We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande to your Saves list
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite with a Grand Canal view. It was fantastic! The room was spacious and the bathroom was huge. The views were incredible from the room and the bed was comfortable. There is a water taxi stand near the hotel so you don't have to carry your bags through the city. The staff was extremely helpful and the property was tip top. The location was perfect and the breakfast was well done. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    101
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
326
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a suite here for our two nights in Venice, and were not disappointed. Our room was very spacious with every modern convenience and a gorgeous bathroom with jacuzzi tub and marble. But the most amazing thing was the view of the Grand Canal from our standing balcony, from which we could even see the Rialto bridge, as well as two other large windows in the living room and bedroom with the same view. Even the bathroom had a little window with that view. It would have been tempting to just sit there all day and watch life float by, and I only wish we'd had more time in beautiful Venezia. The staff was professional, warm and welcoming, and they sent us to the most fabulous restaurant, the Trattoria da Fiore for dinner - it was our best meal in Italy. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and delicious. The vaporetto stop is just steps outside the front door, and they have their own water taxi dock, so there is no schlepping of luggage. We often stay at Four Seasons and I was a bit skeptical about booking a small hotel, but in many ways, this place exceeded the big hotel experience. The beds are quite firm, and I softened ours a bit by requesting to have blankets placed over the mattress, which really helped. Also, I am glad we slept with earplugs because the Grand Canal is noisy, even with the windows closed. Yes, this is pricey, but I feel we received very good value for the money. Thank you everyone at Palazzo Sant Angelo!

Room Tip: For a to-die-for suite, ask for room 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just enjoyed a three night stay here, great views of the Grand Canal where you can witness the daily life of Venice unfold before your eyes. Extremely luxurious comfortable suite, helpful and friendly staff and a great breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. Located next to the San't Angelo vaporetto stop where you can also pick up the airport shuttle boat. Close by is the Fenici Theatre where you can witness top operas or simply take an audio guided tour...highly recommended whether you are an opera fan or not! Hope to return before too long.

Rod...England

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the Grand Canal if possible for the views, and use the wooden window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As this stay was our first experience in Venice, we decided to shoot the moon. We requested a suite overlooking the Grand Canal. It was a corner room with 3 small balconies. Throwing the shutters open in the morning and watching the Canal come to life was really breathtaking. It made the price tag worth it, although I won't feel compelled to spend quite so much when I return to Venice. The room was lushly decorated and the bathroom was huge and modern.

The breakfast room was great as well, and the small continental spread suited us extremely well every morning. The staff was eager to bring my daughter her hot chocolate every morning, and make her feel special.

Overall the hotel staff was wonderful. They gave us a good intro to Venice, and dinner recommendations when asked. The hotel is convenient to St Mark's, good shopping, and the vaporetto.

I probably would not stay in the Sestiere of San Marco again -- far too touristy, and the restaurants weren't great, but if I had to stay in San Marco, this hotel would be a great choice.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Canal are a great choice, but we aware that there is some Canal noise -- I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had been to venice 25 years ago and stayed in a hotel away from the grand canal. For our 40th anniversary, we decided to stay on the Grand Canal. It was an amazing hotel. We had the suite, and it was lush. But the big surprise was the weekend we were there, the Regatta Storica was going on. We sat on our balcony, looking down towards the Rialto bridge, and watched all the action while we sipped on wine in our bathrobes. What fun.
The rooms and location are fabulous. The breakfast was perfect. And the staff were always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just returned from this delightful hotel, having spent our first week of marriage in Venice. The staff were amazingly helpful and fulfilled all our wishes, even to booking tickets for local events, arranging private boats (yes, we really did it in style) and advising on timetables for boats etc. The double room, overlooking a side canal, was beautiful and, on some occasions, the towels were replaced TWICE in a day. Reception staff amazing, bar staff very friendly and domestic staff excellent, (although we hardy saw them, and just basked in the beautiful spotlessness of our room. Very easy access to all major sites and Rialto Bridge visible from hotel. Vaporreti stop very convenient and they have their own landing stage with very smart Porter who will assist with lugguage. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in mid-June. The room was excellent: well appointed, comfortable, spacious. We stayed at the Gritti Palace on our last visit to Venice and the Palazzo Sant'Angelo was much nicer in every aspect. The staff was friendly and helpful in all ways. When we arrived there was a bottle of chilled Prosecco and a tray of goodies waiting for us as I had told them we were in Venice to celebrate our 46th anniversary. This, along with the perfectly air conditioned room, was such a great and welcome surprise because it was very hot in Venice when we arrived and throughout our stay.

The hotel is perfectly situated along the Grand Canal, and it is only 50 yards from the vaporetto stop. This made getting to the hotel from the train station very easy. The Ali Laguna (public transport to Marco Polo airport) stops at this vaporetto station so one can get to and from the airport in almost the same time it takes if one uses a water taxi but the cost is only 25% of taxi fare. There is a traghetto stop (gondola that just goes back and forth cross the Grand Canal for only one Euro) around the corner. It is within easy walking distance of virtually everything in Venice and, if you get tired, there's readily available public transportation to bring you right back to the hotel's doorstep.

Some folks have mentioned that the breakfast at the hotel is not as good as that at other hotels. We have to disagree here. The breakfast was ample and the choices the same as we've experienced at the many other hotels we visited during our other trips to Italy. The breakfast room is small but the food is good, the choices varied and the staff that helps serve you is friendly and very helpful. While speaking of helpful staff, and while we don't like to single out anyone, we do have to mention Nicola Cernison who works at the front desk. He went above and beyond in helping us, giving us insights, offering helpful hints and generally making our stay very, very special.

When you get back to the hotel, there are staff members waiting to greet you with a kind smile that tells you they are happy you are staying at "their" hotel. The little bar off the lobby is delightful and the perfect spot for a quiet drink before you head out to dinner. They provided free hors d'oeuvres from 5 to 8pm as an accompaniment to the drinks and the bar attendant was fun to chat with as we relaxed and watched the boats go by on the canal.

There are some terrific restaurants close by: try "a beccafico" on Campo Francesco Morosini and "Aqua Pazza" on Campo S. Angelo, both within easy walking distance of the hotel. And, if you love gelato as we do, give "Igloo" on the street that connects Campo S. Angelo to Campo Mannin a try. We think it's the best gelato in the city and perhaps the best in Italy ;-)

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room that is not right on the canal. Previous experiences taught us that the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande

Address: San Marco 3478/B, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Sant’Angelo is a charming boutique hotel created by the careful restoration of a former nobleman’s palace. A little pearl on the beautiful stretch of the Grand Canal, this delightful destination offers guests the use of one of Venice’s most sought-after privileges, a private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.