores. The pharmacy is in the same area as well. Definitely worth staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side have excellent views, but a little more noise from the canal. Well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for a two days en route back to Australia. The location at a vaporetto stop makes the trip from the airport easy if you don't want to spend E110 on a water taxi.
You are close to San Marco but far enough away not to feel caught up in the swirl of tourists.
Room was bigger than I had expected at the price and breakfast buffet would match those in most Italian hotels.you could spend a lot more and not get a great deal more.

Room Tip: Definitely worth checking how much more a room onto the Grand Canal will cost . Our room didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande in Novemeber 2012 in a Canal Suite. The room was lovely. The online pictures are a very good representation with the exception of the bistro table and chairs on the balcony. I could be wrong, but I can't see how they would fit. The suite has separate bedroom and living room area but there is no door between the two which we usually prefer. That said, the room is in excellent repair and decorated beautifully. When the windows are closed, you cannot hear the vaporettos or any noise from the hall or other rooms. The only "complaint" I would have about the room was that there was no room in the bathroom to set toiletries. the edge of the sink is slanted toward the inside of the sink and the wire shelving under the sink was also tilted. Nothing would stand up so everything had to be put back into the toiletry bags after usage.

We thought the buffet breakfast was very good, especially considering it was included in the price of the room. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cuts and cheeses, several kinds of fruits and juices, as well as a good selection of breads and pastries. All were very fresh. The seating in the breakfast room was a little tight but most of the other guests were with a small tour group from the UK and they were usually finishing breakfast by the time we were starting.

The bar, of which there are so many pictures, is beautiful. Everyday, upon our return, there was a "happy hour" just starting and they put out a small selection of canapes and cheese. There was a charge for this but it included a drink and was minimal. It's just a pleasant place to sit and unwind before getting ready for dinner. There are also a few tables outside, right on the canal, which I'm sure would be lovely in the summer.

As many have said, the vaporetto stop is only a few steps from the front door and the hotel also has it's own private dock. We took the vaporetto from the train station with large spinner suitcases and found it to be fine. Maybe a little more trouble in August as opposed to November but the vaporettos were still fairly crowded. The location for walking is also very good. Several good restaurants with a 5-minute walk and many more within a 10 to 15-minute walk.

Although this is not the most elaborate hotel in the world, it is definitely the best 4-star I've seen. The thing that would keep me coming back is the staff. They are definitely 5-star. They are very friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive. There was a bottle of wine and some snacks in our room upon arrival. They arranged a complimentary private shuttle to Murano when we expressed interest in going. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent. And they always took the time to expalin directions and mark our tourist map for us. I just can't say enough about the staff!!! If I were lucky enough to visit Venice again, I would not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Not much to add to the many reviews here. They are accurate. This is a very fine choice if you are staying in Venice. Transportation from the Railway station via boat is easily arranged and brings you directly to the front door. Nothing could be easier. The public water taxi (vaporetto) is 20 steps away from the entrance. You can take this service all around Venice on the Number 1 line. One night when we had some trouble walking back from the opera, we simply went to plan B and found the San Marco stop and boarded for Sant' Angelo. Simple and Done!

The rooms are very nice, though the beds are somewhat firm. The bathrooms are clean, just know you are likely to get the floors a little wet due to the half enclosure for showers. However, not a big problem.

The breakfast and bar are very nice as well.

I can't imagine a better experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice
Palazzo Sant Angelo
Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list