We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 382 hotels in Venice
roslyn, new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sant' Angelo is located adjacent to a vaporetto stop, and can be found hidden in the streets of Venice. It is reasonably priced, with excellent service and lovely rooms. I have stayed at Ca'Segrada in the past. A very expensive and fine hotel. I was just as comfortable and well treated for less than half the price at Sant'Angelo.

Room Tip: The WALK to and from the hotel from the sites and streets of the city was a really fun adventure - d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    88
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
279
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This small boutique hotel is right on the grand canal. As mentioned in earlier reviews it's literally steps away a Vaporetto stop (which also serves as a stop for the Aliluguna transportation to and from Marco Polo Airport). It's close to Saint Marks, The Rialto, and the Academia Bridge, but peacefully tucked away from the crowds. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast service (7 to 10 every morning) includes a hot breakfast with lots of options. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. It also has a quiet bar with a lovely view of the grand canal in which delicious Venetian spritz drinks along with the usual staples are served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Palazzo Sant'Angelo in Venice is perfectly situated right on the Grand Canal, steps from a Vaporetto stop. Rooms are spectacular in typical Venetian style. The staff are friendly, all speak English and offer quality service. A small breakfast room serves a large buffet for guests; the bar is intimate and a great way to end an evening. Off the Canal, down a small street, visitors can walk to most tourist destinations. There are shops and restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and you'll have a walk in dressing room. Unlike many European hotels, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo for three nights in late October prior to getting on ship to Rio de Janeiro. The Palazzo Sant'Angelo was just excellent. Wonderful service, fine rooms, very good breakfasts and a location that can't be beat in Venice. We were quite surprised by the daily flooding - - never heard of it before. The hotel staff, at our request, obtained knee high rubber boots to use for our entire visit. A very nice service touch, we thought. We'll go back to Venice, flooding or no flooding, and we'll definitely return to the Palazzo Sant'Angelo.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking a lovely square to the right side of the hotel. Very quiet in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I and two of our twenty something daughters stayed at the Palazzo Sant'Angelo in early November, prior to the terrible flooding that has recently occurred. I am extremely grateful to have picked this property as we were given the suite on the canal that we had requested and which is pictured on all of there PR materials. The view was unbelievable. It is located on the Grand Canal about a half mile from the Rialto Bridge. It is located right at a Vaporetto stop as well as a Airport stop. Further, water taxi's routinely come by the private dock of the hotel. The hotel also has a very upscale, totally different decor sister hotel across and down the river towards the Lagoon. I cannot stress enough how important it was that the hotel provided boots for all of us during the tide rise. Otherwise, we would have been bound to our rooms for the three or four hours that the flooding of the streets occurs.
while I cannot say enough good things about the hotel, the room, the breakfast buffet, the front desk or the bar staff; I have very mixed emotions about Venice itself. While it is stunning visually, it is probably the most incovenient place I have ever travelled to. Also, we have travelled all through italy, and for whatever reason, the general rudeness of the people who live there, but not the service personnel, was like the elephant in the room. Perhaps, they are tired of the inconvenience as well combined witht the Tourists.
Believe all the reviews on this property, it is 100% an outstanding property.

Room Tip: if you go to venice, you have to have a water view at least one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When you go to Venice, the star classification is not a criterion of real quality.
Palazzo Sant'Angelo is an incredible value. Triple rooms are very large with a high quality linen. All services are excellent and the staff very friendly.
I recommend it: it is directly on the Grand Canal and just 10 minutes from St. Mark's Square: Its location is very convenient with kids!
No restrictions!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

By chance with a British Airways Fly and Hotel package we came across the Hotel Palazzo St Angelo which turns out to be almost in the geographical centre of Venice, with it's own Vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal route. We found that you can get to almost anywhere in Venice either on foot or on the Vaporetto from St Angelo. Great Small Luxury Hotel of the World hotel with charming helpful staff and clean spacious rooms decorated in the Venetian style. The hotel also had a very nice bar right on the canal. Would definitely go there again and will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you want a coveted room overlooking the Grand Canal, book early and ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.