We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carnival Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Carnival Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Carnival Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel was nice enough. Very modern and clean. There were crazy lights in the bathroom that changed colors. However, the location was horrible. There was a cute pizza cafe within walking distance from the hotel but other then that we were far from everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort very much!

We are happy to read that you were able to have a good time with us!

On the other hand, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our authentic location as we are on Venice's historical center. Our city is only accessible by foot our boat. However we are very well connected with the vaporettos (public water bus) going to the main attractions and airport/train station.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace!

Wishing you happy Easter Holidays!

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    250
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
112
564
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was brought here by my partner for a 21st birthday surprise. The hotel was decorated beautifully, and I was really impressed with all the little touches in the bedroom. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, especially the prosecco on the breakfast buffet!

The hotel itself was in an ideal location, great for the water bus connection to the airport & just a short walk from the more lively parts on Venice. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to say Thank You for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you liked our breakfast Carnival Style as well as our authentic location!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you happy Easter Holidays!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batumi, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Indeed, this is a good hotel. Only small disadvantage can be the location, particularly to get back in the late night hours, you either have to wait for the boat-bus or take a boat-taxi which will cost you quite some money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Carnival Palace!

It's a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay!

On the other hand I'm sorry to hear the you liked less out authentic location as we are very well connected with vaporettos (public water bus).

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you happy Easter Holidays!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

New and beautiful Hotel located at Cannaregio Sestiere. A very nice and calm area of the Venice. Away from the crowded areas. We arrived at the hotel at 20th of February. The reception staff was very friendly and kind all the days during our stay.
The size of the room was quite roomy (not small-nor big). The furnishing and the whole decoration was very nice. The hotel and the room was very carefully cleaned.
The breakfast was very good. Great variety.

Despite of all these advantages, there are certain issues need to be improved.

We had very high expectations considering the other reviews about the hotel, so we found strange the fact that the room we were given (although it was a double deluxe), had no closet. Instead it had just 4 hangers on the wall.

The days we stayed there, there was a constant problem with the "automated" airconditioning. It was always off each time we returned at the room, so we had to call the reception to open it or to restart it.

The mini-bar could have a few snacks and not only refreshments.

Although we have been in many hotels abroad, it was weird that the hotel's policy is 5 euro each time you need room service. Also the only thing you could order it was pizza (definitely not tasty) and toast. So travelers must keep in mind to eat before returning to the hotel.

In spite of these minor issues, we would visit again Carnival Palace Hotel at Venice.

Room Tip: If you want to have your clothes tidy, ask for a room with closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace Hotel! Your time and effort are very much appreciated!

We are most happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our staff's attention and room deco as much as our location! Our aim is to provide our guests comfortable rooms and an exclusiv service so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

On the other hand I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our open closet. This concept was studied before introducing it in our hotel according to the average stay of our guests. As a result only 98% of the guests use the closet. Taking this in consideration we decided to leave more space in the room with an open closet. However every room includes a small closet where you can keep your clothes during your stay.

The airconditionig system has no problem. It just gets activated with your key card every time you enter your room. When you remove your card, it automatically turns off all the electricity of your room. In winter time, it's only the heater which is working. The airconditioning gets turned on in summer season again.

As per our internal policy, our minibar has only non alcoholic beverages as all other snacks and drinks can be enjoyed at our Bar & Lounge The Mask. But if you prefer to have it in the privacy of your room, there's an additional service cost of € 5.00 to be taken into consideration.

If you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel and whish you happy Easter Holidays!

With warm regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great property with great and friendly staff. Walking distance from train station and right across from water bus stop. Free wi-fi and got free upgrade to suite.Breakfast buffet was great and includes champagne too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your time and effort are very much appreciated!

It's a pleasure to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests an exclusiv service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

We are also most happy to hear that you liked our breakfast Carnival Style!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you happy Easter holidays!

With warm regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Home now from four nights at the Carnival Palace. The hotel's location, close to vaporetto stops and twenty minutes stroll from St. Marks, is ideal. Our room was very modern and clean. In fact the whole hotel was spotless. The staff were always polite and helpful. The view of the canal outside was lovely - it was good to watch the world float by as we drank our champagne and watched it snow. Oh yes, it snows in Venice in the winter and can be very cold - so go prepared!

One criticism was that the 'hot' food served at breakfast was warm at best, and we were never late arriving in the restaurant. However the variety was good and the service attentive.

You could do a lot worse in Venice - give 'em a try.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a canal-view room. Cost an extra 50 euros a night but, in our view, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate very much your time and effort.

It's a pleasure to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests an exclusiv service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

We are also most happy to hear that you enjoyed our authentic location!

On the other hand I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find the hot food, hot enough in our breakfast room. The information has already been passed to the department concerned. Again, we would like to thank you for your observation as it helps us improve our service!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you Happy Easter Holidays!

With warm regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really nice experience . Reasonable location, very clean and really tasteful modern decoration. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms a good size. Breakfast was very good, lovely selection. Where the property has recently been renovated, it is in very good order.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate very much your time and effort.

It's a pleasure to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests an exclusiv service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace!

Wishing you Happy Easter Holidays!

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnival Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Palace Hotel

Address: Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnival Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Cannaregio Canal in historic downtown Venice, the Carnival Palace is an exclusive, sophisticated 4-star boutique hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city, perfect for those who would love to discover the real Venice. The sophisticated elegance of Carnival Palace Hotel is clear from its captivating and romantic contemporary design, which brings to mind the most elegant and authentic Venetian furnishings. The hotel offers 67 comfortable and spacious rooms, all with their own unique style and charm with views of the garden or the Cannaregio Canal. Run by a young couple of hoteliers with the support of a multilingual staff that will take care of your every need, the hotel is easy to reach from the airport and is just a few steps from public transportation hubs, the train station and Venice parking terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carnival Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnival Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.